Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good
Really good, it is well thought out the technology was well thought out and the aliens had alien motivations. A fun read with more wonder than books where star ships can simply jump light years.
The author clearly knows his stuff it is competently written the science is believable and the battle scenes are well executed.
All in all a good read
Published 6 months ago by J A Williamson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
A first contact novel which embeds itself in the science rather than the action. This causes the novel to be bogged down with jargon- not especially fun. Still, a well-written and obviously thoroughly researched novel.
Published 4 months ago by Thomas Corbett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
Really good, it is well thought out the technology was well thought out and the aliens had alien motivations. A fun read with more wonder than books where star ships can simply jump light years.
The author clearly knows his stuff it is competently written the science is believable and the battle scenes are well executed.
All in all a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
Worthy of 4 stars. Well written, engaging plot and characters that engage you and unlike some books where it takes a week to build a starship - the timescale is realistic. I also thought the overall concept and the alien motives were just different enough to make it all quite interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
Hooked from the first page until the last, a believable first encounter book, hope we get the follow on book soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
I really really enjoyed this book, I don't think I've read anything like it. It's a first contact novel, but with a very true to what might actually happen scenario.

This isn't like your regular mil sci fi book at all - the cover and title kind of give it that vibe. It's something different, something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
One of the best sci-fi books I have read this year. Well crafted, good plotline, decent characterisation for what is essentially an 'action' book. Concepts are interesting without detracting from the story. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
Good imaginative plot and storyline which keeps you wanting to know what's next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling!, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
One of the best books I've ever read. Gripping story and great characters. The fact that the technology is believable makes that much better. A must read for all Sci Fi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not so nice aliens, 9 May 2014
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
I like most science fiction and enjoyed this one as a well wrote escapism story , a bit short for my tastes but like most left open for a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply great, 8 May 2014
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
What a wonderful story with a great cast of characters. All we need now is the follow up and we need it sooner rather than later. Over to you Mr Mays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book Now!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sword Into Darkness (Kindle Edition)
A splendid mix of proper (ie, hard) science fiction and characterisation. First book in a long time that has kept me reading way past my bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Sword Into Darkness
A Sword Into Darkness by Thomas A. Mays
2.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews