Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inclusion Imperative, 3 Feb 2014
Crikey, this really is a fresh take on the business case and quite remarkable to see how the worlds largest event was shaped so positively. Frost is a very clear writer and makes his point brilliantly. Make sure you dont miss your stop on the tube, its a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful behind the scenes view of London 2012 Games, recomended read., 3 Feb 2014
We were suppliers to the London 2012 Paralympic Games. This is really insightful book, it brought the Games alive for me and gave me a renewed appreciation for what went on behind the scenes in making the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games so welcoming and inclusive. I learned a lot and recommend it, it's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential read for current and future leaders in any business or organisation, 5 Feb 2014
This book is an essential guide for any business who really wants to ensure they harness the talent and integrate includion as a essential platform for growth, creativity and inclusion within any business. The timing is apt and it is a brilliant insight into London 2012's journey to Games-time. As part of the 2012 team it gives me great pride to see the value all our work delivered in 2012 this book is an important part of our legacy. Brilliant work from all involved. A must buy for all to who wants to rmake a significant difference...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important book that needs to be read..., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Inclusion Imperative - this is a great book that I really can't recommend highly enough. Leaders at all levels should read it, it's humorous, insightful and informative about a subject that we should all be so much better informed about. It's so good that Amazon has had to re-order stock meaning that you may have to wait a couple of days for it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing and eye-opening, 3 Feb 2014
As a "lay-person" regarding diversity and inclusion practices, I expected that my primary interest in this book would be experiencing the insider account of how the London Olympics were created. Indeed, Mr. Frost fills the book with numerous entertaining stories and revealing anecdotes around the behind-the-scenes goings-on leading up to the London Games, more than enough to justify the purchase price.

However, what the book taught me about "D&I" has permanently altered how I think about business. Mr. Frost illustrates in significant detail how business processes were redesigned from the ground up to foster diversity at the most fundamental level, in stark contrast to the manner in which I believe most people assume it must be done, as more of a post-hoc intervention applied to more conventional processes. Furthermore, he demonstrates how this can be accomplished in a way that aligns with and furthers the business objectives of the organization, rather than hindering them as a sort of extra cost -- again, not what one would expect.

The casual reader can definitely enjoy this book; but the professional reader is bound to discover much food for thought here, in enough detail to inspire more concrete ideas of how to apply these methods to one's own organization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read for any leader - whatever your business or focus, 3 Feb 2014
If a project like delivering the London Olympic and Paralympic Games in 2012 rose to the challenge of making inclusion a priority, there is no reason why that shouldn't be the case for any organisation. If you believe that then read this book, it will help you navigate a course for your own organisation. If you don't believe it, read this book anyway, you are bound to be inspired by the simplicity and practicality of some of the ideas.This is an opportunity to learn from someone that not only writes well about inclusion but has proven it can be delivered as well. A terrific book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 3 Feb 2014
Anyone who is interested in both the topic of Diversity and Inclusion and gaining an insight into one of the most successful ever Olympic Games will find this book a must read. In particular it puts the case very well of the benefits to Business of having a pro-acive D&I policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, good story, a very good source for practitioners interested in having an impact, 6 Feb 2014
I read The Inclusion Imperative with a great enthusiasm. The background is the back-stage story of building the London 2012 Olympics and Paralympics Games, which were described, by all accounts, as the most inclusive in history. But the book goes much further than a good story: It gives great insights about a radical impact-oriented approach to diversity and inclusion that business people and practitioners in the private or public sector will find very inspiring. I thought it was a good read and a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stephen Frost writes with honestly, humour and clarity about the urgent necessity of expanding inclusivity in our workplaces, based partly on his experience working as Head of Diversity for the London Olympic Games. Such an important and worthy topic would be in danger of generating a rather dull and plodding book in the wrong hands, but Mr Frost has an eloquence and irreverence which makes him a pleasure to read. I certainly never expected to encounter the expression "cripping up" (quoted, I should add) to describe the practice of non-disabled actors playing disabled roles on stage and screen.

Buy it, read it,.... apply it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relevant, 5 Feb 2014
Meaningful, timely and applicable. As someone who works in the private sector in an industry that lags in implementing new models for staffing, developing and promoting employees, I am looking forward to finishing this book. The topic and introduction already presents an engaging argument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews