Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BIG MONKEY VS BIG DINOSAUR
I was a little disappointed with this disc as there are no extras- just the film, and it's the Americanised dubbed version.However, what you get is an often hilarious romp with the large, badly costumed Kong and the always lovable Godzilla, doing a spot of toe-to-toe wrestling, trashing half of Tokyo as they go.

Th transfer is very good and the ratio is...
Published on 13 April 2006 by M. Massey

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars When is this movie getting the release it deserves?
This DVD only features the dubbed English version of the film featuring alternative footage and re-cycled music from The Wolf Man and Creature from the Black Lagoon which doesn't really fit the film. There are no special features either, this wouldn't really bother me if the Original Japanese version was included or even if it was the only one included. As far as I know...
Published on 20 Nov. 2012 by Tan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BIG MONKEY VS BIG DINOSAUR, 13 April 2006
By 
M. Massey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was a little disappointed with this disc as there are no extras- just the film, and it's the Americanised dubbed version.However, what you get is an often hilarious romp with the large, badly costumed Kong and the always lovable Godzilla, doing a spot of toe-to-toe wrestling, trashing half of Tokyo as they go.

Th transfer is very good and the ratio is letterbox 1x2.35, not 1x1.78 as it states on the box and at 87 mins good fun.

My 3 year old daughter loved it so much, we're watching it again tonight! Thank her for the review title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla is roasting King Kong!! Oh Yeah!!, 23 April 2008
By 
B. Mustafa "yamcha" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Based on the title, you can tell I am a dedicated Godzilla Fan. I have watched this movie countless times and even today I still get a kick out of it. It was this movie that I started to take a liking to King Kong (I am one who didnt really enjoy the 1933 oringal King Kong movie) and I must say the scenes with Kong is so hilarious.

Those who watch monster movies in terms of plot may want to look elsewhere as true monster fans know that the reasons we watch this is because of the monster battles (what else?). The first meeting between Godzilla and King Kong is brief but I'm happy with the outcome!!

The second battle which lasts much longer is the best scene of the entire movie with both monsters at it, and for me its better than watching wrestling!! There are many questions that will get to you, such as Kong's Origin, Godzilla disliking electricity (thats weird considering Godzilla is meant to fuse with electricity), Kong being attracted to electricity (even weirder), but these can all be forgiven for, as the film was made back in 1963.

Overall, an excellent Godzilla movie with King Kong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That bad its good, 26 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. L. Taylor "ejectthetape" (manchester,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember seeing this as a kid.Now all those years later it seems slightly different. How on earth did RKO let this version of Kong reach the screen.
I began to worry when I first set eyes on the space station. Gerry Anderson should be so proud of his achievments. This stuff is amateur towards his offerings. The giant octopus is another awe inspiring moment. I get the feeling the special effects involved a projection screen and some matchsticks. But the greatest scene is the recreation of the empire state building moment from the original kong move. All in all, the badness of this movie makes it an essential buy. Do it NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battle Of The Century, 14 Mar. 2015
By 
andrew from llangollen (llangollen, north wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
King Kong and Godzilla are quite possibly the 2 most famous and iconic monsters ever in the history of Kaiju movies, so well done to Toho for coming up with this idea. despite the fact I have watched this many times, I still rooted for Godzilla, even though I knew that Kong wins, although that is subjective, because we hear Godzillas roar at the end, even if we don,t see him.

there is a mistaken believe that there are 2 separate endings to this movie, with Kong winning in the American dubbed version and Godzilla winning in the original Japanese version, but this is wrong, Kong wins in both, which is a strange decision by Toho if you ask me. Kong and Zilla square off twice, although the first round is very short and goes to Godzilla, with Kong retreating in shame. the second fight is longer and better with Godzilla once again having the upper hand, until a convenient lightning storm hits Kong and makes him stronger, apparently electricity makes Kong stronger!!! who would have guessed?

from then, its pretty much even between the 2, until they wrestle each other into the ocean, with Kong emerging, and swimming back home to his island. classic movie which hasn,t lost its charm even in this age of cinematic blockbusters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who are you backing?, 15 Nov. 2006
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the US cut of the film where the stale mate at the end swings King Kong's way. Interpret it how you like however - I don't see King Kong's roar as a victorious roar - more of a defeated whimper (I'm more of a Godzilla fan than a KK fan!).

I was looking forward to seeing how film makers would get over the fact that King Kong is basically a just a huge Gorilla, whereas Godzilla is an atomic monster with radioactive breath. The 'feeding off electricity' was a nice touch to deal with this.

This film is a good yarn, people often say that the King Kong outfit is pretty ropey and pretty poor compared to the stop-motion '30s film. The ropey outfit though actually made the beast MORE scary and added a fantastic eeryness. I started watching this film as a huge Godzilla fan, but I warmed to King Kong too.

This isn't just a stomp around and destroy buildings film - it feels like there is a strong story holding it together.

This is definitely in my list of top 10 Godzilla films, and lets face it, it's not very often you get to see two icons of international cinema togther on one film! Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars When is this movie getting the release it deserves?, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD only features the dubbed English version of the film featuring alternative footage and re-cycled music from The Wolf Man and Creature from the Black Lagoon which doesn't really fit the film. There are no special features either, this wouldn't really bother me if the Original Japanese version was included or even if it was the only one included. As far as I know the Japanese version has not been released on DVD yet so they need to get it done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film would have been nice to have both versions, 15 Jun. 2008
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
King Kong vs Godzilla - the title says it all. Godzilla (the bad guy in this film) takes on King Kong. I won't go into plot details and ruin it for you. The film is presented in 2.35 ratio and the print is excellent. This dvd contains the American version. It would have been nice to see the Japanese version too. I have never seen that version but apparantly the ending is slightly different with a different victor - I won't say who. Some extras would have been nice. Still, for less than £5 you can't complain too much. It would be nice to see some more classic Godzilla films released over here. But for now you will have to make do with the American or Australian releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I'm sick of Godzilla. I want my own monster! Find me a monster fast!", 11 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
By 1962 Godzilla's career had hit the rocks: he hadn't worked since 1955's Godzilla Raids Again had failed to set the box-office on fire, so it was a lucky break when King Kong animator Willis O'Brien's pitch for King Kong Vs. Frankenstein got picked up by Toho, who decided to give the local boy one more chance. Not only would King Kong Vs. Godzilla be the first time in color and CinemaScope for both beasts, but its popularity would propel a Godzilla revival as he worked his way back up through the ranks of monster mashes to stake his claim as Japan's favorite monster. Sadly, while it may have revived their careers, it's not an especially worthy vehicle for either star. Even in its original Japanese version this was played largely for easy laughs - one character has obviously spent a lot of time studying Edgar Kennedy's mannerisms while another sounds like he's dubbed by Ritzik from Sergeant Bilko ("Ooh! Oooh!"), and that's not mentioning dialogue like "You can't start shooting at Kong now - he's holding my sister in his hand!" or "King Kong can't make a monkey out of us."

The plot is nothing to write home about. After Godzilla breaks free of the ice he was trapped in back in 1955, the head of a pharmaceutical company hoping to market a giant berry with narcotic effects declares "I'm sick of Godzilla. I want my own monster! Find me a monster fast!" Luckily the same remote island the berries come from is the home of King Kong, who is worshipped by a tribe of Japanese actors in blackface speaking pigeon-English. After winning over the natives by giving them cigarettes (even the children), our comical capitalists capture Kong - but not until after he's battled a giant octopus - and plan to ship him back to Japan, which at least means that Kong aficionados finally get to see Kong being towed on the giant raft. Naturally things don't go well: Kong escapes and the two monsters find themselves on a collision course, with Tokyo the initial battleground before moving on to the countryside and a grand finale pepped up (in the US version at least) with earthquake footage from The Mysterians. The fight itself doesn't exactly live up to expectations or its billing as `The Battle of the Century!', but at least it got the big feller back in the game.

There were plans at one point to incorporate stop-motion effects into the film before time and money ruled that out, though judging by the couple of brief and ineffective moments of stop-motion animation in the film that's not a bad thing. Still, there's no hiding the fact that the Kong suit isn't one of Toho's finest achievements - aware that more suspension of disbelief was needed than normal, they used photos of the 1933 Kong to promote the movie. There's also some very clumsy integration of the human characters and the battling monsters, the clumsy color separation and superimposition constantly turning foreground figures into blue silhouettes. The optical printing is reportedly slightly better in the Japanese version but unfortunately the only version available on DVD to non-Japanese audiences is the heavily Americanized version, which not only deletes large chunks of the original and replaces Akiro Ifukube's score with selections from The Creature From The Black Lagoon and other 50s Universal monster movies but also stops the action dead for long stretches with wildly overlong newly shot and very static sequences with Michael Keith's UN reporter and Gig Young impersonator commenting on the action from the studio while Harry Holcombe's dinosaur expert describes Godzilla as a cross between a Tyrannosaurus Rex (which he demonstrates by holding up a picture of an Allosaurus) and a Stegasaurus with a brain the size of a berry. Even the actors can't get up much enthusiasm: when Keith asks "How does that sound in Tokyo?" a deeply unimpressed Japanese newsreader replies "Not very good."

Universal's region-free US Blu-ray release offers a for the most part improved widescreen transfer, though there's a bit of noticeable haloing die to edge enhancement in some shots and some stock footage shots look particularly shoddy when compared to the clarity of the scenes on the island. As with the DVD, it's only the American version with no extras. (The uncut Japanese version has recently been released on DVD in Germany, but does not have English subtitles.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun monster movie, with some great moments, 3 Feb. 2014
Ignoring the shockingly bad DVD transfer, this is one of the most fun godzillas for me, with both beasties smashing up trains and cities, and watching Kong's arms change length throughout. I'm sure there was a bit where Kong swings Godzilla round and round by the tail, but I only saw a snatch of it in this version. Also Kong's face looks terrible in this, as do the blacked-up Japanese island natives. FUN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hacked up version of a decent movie...., 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a horrible edit of a decent, fun cheesie movie. this is the English dubbed version, the Japanese original version (not included in this set) is much better and has great music, this one has been edited so much, they added new scenes with people yapping which drags down the pace, they cut out most of the fight scenes and put in music from other movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews