Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who might end due to fan stupidity
One star reviews for a show nobody had seen yet we're blamed for the final demise of Doctor Who. Many mourn what was said to be the greatest series yet. A spokesman for the BBC said that selling DVDS had always been vital to future funding for the show. Sadly a number of fans had given the show 1 star months before broadcast as a result sales to normal human beings who...
Published 1 month ago by P.A. Taylor

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Series 8..still in the dark
Imagine my surprise to find that this shiny disc thing sent to me in 1974 was a blu ray of this series (its not a season, theres only 4 of them), not knowing what it was, I used it to make a copy of Noddy Holders (from Slade) hat......I feel stupid now, I have nothing more to say.
Published 5 months ago by Uxter


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long-forgotten gem, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Imagine the thrill that must have gone through the circuits of the World Service's aerial archivoid drone when it spotted an old-style analog "digital video thing" frozen in antarctic permafrost. This season has been on Doctor Who fans' "most-wanted lost serials" ever since its accidental loss in a routine vaultpurge in October 2088, and now at last it has been found!

Highlights include: the famous Terrible Zodin two-parter - recently named DWM's least worst serial of the first 100 year of the show; the Ice Warriors' feeble Christmas pantomime; the first appearance of the new TARDIS interior (smaller on the inside, that goof having FINALLY been corrected); and the famously horrific Easter special "Revenge of the Dinosaur", in which the Doctor is teleportally merged with previous companion Jamie McCrimmon, now aged 146. Plus, we can finally see the surviving "Young Davros" speech in its proper (and sexy!) context, in the powerful season finale "Time-Swim / Elephantiasis of the Daleks".

As with many of these old BBC digidisks during the Moffat era, there are menu options to switch off the female characters.

NOTE: Although most of the actual episodes survive in colour, Peter Capaldi himself is only in black & white, and Gemma Louise-Colman has had to be reconstructed from stills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moffat f***ity does it again, 2 Feb 2014
Well, what can I say? This has to be the best series ever! The show gets to off to a rip-roaring start, in the episode "f***ity bye", in which the newly regenerated Dr. tries his best to ensure that "those f***ing robots know how to do s*** and stop calling me f***ing English!!" The following episode is in a similar vein, with the daleks being asked to "come in and unblock the f***Ing shunky as there's a large jobby the size of your s***-faced face in it! Well what else do you think that f***ing plunger is for; you're hardly going to invade Iraq with that piece of s***."

Another story sees Clara confess her undying love to the Doctor, to which the Doctor replies "You love me? KISS MY SWEATY A*** YOU ENGLISH F***!!!" The final episodes even see the appearance of Benedict Cumberbatch as the Master, whom the Doctor calls a "stupid soppy gay English f***y in a silly hat".

I had begun to think Dr. Who was getting a little bit twee and nicey-nicey, but Capaldi and Moffat bring a grit and realism back to the show that I don't think I've seen since Christopher Eccleston. Five stars. Roll on Series 9! Which I've already seen. In the future.

Oh, and Tardis now stands for Time and Relative Dimensions in S***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Plot Twist!, 1 Feb 2014
I can't believe how The Doctor and Clara switched bodies in the Finale, which had them square off against The Master, played by Adam Sandler! But after The Doctor's body is destroyed, Clara's mind going with it, The Doctor must become comfortable in the body of a woman! But, of course, a regeneration occurs as his body must get accustomed to this strange shape!

I'm sure that Miranda Hart will make a brilliant Doctor. Bring on Series 9!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 31 Jan 2014
Can't believe The Doctor regenerated into Matt Smith again then into William Hartnell then into Alex Kingston then Alex Kingston peeled off her skin to reveal an Ood! Then the Ood unzipped its head to reveal an Slitheen then the Slitheen morphed into a Zygon then the Zygon span around and morphed into an Graske! I ordered this about 10 seconds ago and got it delivered personally by Steven Moffat threatening to exterminate me if I don't write a good review. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOD WORK AMAZON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Series 8..still in the dark, 31 Jan 2014
Imagine my surprise to find that this shiny disc thing sent to me in 1974 was a blu ray of this series (its not a season, theres only 4 of them), not knowing what it was, I used it to make a copy of Noddy Holders (from Slade) hat......I feel stupid now, I have nothing more to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Eight, 31 Jan 2014
Although some people had misgivings about a comic actor in a red-lined cape taking over the lead role, season eight of Doctor Who turned out to be a complete triumph. The best stories were Terror of the Autons, The Claws of Axos and The Daemons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toppers., 29 Jan 2014
I have to say. The surprise regeneration of Capaldi into Steven Moffat was an absolute shocker. Really the highlight of the series. Excellent television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing service!!, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 8 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
SPOILERS CONTAINED!!
I bought this today at 16:30 and it arrived yesterday at 09:22 via Tardis shipping.
Box was a little warped though.
As for the series, I can confirm it was the best series yet!
The episode where you find out that Murder She Wrote was the Doctors mum was genius!
Wasn't sure about Moffett's choice on eradicating the Daleks, Cybermen and the Master entirely from the Doctor's history as if they had never even existed in the finale. Feels a bit Cliche.. Think they should give Moffett the boot now.
Otherwise Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irie tings wid de 12th Doctor, 9 Feb 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 8 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I and I is big fan of the Doctor and when me saw this Blu-ray me had to buy it. Me put the disc in sit back and start smoking up the ganja til me eyes go red like an Ood when him proper vexed. When me see they had replaced me bredrin wid de bow tie an a fez for this old brer me say 'Wagwan?' at first but tings be proper Irie when me see him call a Dalek a rattid bumboclaart and then him box up a Sontarian. This Doctor might be nuff old but him a Gallifreyan rudeboy for real. Me only complaint is that the Tardis look look like it belong to Babylon, him should paint it red gold and green with a lion on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I nearly foamed out of my eyestalk, 2 Feb 2014
Well, after a really hard day at Canary Wharf and a totally unexpected emergency temporal shift, I decided to order this off Amazon for a bit of a laugh really. To be honest, Timelord propaganda usually makes me come close to whirling round uncontrollably and spitting foam out of my shell, but this is first class comedy.

The High Council has cast Peter Capaldi as The Doctor. Well, he seems to fit the bill completely. Need I say more. His portrayal of The Doctor is first class, but I nearly spazzed my vestigial liver out when they cast Barbara Windsor as The Rani.

Anyway, I have been getting echoes through the time rift from some bizarre rainbow coloured disco tanks that claim to be my ancestors, sent back in time, and cross bred on a reclaimed Skaro, that our creation, Moffat has ceased to be a bomb, and is now dressing up in a Slitheen costume and corrupting our historical archive.

I punched into the nearest computer monitor to find out if this is accurate, and I am sad to say that it is. So order the DVDs as soon as they become available. I have been zipping back and forth, and find myself going a little bit mad. Honestly. Dancing and dying over and over again just to get to the Easter Egg really takes the jammy dodger.

Anyway, DHL did a fine job of getting the plastic archive up the Medusa Cascade, but the contents seems a bit frazzled. You could say it looks like it came from an alternative universe. Get to it before Moffat completely rewrites your life.

Love and kisses from the acknowledged friendliest species in the Universe
Sek xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Complete Series 8 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
39.75
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews