Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars71
2.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2014
I don't like found footage, this film goes that extra step to make no sense. At least with a film like "Cloverfield" the found footage was 'found' and used as some instructional film. In this case the footage is being taken by various cameras and it makes no sense why we suddenly see events from a different camera.

For example, the lead guy is carrying a camera around to document his life. That makes sense. Suddenly we see his wife in a supermarket via the market's security camera. We see her eating raw meat straight from a packet. Why are we seeing this?

A cult has installed cameras throughout their house. Why are we seeing their footage? Who's 'found' it. There's three people out on a picnic, and guess what - they're also documenting things on a camera. Why? We don't know. When they discover the possessed wife eating the flesh of a fallen deer she kills them, all caught on camera.

It also makes no sense why she's eating this deer when she could get raw meat from the supermarket!

They took their camera on their holidays. They're lured to a party, and eventually this sect take them off to impregnate the wife with the anti-Christ. And the camera is still rolling. Why does the cult not check the camera? Who knows. And we don't get to see her impregnated anyway.

None of the film makes sense.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 February 2014
Zach (Zach Gilford) and Samantha (Allison Miller) are newlyweds who annoyingly film everything and they don't do it well. On their honeymoon to the islands, she becomes pregnant with the anti-Christ which proves to be an annoyance to her vegan lifestyle.

At one point when they weren't filming themselves, they used an overhead store camera to maintain the realism. It was really nice for a change to see something without a camera jerking about or a head being cut off. What was with the kid with a camera making a film in a dark hallway?

Carrying the dark lord around in your tummy makes Holy Communion a little more exciting than usual. Apparently Satan cannot be born in a normal manner and has to come into the world making a lot of noise with kitchen utensils.

The film picks up at about an hour. If you managed to make it that far you qualify for one punch on your hacker card, same as watching someone else's bad home movie about their little anti-Christ.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
I am pretty easily pleased with movies and can even enjoy budget movies that other reviewers hate. The trailer shows the best bits of the film. The rest of the time, I was just waiting for something to happen, was really quite bored watching this. An hour into the film and barely anything has happened, I was watching the clock constantly waiting for it to finish.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
This film starts out really slow and never really picks up pace. It's not the worst movie I've seen though and has some creepy moments. The big problem is that it's all been done before and better. Very basic plot with no twist. That been said if you have 90 minutes to kill it is watchable but only once. A found footage kinda movie. 2.5 stars if I could give it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Rosemary's baby came out many years ago but yet we are still stuck watching weak rip offs, surely there is a talented writer out there that could give us a new unique take on the concept of a devilish birth??!

The main problem with this film is that you know the punch line, you know the baby growing inside of her is meant to be the antichrist but yet 95% of the film is trying to build up the suspense of her giving birth. Sadly all that happens is your left yawning while wishing she would just hurry up and pop the dam thing out so you can finally turn this awful film off.

I wouldn’t recommend you waste your time or money on this film unless you are JUST old enough to watch the film legally ;) and until now not seen any film of this type, or ever heard of the original Rosemary's baby, then maybe just maybe you might find it “ok”
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
This is a poor lost footage movie. And random footage... made up footage... stolen footage... basically footage from anywhere and everywhere from all angles and sources. You have footage from supermarkets, peeping tom devil worshipers, picnic goers, and anywhere else the producers could stick a camera. I'm surprised they didn't stick one on the dog!

We start at the end in a police interview room with Zach Gilford in cuffs covered in blood being questioned over the death of his wife. 30 seconds in to it we time warp back to the beginning to see how this journey unfolded. We ramble our way down the winding path, from a wedding, a honeymoon in the Dominican Republic, a small rave underground, a satanic ritual, a return home to find out the Allison Miller is pregnant and a journey of strange and un-terrifying events ensues. Queue 70 minutes of tedium and your typical lost (and should have stayed lost) footage movie and you get to the end and see what led Zach to end up in cuffs.

A lot of this doesn't make much sense. Zach has people wandering around his house while he is in it, coming and going as they please to install hidden cameras, to steal his personal video footage and whatever else it is they got up to. When we do finally get to the end of this, the police are wanting to know what happened, yet clearly this "LOST FOOTAGE" has been found or we wouldn't be watching it, so why did they not simply sit and watch it?

I felt that pretty much every scene in this movie was rushed and felt disjointed most of the way through. They had budget, decent acting, a decent knock off story line and the supporting cast weren't bad either. With what they had, how could they get it so wrong?

I have to say I hate lost footage movies with a passion. I would like to send some rude gestures to the creators of Blair Witch for kicking off this steady descent into movie hell and would likely cry tears of joy if the entire lost footage genre just vanished without a trace never to be seen again... forgotten... gone forever... My thoughts towards it may in some small way tarnish the way I see this drivel but your welcome to watch it yourself and see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Had this come out just after Paranormal Activity then it might have got away with it but now this just feels like an attempt to retell Rosemary's Baby with more gore through increasingly unlikely ways of filming the unfolding terror. And it's a real shame when the first half of a horror movie feels far creepier than the second half.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
I've been wanting to watch this from the time it was released 2 years ago. It looked like a solid version in the religious horror genre, in the vein of "Exorcism of Emily Rose" and "Rosemary's Baby", and although it's not as good as those films it is better than I believed it to be after its release. The lead couple were believable, and you cared about what they went through and what would happen to them. And although some of the found footage was good for some of the more intense scenes, it made no sense for the film to be entirely in that style and would've worked more if it was shot in part film style and part found footage, because it did detract from the film experience a bit. Overall it was quite a generic film, but there were some cool shots and freaky scenes that kept it entertaining enough to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
This has got to be one of the worst "horror" films ever made. It is shockingly derived of any thrills or tension and it borrows heavily from superior films, with a plot ripped straight from the inferior "Rosemary's Baby" and the filming style of "Paranormal Activity." Throw in some possession fodder drafted in from "The Exorcist" and you have the making of a blatant rip off.

The story centres on a young, good looking and recently married couple named Zach and Samantha (Zach Gilford and Alison Miller) who whilst on their honeymoon in the Dominican Republic encounter a sinister taxi driver who offers to take them to a "amazing bar" (basically the exact same set up as the Hostel series). Of course this underground club is run by malevolent satanist hicks who drug the couple and perform some stereotypical ritual on Samantha. The rest of the film is basically the couple learning that Samantha is pregnant and her increasingly strange decline into possesed nutjob. Could she be carrying the Antichrist? Do you care? (cue lots of scenes of possession, the main actress walking around in the dark, writing weird symbols on the floor, eating raw meat and attacking children and animals respectively)

What makes Devils Due such a terrible film is that it is neither scary nor intriguing. We've seen almost every scene a million times before in other films, but execued ten times better. From the creepy cab driver and underground black-market club (Hostel) to the evil child (The Omen) and the shaky found footage (The Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity). The main characters descent into madness is also a completely second rate rehash of Rosemary's Baby. I'm surprised they didn't just call it that to be honest and market it as a remake.

In the last few years we've seen dozens and dozens of possession and evil child movies. When will Hollywood come up with something original? Eli Roth called this "very very scary." I can only wonder how much he was paid for those kind words.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
It's basically Rosemary's Baby in shaky cam with the suspense replaced with cheap shocks. It's not a terrible film though and has a few good horror moments, but average overall.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)