Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Am I A Good Man?" - Introducing The Twelfth Doctor
Here Comes Twelve!

This is the complete Series 8 of 'Doctor Who' starring Peter Capladi and Jenna Coleman. It feels like only yesterday since I remember watching this series from beginning to end in 2014. It was the beginning of a new era as well as a new chapter in the Doctor's life when he became Twelve.

This is a 5-disc DVD set containing all...
Published 1 month ago by Tim Bradley as Billy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened to Doctor Who?
The episodes here are watchable at best, with too many stories set on earth, at the school. The writing is substandard. Capaldi's Doctor is miserable and whiny, then ADD, then miserable and whiny again. [It's almost like the writers don't know who their character is.] Danny Pink is an awful character, he doesn't fit with Clara at all. But then Clara doesn't fit with...
Published 19 days ago by Film Buff


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Am I A Good Man?" - Introducing The Twelfth Doctor, 25 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here Comes Twelve!

This is the complete Series 8 of 'Doctor Who' starring Peter Capladi and Jenna Coleman. It feels like only yesterday since I remember watching this series from beginning to end in 2014. It was the beginning of a new era as well as a new chapter in the Doctor's life when he became Twelve.

This is a 5-disc DVD set containing all twelve episodes of Peter Capaldi's first season as the Doctor. The episodes are on the first four discs with subsequent special features whilst Disc 5 contains more special features to complete the viewing experience and enjoyment of Series 8.

I remember seeing the first episode of this series at a cottage on holiday with my parents in Scotland in August 2014. It ended with me watching the last episode on TV and on my tablet at home somewhere in November. The memories stay with you if you're a true 'Doctor Who' fan.

DISC 1
1. 'DEEP BREATH'
For my review on this story, please see 'Deep Breath' (DVD).

On Disc 5, there's the 'Deep Breath - Doctor Who Extra' featurette and the 'Deep Breath' Q&A cinema panel with Peter Capaldi, Jenna Coleman and writer Steven Moffat*.

2. 'INTO THE DALEK'
This is an intriguing episode by Phil Ford and Steven Moffatt, where Peter Capaldi meets the Daleks.

The Doctor and Clara have to go inside a sick Dalek to make it better. This story raises the question about whether there's such a thing as a good Dalek. This is an interesting concept, and it's pretty frightening when the Doctor and Clara go inside 'Rusty the Dalek' and face its antibodies.

This episode features the first appearance of Samuel Anderson as Danny Pink, an ex-soldier and fellow teacher at Coal Hill School. Danny becomes Clara's new romantic interest in this series.

On Disc 1, there's a commentary with writer Phil Ford and director Ben Wheatley. On Disc 5, there's the 'Into The Dalek - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

Take a side-step adventure with the Doctor and Clara in 'Silhouette'.

3. 'ROBOT OF SHERWOOD'
This is one of my favourite episodes by Mark Gatiss, full of swashbuckling proportions and humour.

The story raises the question of what if Robin Hood was real. Tom Riley delivers a brilliant performance as Robin Hood, as he's charming, funny and very heroic. Ben Miller also a superb villainous performance as the Sheriff of Nottingham with robots as his side.

Peter Capaldi delivers a great performance as the Doctor. I love it when the Doctor fights with a spoon. Jenna Coleman is lovely as Clara and looks like a princess in her period costume.

On Disc 1, there's a commentary with director Paul Murphy. On Disc 5, there's the 'Robot of Sherwood - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

Take side-step adventures with the Doctor and Clara in 'The Crawling Terror' and 'The Blood Cell'.

DISC 2
4. 'LISTEN'
This is a thought-provoking; psychological story by Steven Moffatt. I'm not sure I grasp the full plot.

Peter Capaldi's Doctor is troubled by the question of whether there is something under your bed. Jenna Coleman as Clara is great, as she see her living a double life. She tries to have a date with Danny Pink which goes disastrously wrong. I like Clara's compassionate; caring side in this episode.

Samuel Anderson as Danny Pink is also great, as more is revealed about his past life. We see Danny as a little boy as Rupert and Samuel gets to play Danny's descendant called Colonel Orson Pink.

On Disc 5, there's the 'Listen - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

5. 'TIME HEIST'
This episode by Stephen Thompson and Steven Moffat has the Doctor and Clara trying to rob a bank.

This story guest stars Keeley Hawes (who I've seen in 'Wives and Daughters') as the villainous Ms Delpho. The Doctor and Clara are joined by two people. There's Jonathan Bailey as Psi, a hacker with an augmented brain and Pippa Bennett-Warner as Saibra, a shape-shifting mutant human.

The monster is the Teller, who is a large telepathic humanoid creature with two eye stalks on its head. The Teller is impressive with an animatronic head and may not be the terrifying as it appears.

On Disc 5, there's the 'Time Heist - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

6. 'THE CARETAKER'
I saw this episode by Gareth Roberts and Steven Moffat at a convention at Bristol, September, 2014.

The Doctor goes undercover as he becomes caretaker at Coal Hill School. Whilst there, he discovers Clara's relationship with Danny Pink and has to stop a menacing robot killer called the Skovox Blitzer. The Skovox Blitzer (operated by Jimmy Vee) is a pretty impressive monster in terms of design.

I really like how Danny discovers Clara's secret life travelling with the Doctor in time and space. The Doctor is pretty mean to Danny, as he's coming to terms with accepting him as Clara's boyfriend.

On Disc 2, there's a commentary with director Paul Murphy and Kate Walshe & Peter Hawkins of Millenium FX. On Disc 5, there's 'The Caretaker - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

7. 'KILL THE MOON'
This episode by Peter Harness is probably my least favourite episode from this series.

Courtney (Ellis George), one of the Coal Hill school pupils joins the Doctor and Clara on an adventure on the moon in 2049 (filmed in sunny Lanzarote where they did 'Planet of Fire' back in 1984). I found the moon turning out to be an egg hatching an alien creature inside a very lubricous and silly idea.

Jenna Coleman as Clara stands out for me in this story. Clara is forced to make a hard decision for the future of the human race and is very angry with the Doctor at end for cruelly abandoning her.

On Disc 2, there's a commentary with director Paul Wilmhurst and first assistant director Scott Bates. On Disc 5, there's the 'Kill the Moon - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

DISC 3
8. 'MUMMY ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS'
I loved watching this episode by Jamie Mathieson. This is another one of my favourites from Series 8.

The Doctor and Clara board the Orient Express, a 1920s steam train now travelling in space. I love the 1920s feel of the Orient Express and it blends well with the sci-fi aspects of this gripping mystery adventure. I love Jenna Coleman as Clara as she looks stunning and beautiful in her 1920s gear.

The story features a terrifying mummy who kills people off one by one within sixty-six seconds. This episode specially guest stars Frank Skinner as Perkins, the engineer aboard the Orient Express.

On Disc 4, there's the 'Don't Stop Me Now' by Foxes music video**, and on Disc 5 there's the 'Mummy on the Orient Express - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

9. 'FLATLINE'
This is another cracking good episode by Jamie Mathieson. It's a creepy and unnerving adventure.

The TARDIS has shrunk to size and the Doctor gets trapped inside. Clara becomes the Doctor, with his sonic screwdriver; physic paper and carrying the TARDIS in her handbag. Clara also gets a companion in Joivan Wade as Rigsy. Jenna Coleman's performance stands out for me in this episode.

The monsters in this episode are the terrifying Boneless. These are creatures that come from the 2D world. They appear in the form of paintings and art become taking on a grotesque 3D form.

On Disc 5, there's the 'Flatline - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

10. 'INTO THE FOREST OF THE NIGHT'
This is a fascinating episode by Frank Cottrell Boyce about an overgrown forest on Earth.

Clara and Danny take a field trip of Coal Hill School kids to a London museum overnight. They wake up to find that London and the whole world overgrown with a forest of trees. The tension rises as solar flares from the sun are approaching Earth and wolves and tigers are on the loose from the zoo.

The kids in this episode are really good. The main child star is a girl called Abigail Eames as Maebh. Maebh hears voices as she makes contact with the forest and finds the Doctor's TARDIS.

On Disc 5, there's the 'Into the Forest of the Night - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

SPECIAL FEATURES
The highlight of Disc 3 for me is the 'Doctor Who: The Ultimate Time Lord' documentary with Peter Davison. This features interviews with cast and crew including the Doctors such as David Tennant; Colin Baker; Sylvester McCoy; Paul McGann and Peter Capaldi with head writer Steven Moffat.

DISC 4
11. 'DARK WATER' (Part 1)
This is the first of the two-part finale by Steven Moffat. Danny Pink dies and Clara wants to save him.

I was looking forward to seeing this two-parter as it features the return of the Cybermen. I did enjoy the Cybermen, although I feel they're overshadowed in this story due to Missy. I liked the recreation of the famous scene from 'The Invasion' of Cybermen walking down the steps of St. Paul's Cathedral.

Michelle Gomez guest stars as Missy, who has been recurring in this series. I wondered who Missy was and her connection to the Doctor. She turns out to be a female version of the Master! What?!

On Disc 5, there's the 'Dark Water - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

12. 'DEATH IN HEAVEN' (Part 2)
This is the second of the two-part finale by Steven Moffat and the last episode of this series.

I have mixed feelings on this season finale. I'm not entirely happy with the Master being a woman. I've nothing against Time Lords changing their sexes. But I feel that Michelle Gomez' performance as Missy is pantomime and not menacing enough. Also I miss John Simm as the Master in this episode.

This episode features the return of Jemma Redgrave (who I met afterwards) as Kate Stewart and Ingrid Oliver as Osgood. It also features the sad departure of Samuel Anderson as Danny Pink.

On Disc 5, there's the 'Death in Heaven - Doctor Who Extra' featurette.

SPECIAL FEATURES
The highlight of Disc 4 for me is the 'Doctor Who: The Ultimate Companion' documentary with Peter Davison. This features interviews with cast and crew including companions such as Sarah Sutton (my favourite); Janet Fielding; Nicola Bryant; Noel Clarke; John Barrowman, Jenna Coleman, etc.

The rest of the DVD special features on this disc are as follows. There's a short featurette called the 'Inside the New TARDIS'. This is a tour with production designer Michael Pickwoad who talks about redesigning the TARDIS interior for Peter Capaladi's Twelfth Doctor.

**The Foxes music video of 'Don't Stop Me Now' is on this disc.

There are also four 'Doctor Who Exclusive' featurettes including 'Casting Peter Capaldi'; 'Writing the New Series'; 'What is Doctor Who?' and 'Why Watch Series 8'. These include interviews with Peter Capaldi; Jenna Coleman and head writer Steven Moffat.

DISC 5
SPECIAL FEATURES
The complete behind-the-scenes featurette series of 'Doctor Who - Extra' is on this disc. I enjoyed each of the 12 episodes of this series in place the 'Doctor Who: Confidential' documentaries. I like the cast and crew interviews and the references to previous episodes both classic and new series.

*The 'Deep Breath' Q&A cinema panel with Peter Capaldi; Jenna Coleman and Steven Moffat is on this disc.

There is also the 'Earth Conquest: The World Tour' documentary focusing on Peter Capaldi, Jenna Coleman and Steven Moffat promoting Series 8 worldwide. This is a very insightful and entertainment journey as the stars go from Cardiff to London to Korea to Sydney to the USA, etc.

There are also four trailers of Series 8. These trailers include 'Eyes'; 'Two Hearts'; a 30 second trailer and a 60 second trailer.

I enjoyed watching Series 8 with the Doctor and Clara. It's a fairly good start for Peter Capladi who's great as the Twelfth Doctor and Jenna Coleman is wonderful as Clara. I wondered where this series would go next as there are clearly more adventures to look forward to with the Doctor and Clara.

The next story for the Doctor and Clara is 'Last Christmas'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Although not the greatest fan of Capaldi's Doctor (perhaps I'm still mourning the ..., 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 8 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Although not the greatest fan of Capaldi's Doctor (perhaps I'm still mourning the departure of Smith!) I did enjoy this series on the whole, particularly "Listen." As with any series, this one had its weak points but on the whole it was entirely enjoyable and lots of fun, and the performances of Capaldi and Coleman were as good as ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing 'Fantastic!' Forget 'Allonsy!' and 'Geronimo!' Only those menacing eyes..., 12 Feb. 2015
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
“Well, then. Here we go again” – Madame Vastra.

Hard to believe that (as of 2015) it’s been ten years since Doctor Who’s successful return to television. The show has only continued to grow and evolve with more and more success, especially after the 50th Anniversary Special, ‘The Day of the Doctor’. Since then, and the first announcement that Peter Capaldi would be succeeding Matt Smith as the Doctor, Series 8 was something I just couldn’t wait for.

After so many tumultuous events, the Time Lord has once again regenerated. And his Twelfth Incarnation is certainly the darkest its been in centuries. He’s now over 2000 years old, and has renewed purpose in life. The Doctor feels it’s past time to ‘grow up’ and do something about various mistakes he’s made. Needless to say, this new persona alienates companion Clara Oswald (the returning Jenna Coleman), who not only misses the Eleventh Doctor, but may not be ready for some of the things the Doctor is capable of, and now willing to do.

Which certainly won’t help with what’s coming…

There was no doubt in my mind that Moffat and Co. had chosen wisely with regards to Peter Capaldi. The man is certainly an accomplished actor and is a fine choice. I couldn’t wait to see him actually appear in the role full-time (despite following on from Matt Smith’s terrible departure in the bloated Time of the Doctor), and right away – Series 8’s excellent opener ‘Deep Breath’ – Peter nails the role of the Doctor.

Immediately, Peter Capaldi understands the importance of being HIMSELF when playing the Doctor. The characterisation (and attire) of the Twelfth Doctor is true to the tradition of being distinct and unique from other incarnations, and Peter lives it all beautifully with his portrayal. And like Matt Smith before him, Peter has chemistry with Jenna Coleman, and the drastic change of relationship with the Doctor and his companion makes for great material throughout.

This is not at all like Rose Tyler’s relationships with the Ninth and Tenth Doctors (where she helped change the Time Lord into a better person following the Time War, and they ultimately became soul-mates). After seeing and learning so much about all the Doctor’s past lives, Clara should be used to change, but she’s NOT. She clearly misses the Eleventh Doctor and is struggling to move on from him. Her relationship with this new Doctor is not what it used to be, and they both do things that constantly threaten to push their friendship to breaking-point. And it’s due to sub-plots such as these that make Series 8 SUCH a hit.

‘Deep Breath’ sets the standard for the series, proving to be an epic, psychological affair (epic due to its successful showing at cinemas), with a brand-new menace for the time-travellers to deal with (along with personal issues), and the most-welcome return of old-friends, Madame Vastra, Jenny & Strax. Clara also receives great character-development (now free of ‘The Impossible Girl’ mystery), and we also get more insight into her life as a school teacher. Add on plenty of delicious Moffat psychology and terror, a really poignant surprise and a great beginning for the ‘Promised Land’ arc, and you have one of the best debut episodes ever for a new Doctor in ‘Deep Breath’.

Series 8 promises and delivers many more highlights with a string of top-notch episodes, such as ‘Into the Dalek’, ‘Robot of Sherwood’, ‘Time Heist’, ‘Kill the Moon’ and ‘Mummy on the Orient Express’. Other plus-points come in the form of Samuel Anderson as great newcomer Danny Pink, and Michelle Gomez deliciously performing as the enigmatic ‘Missy’. The TARDIS interior has been suitably tweaked, and the new opening credits and title theme are fantastic.

Oh, yes…and ‘Listen’ is not only the BEST episode out of all Series 8, it’s right up there with ‘Blink’, ‘Silence of the Library’, ‘Time of the Angels’ and ‘Day of the Doctor’. TRULY one of Moffat’s greatest achievements. WATCH IT!

Truthfully, it’s not all good. Episodes like ‘The Caretaker’ and ‘In the Forest of the Night’ are flat-out rubbish, and sum-up the pits that Series 8 is in danger of falling into. The interactions between the Doctor, Clara and Danny result in tedious soap-drama, and various focus on school kids feels like watching The Magic School Bus. I can understand Moffat’s decision to remember the show’s original roots by focusing on Coal Hill School, but the handling is lacklustre (Series 2’s ‘School Invasion’ is the perfect example of how to handle this kind of scenario). It’s not what Doctor Who should be about.

Moving-on to the two-part finale ‘Dark Water’/‘Death in Heaven’, this is undoubtedly the darkest and most disturbing conclusion to a series of Doctor Who Moffat has ever done. The mystery of ‘The Promised Land’ – and Missy’s identity – are revealed in gloriously shocking fashion, and both the Doctor and Clara will feel the scars forever. The Cybermen are FINALLY restored to prominence, and UNIT (plus great characters from ‘The Day of the Doctor’) make their welcome return.

While ‘Dark Water’ certainly hypes up the second part to great acclaim, ‘Death in Heaven’ sadly doesn’t quite live up to it. True, the Cybermen are again portrayed like they’re meant to be, and the show-stealing performances of Samuel Anderson and Michelle Gomez go without saying, but the sensitive themes used are definitely not for the faint-hearted, and do make for uncomfortable viewing at times.

However, Doctor Who: Series 8 remains a triumphant debut for Peter Capaldi, and the overall direction certainly makes this series one of the strongest since the show’s revival. They’re all manner of goodies to accompany the series (trailers, documentaries, commentaries and the like), and the new design for this DVD release (standard case instead of box set) certainly makes it more practically convenient and appealing.

Looking forward to Series 9!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars can't give it five because ...., 18 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Doctor Who, I've always enjoyed it and I'm a massive Who nerd. I'm writing this review not really on the series, which I have really enjoyed, I like the new doctor but feel he has yet to really shine in his role due to writing and the current companion, this is not a slight on the companion herself but I don't think they jell as well and I'd like to see someone new and fresh.

I've given this box set four starts mainly because of the packaging, it's frankly a real let down, compared to that of the other box set's which were really nicely designed. this feels like a slightly thicker than usual DVD case, it's nasty and plastic and the disk's are all staked in one on top of the other, it just isn't in keeping with what has already been produced and it frankly spoiled the look of the rest of the collection.

now i don't usually care about such things but this is doctor Who, which means it's extra special and it matters.

A good started for the new Doctor, I can't wait to see Capaldi really grow into the role because i really do think he'll be great ... if they get it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor and "The Promised Land", 14 Nov. 2014
By 
Number13 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 8 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Coughed up and spat out by an outrageously oversized CGI dinosaur (fortunately, while protected by the TARDIS) wasn't the most auspicious way for the latest incarnation of the Doctor to make his arrival, yet when the blue door opened all was well.

Peter Capaldi seized the attention from his first scene in `Deep Breath...' and emphatically is The Doctor, growing in his opening story from despairing fragility and memory loss back into the heroic Time Lord who has lived a dozen lives and has memories he might want to forget. He went on to a series of superb performances in every episode, mixing action with humour and the darker, truly alien side of the Doctor as displayed in many of his incarnations right back to the First. If this review was just of the new Doctor, it would be 5* without a doubt.

Clara provides him with an interesting companion who has her own life to lead but just can't give up on the thrill of travels in the TARDIS. Jenna Coleman plays the role excellently, at times as quite a traditional companion, then occasionally taking the lead in a reversal of roles. This was sometimes very successful, as in `Flatline', while in other episodes like `Kill the Moon' I felt the Doctor should have been given more prominence.

In her life on Earth, Clara swaps alien monsters for the duties of a teacher at Coal Hill School and romance with ex-soldier Danny Pink. Personally I thought these elements were the weaker parts of the series and lead to some of the least successful episodes, although `Listen', which involved the future and past of Clara and Danny, was extremely good. The constant antagonism, even prejudice that the Doctor displayed towards Danny and all soldiers throughout this season seemed quite out of character for our tolerant Time Lord, especially since he once spent five years living on Earth surrounded by his friends from UNIT. Danny's back-story from his time as a soldier was not revealed until the finale, but it was so obvious I guessed it in his first episode and it seemed a poor stereotype.

The season-long story arc involving `The Promised Land' and `Missy' was very intriguing and culminated in one of the best episodes of the season with 'Dark Water', but in some ways I never felt it quite paid off. I'm still not sure why the Half-Face Man and the robot knights were trying to reach `The Promised Land' or why `Missy' chose Clara specifically. The notion of Clara as `the impossible girl' connected with the Doctor throughout his timelines, as seen in series 7, was very original and I thought it would be the important reason for her specifically to be tied in with `Missy's schemes in some interesting way, but instead it seemed to have been forgotten.

The 12 episodes were very varied in theme, style and (judging by content) in target audience too. Leaving aside the finale for the moment, my favourites were Steven Moffat's `Listen' and the two superb and contrasting stories by Jamie Mathieson, `Flatline' and `Mummy on the Orient Express'; if any proof is needed that a great script is what makes great `Doctor Who', these weeks provided it. `Listen' was almost like a classic M.R. James ghost story plus time travel, with a slow pace to let the tension build; `Flatline' was an inventive horror comedy with clever ideas, relative dimensions and zombie graffiti in an urban setting while `Mummy' brought back to life (at least for a older fan like me) the splendid `Gothic' age of late 1970's `Doctor Who' with a gruesome, terrifying `monster' and a fine supporting cast - the Doctor even offered a jelly-baby in the style of his legendary Fourth incarnation. I hope the nation's sofas had plenty of room behind them for this one(!)

`Deep Breath ...', `Into the Dalek' and `Time Heist' were enjoyable episodes, the regeneration story plus a typically fun romp around London with the Paternoster gang; the required `Dalek' action story with a twist - a *good* Dalek (no, the Doctor didn't believe it either!) and a slick, stylish heist `movie' in 45 minutes with hints of `Ocean's Eleven', `Mission: Impossible' and `X-Men'. These three stories were `Doctor Who' in full entertainment mode, though `Deep Breath ...' included some interesting thoughts on our reactions to age and change within the lighter surround.

Two very different comedies were included in the season. `Robot of Sherwood' seemed to be pushing the boundary of what counts as `Doctor Who' and has divided fan opinion; personally I thought it was highly silly but great fun and enjoyed every minute for the comedy interlude it clearly was. It only just fits within the `Doctor Who' Universe, but who cares for once? As Robin tells the Doctor: "I'm just as real as you are." Touché! `The Caretaker' started as a three-handed comedy in Coal Hill School with a clunky-looking alien robot on the rampage and this part of the story worked well as action comedy, but I was much less keen on the seemingly rather forced rivalry and `class' tensions between the Doctor and Danny Pink. The Doctor isn't an "aristocrat" - `Time Lord' is a qualification from the Academy on Gallifrey and not some inherited title.

`Doctor Who' is *science* fiction - the key word is `science' and this was where I felt both `Kill the Moon' and `In the Forest of the Night' went astray, casting off science for outright fantasy, though I did like the arachnophobic opening third of the former and the initial forest concept of the latter. In my opinion these were the two weakest episodes of the season by some distance and I won't be in a hurry to watch them again.

Finally, it was time for the season-ending two-parter and the great showdown with `Missy' in which all would be revealed. `Dark Water' was a superb episode to start the season finale, as Steven Moffat took us into very dark waters indeed with a sudden, quite shocking death and the skin-crawling `revelations' (albeit with some touches of humour) about the `afterlife'; the darkest, most appalling concepts ever raised in the lifetime of the show. Daring stuff, but as the Doctor tells us, it's all a scam, none of it was true. Three spectacular `returns' from the classic era were superb: the Matrix (it was a `Doctor Who' idea first, by legendary writer Robert Holmes in 1976), the Cybermen re-enacting iconic scenes from `The Invasion' and this time also actually coming down the steps of St. Paul's Cathedral and what I thought was the breath-taking (if controversial for some fans) reveal of the true identity of `Missy', very well played by Michelle Gomez.

For me, `Death in Heaven' didn't live up to `Dark Water'; it seemed as if an almost conscious backward step was taken into the relative safety of a big CGI spectacular. Some of the ideas from `Dark Water' were carried through but diluted, others such as Danny's cliff-hanger dilemma were simply forgotten about while some of the new additions such as UNIT seemed almost pointless in terms of their contribution to the plot. The `return' of the Cyber-Brigadier was obviously meant to be a heart-warming moment for classic-series fans but personally, in all the darkness of this story, this was the only element I found distasteful, perhaps because I'm a fan of the 1970s Third Doctor / UNIT era and my original Doctor and his human friends including the one-and-only original Brigadier. The character interaction between the Doctor and Clara was very well written and acted, the highlight of the episode for me, but for a season finale there were too many loose ends for my taste, notably all the questions raised by Danny speaking to Clara "two weeks later". On the other hand, perhaps we haven't seen the true end of this story quite yet?

While there were parts of this season that weren't to my taste and I did feel the ending was uncertain in places, the variety of stories was such that it would have been a surprise if everyone liked everything. No doubt the episodes I liked least will be someone else's favourites, and also the reverse - as fans of the show, we know the Doctor is all for freedom of choice!

Overall, I thought it was a very good first season for this outstanding new Doctor, with some excellent episodes; thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The good the bad and the Capaldi!, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 8 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It's always a troubling time when there is a change of doctor, what will they be like? Will it ruin the show? I was a huge fan of Matt Smith so was a little worried going into season 8, I didn't want to see him go.

On the bright side it was still an ok season. Several of the episodes such as the Mummy on Orient Express, Flatline and the last two episodes of the season were excellent (Missy was especially brilliant, need more of this quality). There was some genuinely funny moments throughout the season and a few good scares too.

The production values are also excellent much like previous seasons with Clara dressing in various period outfits (she looks quite sexy in a few of them) as well as lovely looking sets such as alien banks, forests, trains, castles etc. A lot of it was very impressive.

On the downside I found some of the writing weaker than previous seasons, with a few episodes that had plot holes in them or just seemed to run away from science fiction completely and the focus on Clara and Danny was somewhat heavy handed in some places though I understand why. I also found Clara and the Doctors constant arguing irritating.

Finally there is Peter Capaldi the new doctor. The first episode with him handling his regeneration I found quite jarring and a struggle to get through at first though that is down to the aforementioned writing rather than his performance as he's a great actor. I was hoping he would settle in but I simply found him rude and miserable more often than not, he's lost all his humour and charm which I really enjoyed in previous incarnations.

So all in all it's a watchable season, just needs to iron out some of the creases and let Capaldi settle in, I hope the next season is better but it's lost some of the charm it had.

+ Some excellent creative episodes.
+ Funny, scary and touching all at once in places.
+ Missy was fantastic.
+ Brilliant costumes and sets.

- Some poor writing and plot holes in a couple of episodes.
- The new Doctor has lost the charm I once enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventures in Time and Strangeness, 1 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 8 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Doctor Who has taken an odd turn the last few years. A lot of the reviews posted focus on the content of the episodes of the series, rather than the product itself. I will offer my views on the current series later in the review, as this is naturally part of the content, but first I would like to detail my review on the actual physical product first.

As ever, Amazon have duly delivered on date of release a Blu-Ray edition of the series, along with their customary Pre-Order Guarantee, and I noticed that I was charged less than the pre-ordered price, so I am grateful for this.

5 Discs are supplied for the Blu-Ray edition, which include all 12 episodes of the current series and accompanied by bonus features as follows:

Doctor Who: The Ultimate Time Lord
Commentaries and Interviews
Doctor Who: Earth Conquest: The World Tour
Doctor Who: The Ultimate Companion
Exclusive Q&A with Peter Capaldi, Jenna Coleman and Steven Moffat
Behind the Scenes.

It also includes subtitles in English for the Hard of Hearing and Audio Navigation/ Audio Description on the episodes.

The cover is as shown on the listing, marked with a BBFC rating of 12.

Having detailed all this, I find it conspicuous by its absence that that the UV copy, previously included with Matt Smith Season 7 Blu-Ray and the Day of the Doctor 50th Anniversary Blu-Ray, is not available with this boxset, yet digital copies are available to buy separately with Amazon Instant Video. As I have bought the soundtrack of Day of the Doctor and a digital download is automatically included as part of the purchase, I find it strange that there isn't a video equivalent on this occasion,and it is for this reason I've marked the product down to a 4 star.

As far as the series is concerned, I find Peter Capaldi an excellent choice of Doctor, managing to exhibit characteristics well from his forebears, whilst also delivering his own style. I also like Clara as a companion, as the lack of love interest with the Doctor is preferred and her willingness to challenge the Doctor is welcome, as I found Amy Pond far too abrasive a character. The introduction of another male regular, Mr Pink, is also a refreshing change. Overall though, I have found this season somewhat hit and miss however; sadly somewhat more on the miss side.

I do enjoy Doctor Who thoroughly, and been an fan since I was 7 in the late 80's, long before it was currently in vogue, so I am willing to give some leeway to stories that I might enjoy less. Having said that, I feel the writing and general stance since Steven Moffat took the helm has moved away from being innovative science fiction on occasion and more into what I consider "Strange Fiction"- the opening appearance of this season of a T-Rex regurgitating a swallowed TARDIS being a prime example. This does not mean there isn't some good science fiction this season, eg Flatline and Listen, some are enjoyable remakes of films ( Into the Dalek and Time Heist as interpretations of Fantastic Voyage and Ocean's 11), but others in particular- namely In The Forest of the Night and Kill the Moon- just seem to be weird ideas that have little or no real basis in reality and offered up as fiction with very little science to them. Kill the Moon, in its defence, started well as a sci-fi episode, but I really felt the ending was an unrealistic/ un-credible plotline.

There has been a tendency this season of a standoffish rivalry between principal characters, some of which is enjoyable, others more arbitrary. Again, this seems to be at the direction of the writers as it seems inconsistent at times. There also seems to be a desire to seek sensationalism at the expense of the delivery of a good storyline. A prominent example is the alluded lesbian kiss/ resuscitation/ kiss of life between Madame Vastra and Jenny, as well as the Nethersphere/ Afterlife concepts, to keep the series in the public sphere. I personally applaud and celebrate the inclusion of the former, but it seemed that this aspect then resulted in a hype of media frenzy taken out of context and in the rest of the episode being overlooked and unimportant. Similarly, the latter concept was intriguing, but also very reminiscent of "The Matrix" and felt it perhaps was lucky not to have been challenged on that basis. Consequently I feel that, although the BBC have used CGI and other effects to their usual high standards to create the episodes, some of the stories themselves have not always lent themselves to be believable and hope this will be addressed next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 7 year old loves this box set. It has all the latest episodes plus lots of extras as well. I can recommend to any Doctor Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great drama, Not so great box., 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would love to give this product 5 stars because as with all Doctor Who, the drama is spectacular. If you missed the first run on television, where were you? And get this product! My only problem with this product was that the box was damaged, I'm not a collector or anything and I did get the set during the boxing day sale, so I didn't do anything about it. However, if you are a collector or just like everything looking pristine, purchase with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this, got it as a xmas present and it came well in time, was packaged great and the whole thing is just 'fantastic!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Complete Series 8 [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free]
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews