Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll out, lads!
Over the years, Clarkson, Hammond and May have journeyed and adventured all corners of the globe to prove the amazing capabilities and character of the car. Their Great Adventures have resulted in all manner of incredible accomplishments; from America to the North Pole, from Africa to the Middle East, from Botswana to Vietnam. Barring the dismal outing in India, every one...
Published 11 months ago by R. Wood

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could have been.
Not their best, but it's OK. I found the ending wasn't really Top Gear-ish as it generally was just them mucking around - barely involving what Top Gear should be doing. Still, very funny - if a little too obviously staged in places - and quite fun to watch. 3 stars might be a tad harsh, but it's all I could give it - 4 felt too much and 2 was too harsh. I'd give it maybe...
Published 4 months ago by Pickalily


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll out, lads!, 31 July 2014
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Top Gear - The Burma Special [DVD] (DVD)
Over the years, Clarkson, Hammond and May have journeyed and adventured all corners of the globe to prove the amazing capabilities and character of the car. Their Great Adventures have resulted in all manner of incredible accomplishments; from America to the North Pole, from Africa to the Middle East, from Botswana to Vietnam. Barring the dismal outing in India, every one of these Great Adventures have been brilliant, brave…and utterly memorable.

With no signs of winding down anytime soon, Jeremy, Richard and James’ latest mission is to take three clapped-out lorries, journey through Burma to get to Thailand, and drive their ‘mighty machines’ over the River Kwai…via a bridge they must build THEMSELVES.

True to form, this Burma Special has all the ingredients for a classic Top Gear. There’re so many highlights – bringing down Burma’s power supply, insane parties, breakdowns and relying on horses etc – the usual (ingenious) vehicle modifications, mishaps, thrills and dangers, breathtaking shots of a beautiful country, remarkable places and cultures, and a real sense of achievement when all’s said and done. This latest Great Adventure is right up there with the VERY best episodes.

Now, those who watched this special back in March on BBC2 will remember this as being a two-parter (like the Africa Special), so you can expect both parts merged together here. But there’s plenty of notable new footage thrown in this Uncut version for fans to drool over, and the number of exclusive extras to boot make this release one of the meatier Top Gear DVDs to be released.

There’s a twenty-minute compilation of ‘Behind-the-Scenes’ footage, a nifty Photo Gallery, an interactive ‘Wallpaper’ feature for your computer, and some trailers for ‘Race the Stig’ game. For Top Gear fans and completists, The Burma Special NEEDS to be on your shelf, for both the main-feature and the extras that come with it. Proof that there’s plenty of life left in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Top Gear - The Burma Special [DVD] (DVD)
I just finished watching the Burma special and I can tell you that this is the best of all the top gear adventures I have ever watched.

To begin with the country is most interesting and apart from the usual south-east-Asia chaos in the capital, the roads and the landscapes were truly staggering

The team have to travel 1,200-mile journey through Burma and Thailand in some very old lorries + modifications, and build a bridge over the river Kwai (or something like that) a direct reference to PoW movie Bridge on the River Kwai. They pay their respect to the fallen soldiers along the way, which I felt it was a very nice touch.

The episode climax is in the Sham with some incredible views form the hill tops, which along with the race in the 20 lane road in the capital are the best moments of the episode, as well as the constant references to the local crops in the region.

Viewers who dismiss the show as puerile and staged are clearly missing the point on how much fun and interesting a road trip can be.

5 stars and well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cant beat Top Gear really can you....bring on the next series, 25 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Top Gear - The Burma Special [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with other reviewers that the Burma special is the best Road Trip in a while, if not the best.
There are some genuine laugh out loud moments...usually involving May and a tent.
The special brand of grown (if not middle aged) men doing things a 17 year old and his mates might (want to) do is extraordinary
The truth is there is little else as genuinely funny on TV these days on any of the 1001 channels except repeats of Blackadder.

I recommend this as a treasure and treat. Burma is at once weird and fetching to behold, while the escapades come thick and fast.
My favourite must be either Hammond poking his head upstairs into the awful byre they are supposed to sleep in one night and saying 'its ok'
Or James May being woken in the morning hanging over a gorge in his tent suspended by his own crane. You cant beat his expression!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great. Interesting and only Mildly Disappointing, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Selby, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is as fun as it was on the BBC - mostly. extra scenes make this well worth buying. The lads blunder about Burma in three ancient lorries. Breaking down, falling over making fools of themselves. That's the great part
The interesting part is the removal of the "slope" comment. Which was probably a good idea and to be expected.
Disappointment? Well the change of incidental music was annoying and I really miss the "Burning Bridges" Theme at the end. for that it gets 4 stars. But otherwise, great stuff...can hardly wait to see where they go this year (or next year if the BBC is up to its usual tricks)
Actually if the BBC has its way the lads will be down the job centre. It's good to have these discs to remind us of Top Gear before the BBC axes it as they seem keen to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great quality, however there seemed to be a HUGE ..., 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is in fact the first blu ray I have every watched.. I own the dvd version too..

Audio : Superb!

Video : great quality, however there seemed to be a HUGE amount purple fringing and other fringing colour (mainly red) all almost all edges of all cameras!! this wasnt noticeable in the dvd version as far as I know.. bit disappointing but a great buy anyway!

wish more topgear was available in blu ray..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear - The Burma Special, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Vast (Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Burma Special [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't wait to watch it, having seen it on television. I am pleased that certain words are bleeped out (unlike the African Adventure) but that is my personal taste. The part where Richard is feeling very hung-over after the party, is hilarious and his 'special shower' is too! Love it all. The Shan looks amazing and I would love to visit all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best special yet!, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one had my wife and I in tears - it was just so funny. I was further interested as ny father served in Burma, and they are actually quite respectful to the locals (despite recent items in the news etc).

If this does not make you laugh either check your pulse or just admit you have no sense of humour at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great Top Gear special., 15 July 2014
By 
Dive Buddy (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of the Top Gear specials so really enjoyed this. Expect the usual tom foolery from the Top Gear team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+++, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Burma Special [DVD] (DVD)
ALL GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear - The Burma Special [DVD]
Top Gear - The Burma Special [DVD] by Kit Lynch-Robinson (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews