Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood: Fin de Siècle
This epic, set in China at the beginning of the twentieth century, has everything: top-notch Hollywood stars, including David Niven, Charlton Heston and Ava Gardner--to all appearances, still in their prime; magnificent costumes and sets; high production standards; thrilling action scenes, and a cast of thousands without computer generation. In fact, they just don't make...
Published on 6 April 2009 by F. S. L'hoir

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Anchor Bay sucks
Are you kidding me? All the money spent to produce this classic film on Blu-ray and they couldn't include subtitles for the hearing impaired so that I and many others could enjoy it again as well? Anchor Bay should be ashamed. Needles to say, I am not a buyer and won't be either.
Published 1 month ago by Adrian Campbell


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My brother who is blind loved it. He saw it before he went blind so he can visualise the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 55 days at Peking DVD, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well what can you say about this classic DVD, only that it is a fantastic classic with great actors.
Happy watching Janet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 55 days in Peking review, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The item came as described with instructions of how to play it. No issues or complaints DVd was in shrink rap and never been played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what more can be written when you are watching a classic film that I never tire off watching again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family ties., 6 May 2013
By 
J. Falkner (Ryde IOW UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grand father was in the royal horse artillery , and his gun fired the first shot in the relief of the secret city. (Peking) I remember this film from way back and it is excellent, the DVD was perfect. Good service from the czech puirveyor and a pleasant postcard of presumably his home city. A pleasure to do business with as they say. John Falkner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally on DVD, 2 Dec 2012
By 
Teacher (Loughton, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An all time classic film, which depicts the struggle of the Allies against the boxer uprising in Peking at the turn of the 20th century, starring Sir David Niven and Charlton Heston, this is an all action film on an epic scale, which has been largely forgotten by film buffs, so much so that this edition is a Korean version. Once you get over the fact you have to switch off the Korean subtitles, this classic film is restored to all its glory. A great purchase and much needed as my video version was reaching the end of its life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Oldie, but not exactly PC..., 17 Oct 2011
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story of Westerners trapped in Peking during the 1900 'Boxer' Rebellion in China, is an exciting politics and battles epic. The sets, battles and costumes are impressive. The cast are all great, although major chinese characters are portrayed by westerners in 'chinese' make-up (which looks cheesey and cheap to the modern film viewer), but this is easily forgiven as the action, some of it a little hokey at times, pulls you along as the multi national forces join together to survive the rebellion. A very enjoyable old-style blockbuster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brianmk, 18 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: 55 Days at Peking [DVD] (DVD)
This just has to be one of the best action movies of all time.It is one of my favourites, with some great actors appearing > Charlton Heston, David Niven,Ava Gardner and Nicholas Ray.
Set in Peking China at the time of the Boxer rebellion, it has a good script, great costumes, visually striking,with lots of action to keep the interest of all who are fortunate to watch it.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Anchor Bay sucks, 30 Sep 2014
By 
Adrian Campbell "billycan" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 55 Days At Peking [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Are you kidding me? All the money spent to produce this classic film on Blu-ray and they couldn't include subtitles for the hearing impaired so that I and many others could enjoy it again as well? Anchor Bay should be ashamed. Needles to say, I am not a buyer and won't be either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best print yet., 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 55 Days At Peking [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Loved it - the quality of the transfer is the best print I have seen. Vivid colors and superb sound that bring this Samuel Bronston classic back to life. Delivery here in Australia was swift - a week earlier than the anticipated delivery date. Overall a great experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

55 Days At Peking [Blu-ray]
55 Days At Peking [Blu-ray] by Andrew Marton (Blu-ray - 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews