Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard in The White House
Make no mistake, this is a highly enjoyable film. A brilliant homage to the Die Hard films. Substitute Bruce Willis' John McClane with Channing Tatum's John Cale. Add James Wood (looking remarkably like Malcolm McDowell) and Richard Jenkins as devious villains with accompanying snarling henchmen. Throw in Obamaesque Jamie Foxx as the President. Sprinkle with gunfire,...
Published 2 months ago by Alan Jones

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whte House Down V Olympus Has Fallen
All told Olympus Has Fallen is the better all round film, however and I never thought I would find myself saying this but White House Down is more fun to watch than I thought it would be. A cheesey film but perfectly watchable.
Funniest Moment: Channing Tatum and Jamie Fox trying to escape by driving round and round the lawn in the "The Beast" or "Ground Force...
Published 6 months ago by S. Bell


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard in The White House, 5 May 2014
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White House Down (DVD)
Make no mistake, this is a highly enjoyable film. A brilliant homage to the Die Hard films. Substitute Bruce Willis' John McClane with Channing Tatum's John Cale. Add James Wood (looking remarkably like Malcolm McDowell) and Richard Jenkins as devious villains with accompanying snarling henchmen. Throw in Obamaesque Jamie Foxx as the President. Sprinkle with gunfire, explosions and suitably placed witticisms and you have a recipe for a very relaxing couple of hours. I watched this film after watching the superb Borgen trilogy. A bit of a contrast, but I feel that both stay true to their genres. I rented this but I will definitely be purchasing White House Down in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Non-stop entertainment, gripping to the end. Channing Tatum and Jamie Foxx brilliant as always.
Not going to spoil it by revealing anymore but this is one DVD you will want in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White House Down excels!!, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best action movie since Die Hard!! Funny, great chemistry betweeen the sctors and some of the best sction sequences ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White House down (Amazon Instant Video)
great edge of the seat action for the whole family (well, 12years up due to a moderate amount of swearing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, 6 April 2014
Great fun! Not to be taken too seriously but a great popcorn movie. Anyone who watched it must have known what they were letting themselves in for so over intellectualising it is pointless. It is what is is. Lots of fun, bangs, booms and it doesn't pretend to be anything more. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant mix of comedy and action, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I'll be honest, I didn't have very high hopes for White House Down when I sat down to watch it; however, I found that I absolutely loved this film. White House Down mixes together action and comedy to create a really entertaining film that grips you from beginning to end.

That's not to say that this film isn't flawed, because it is in many ways. First and foremost are the special effects. Whilst at times they were excellent, at others, they really weren't. The opening shots of the White House are evidently fake and there are a few other moments that are supposed to be visually spectacular that are clearly the work of what seems to be an amateur CGI artist. This was disappointing because had these effects been bettered, even by just a little, this film would've earned itself a few more brownie points.

The plot of this film, for the most part is well structured and exciting. This film is about catastrophic events that take place when the White House is infiltrated, but the reason for this is cleverly concealed until the very end. There are numerous plot twists throughout the film (even in the last five minutes!) that keep you on your toes. I most certainly would not have been able to predict the way this movie would pan out, something that I think should be commended given that this sort f film has been made and remade time and time again. This is a newer, certainly more thrilling, take on the 'President-in-crisis' story. That said, there were a few moments, more towards the end of the film, where slightly too unrealistic events were occurring. Sometimes this was a fault of the humour that embodies this film, at others, just an over-excited script writer.

I was surprised to find that White House Down is actually a really funny film. Actually scrap that - it's downright hilarious at times. You'll find the perfect blend of action and comedy in this film, but the comedy does not take away any of the impact of the action. There were a few moments when I did question whether or not humour was really appropriate but for the most part, it was seamlessly integrated into the plot and the characters' personalities to make this an incredibly entertaining film. Tatum and Foxx were the perfect pair for this film as both men are talented actors when it comes to action and comedy and emotion - the three key elements to this film. Alongside the humour are some pretty badass action scenes. There's everything from gun fights to fist fights to knife fights to missile launches to high speed car chases (around the Whote House, in the president's limo I might add). I was really impressed y the action scenes as they had me gripping the edge of my seat, never certain who had the upper hand or what move would be pulled next.

As well as action and comedy's there's also a dash of emotion added in. There is also the story of a man fearlessly trying to protect the life of the President whilst his daughter is being held hostage. There are many emotional conflicts which bring you to a more personal level with the characters so it's not all guns and grenades. I cried several times whilst watching this film (as I am slightly ashamed to admit), but you really do start rooting for the characters and their cause. In addition, this film managed to instil me with a deep sense of patriotism and admiration for the patriotism of Americans, despite the fact that I am not American.

All in all, I would highly recommend this film to fans of either action or comedy or both. This film had me second guessing the plot the entire way through and it's not until the very end of the film that everything is revealed. I guarantee this film will have you on the edge of your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly but fun, 2 Jun 2014
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is a load of silly cliched nonsense but that can be forgiven as its also great fun and is lifted by a good cast. Reminds me most of Die Hard which can't be a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'SEEMS A TOUGH WAY TO GET A JOB OFFER', 20 Jan 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not for the first time, two film studios made Movies with a similar
theme.
Personally I quite enjoyed 'Olympus has Fallen' with 'Gerard Butler'
This film is brought to us by the director 'Roland Emmerick' who
brought us the visually spectacular movies such as...'INDEPENDENCE
DAY'....'THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW'....and...'2012'
'John Cale' goes to the 'White House' for an interview to join the
security staff there, he takes his young daughter 'Emily' along to
enjoy the experience of the surroundings.
He's turned down, he and his daughter join a White House tour that
is just about to start, before the tour is completed a 'paramilitary'
group posing as workmen have smuggled in an explosive device along
with an array of weaponry, things soon kick off.
'Cale's' first instinct is keep his daughter safe, but events move
fast he soon becomes a key player in trying to ensure 'President
James Sawyer's' safety.
Retiring Chief of Security 'Walker' is running the show....he has
a purpose in mind....if things don't go the way he intends and the
authorities don't follow instructions....the sixty one hostages die,
along with the President (if they can find him that is)
Explosive action throughout as all-hell breaks loose in and around
the White House'
As one would expect there is an impressive array of special-effects
to cherish.
Great picture and sound quality throughout.
(can honestly say, I enjoyed both this and the 'Gerard Butler' movie)
5/5 for entertainment value.
Special features:-
*A dynamite duo' - 'Tatum Channing' and 'Jamie Foxx'
*Man of action -'Stunt training'
*Meet the Insiders - 'Supporting cast'
*Roland Emmerick' - 'Upping the ante'
Plus : exclusive to Blu-Ray extras including:
*The ever popular - 'Gag Reel'
* The inside story - From script to screen'
* The Beast - 'Inside the president's limo'
* The full arsenal - 'Guns, Grenades, Tanks, and Choppers'
* Presidential treatment - 'A mission production'
* Crushing the oval office - 'Special effects breakdown'
* Drowning the Beast'
* Recreating the White House.
* VFX - 'Boundaries Down'
* Lights, camera, heart-pounding-action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whte House Down V Olympus Has Fallen, 22 Jan 2014
By 
S. Bell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All told Olympus Has Fallen is the better all round film, however and I never thought I would find myself saying this but White House Down is more fun to watch than I thought it would be. A cheesey film but perfectly watchable.
Funniest Moment: Channing Tatum and Jamie Fox trying to escape by driving round and round the lawn in the "The Beast" or "Ground Force One".
Best Dramatic Moment: Seeing Air Force One being blown out of the sky. I know this veiw may be un PC but it was good.
Not an Ocsar contender but a good film to watch on a night in in front of the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diehard clone but very good fun, 8 July 2013
By 
Director Roland Emmerich has a habit of doing big disasters films like Independence day or Day after tomorrow. Here he goes straight for the action market, and a Diehard clone, even down to our hero trapped in a building with terrorists in his white vest.

If your a fan of any other Diehard copycat thrillers (the list is endless, so lets just say for example a film like the Rock or the slightly different but in a similar style Air force One)then this a good way to spend a couple of hours.

Tatum plays the hero well, as a down on his luck father, who happens to get stuck in the Whitehouse, with his daughter whilst attending an interview for the secret service, as terrorists take over the building. Foxx plays the president who ends up becoming his partner, fighting the terrorists, as they try to figure a way out.

What ensues is lots of gun shoot outs, car chases, explosions and much mayhem.

The positive of the film is that it is so absurd, so over the top, but manages to include quite a few witty one liners and visual sight gags, making it breeze along on a crazy comical charm to offset the action scenes.

On the down side, there is as always with A Roland Emmerich film, far too much dependence on CGI explosions and effects which seem more of a priority than any sense of logic or realism in the plot or characters, that said it's still big dumb fun and worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White House down
White House down by Roland Emmerich
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews