Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fond look back at the Warrior..., 26 April 2014
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WWE: Ultimate Warrior - The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Watching this in the days after the tragic news of The Ultimate Warrior’s death was in itself an eerie experience  It’s not uncommon to sit down and watch the career highlights of a dead wrestler on a format like this, but rarely is the gap between release date and tragedy so painfully short.  It’s therefore hard to be totally impartial about this collection.  After the WWE’s inflammatory “Self-Destruction” DVD many years ago it was hard to ever imagine a day when Warrior stepped foot in a WWE ring, never mind the day that we saw a “sympathetic” release like this dedicated to him.  But if there is one thing we’ve learned in the past few decades, time can heal a lot of wounds in the wrestling business.  Thankfully these wounds were healed whilst Warrior was still with us.
Warrior always did spilt opinion, and few will be coming to this collection for two/three discs of five-star classic wrestling action, but it does do a good job of capturing the energy and excitement that the Warrior could bring.  The set is a series of what the man himself calls “Warrior Moments”, interspersed with a sit down interview with the man himself.  Warrior is candid, as you might expect, but it would also be very fair to say that there are a number of things he doesn’t really get into, such as the real reasons behind his departures from the WWE.
Other than the two opening matches, a very short Bladerunners squash from UWF and a Dingo Warrior match from WCCW, all bouts on here are from his WWE stint. Of course the first highlights Warrior’s team with the man now known as Sting so its an interesting thing to watch.   Moving onto WWE.  Squash matches with familiar faces Barry Horrowitz and Steve Lombardi are followed by an interesting bout with Harley Race.  Warrior is as complimentary to the “jobbers” as he is to Race.  Far from being the “ungrateful” star you might have been led to believe he was, Warrior is more than willing to give credit where credit is due.
Then it’s arguably the greatest squash match of all time from SummerSlam 1988, as Warrior relieved Honky Tonk Man of the Intercontinental Title.  Simple, but effective.  And boy, was Warrior over.  We get a sneak-peek at what was to come opposite Randy Savage in a February 1989 World Vs IC Champ battle, before another stellar battle with Rick Rude from SummerSlam 1989.  That Warrior had to be “carried” is perhaps inarguable but he still has to get credit for hanging in with the likes of Savage and Rude when he worked with them.  And without his genuine connection with the crowds, none of it would have been possible. Warrior says that he had great times wrestling both of them and tells some funny stories about the “intensity” of Savage throughout this collection.
From there we get a look at his feud with Andre The Giant.  Again if you believe Bobby Heenan from the “Self-Destruction” DVD, Andre hated Warrior.  Here Warrior suggests that the two got on well and notes that if Andre DIDN’T like you, you know about it pretty quickly.  Then we move to his World Title reign.  Seeing the “Crash The Plane” promo is always great fun and for two supposedly “limited” workers, the WrestleMania VI main event against Hulk Hogan is an entertaining spectacle, even today.  We don’t get his good Steel Cage match from SummerSlam 1990 against Rude, but we do get other matches against Rick Rude and the likes of  Ted DiBiase and Sgt. Slaughter before getting to WrestleMania VII, where The Ultimate Warrior “retires” Macho King Randy Savage in an excellent bout.
Warrior is then seen on the Funeral Parlour and in a subsequent bout with The Undertaker before we touch on the Ultimate Maniacs team of Warrior and Savage, complete with a match against Money Inc.  The 1996 return is covered with his squash match victory over HHH from WrestleMania XII and a terrible King of The Ring 1996 bout with Jerry Lawler. We finish with a brief look at his WCW run, with his debut promo being shown.  Warrior admits that once he got there he felt “disgusted” that he had basically gone there for a pay-cheque and soon realised that the only reason he’d been brought in was for Hogan to get his win back.  He ends with another eerie speech, telling us that this is not the end of the story and that there would be more to tell in the future.
Even if you are a “work-rate” fan it would be difficult to dismiss the sheer popularity and excitement that the Warrior could generate in his prime.  Whilst this match misses out some of his finest moments, (such as the SummerSlam 1992 match versus Savage) it’s a comprehensive enough look at the man and the character to make the experience very worth while.  And whilst it is indeed terribly sad that he has passed away so soon after recording this, there’s also the pleasure of at least knowing he got to tell his story the way he wanted to tell it before he passed.
The BluRay extras add five more bouts dating from 1986 to 1996, including a match from WCCW and a six man where he teams with The British Bulldogs to take on Demolition and Mr Fuji. There’s also contract signing segments for WrestleMania VI and VIII as well.  As normal with WWE releases, the extras are probably worth the extra few pounds if you have the technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warrior does it again!!!!, 9 April 2014
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies "film buff." (canterbury, england.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was shocked to hear of this wrestler's untimely demise, he was only inducted into the wwe hall of fame last week and was on wwe raw. This dvd set, I see as being a tribute to the ultimate warrior and what a tribute! the man himself came across well, he wasn't without a sense of humour and told his story with candour, insight and intelligence. I enjoyed the matches, there were about a dozen matches or more that I hadn't seen issued on any format and are gladly welcomed into my wwe wrestling dvd collection.
The first dvd has the warrior talk us through how he got started in the business and showed how young and green he was when his career began. the matches are mainly excellent, with the ones with Andre the Giant and rick rude being amongst the best.
The second dvd was a bit brief but I enjoyed the warrior's matches against Mr. Perfect, Rick Rude, Sgt. Slaughter and Ted Dibiase. classic matches every one of them!
The 3rd disc was a little disappointing, I thought the warrior should have given his version of events as to why he left the company in '91, '92 and '96, especially after the ear-bashing his reputation received in that infamous documentary, "the Self-Destruction of the Ultimate Warrior."
As this set stands, I am mainly satisfied with it and enjoyed seeing more matches from wwe's golden age, when the company had both great performers as well as great characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIP WARRIOR, 5 May 2014
By 
Mr. G. A. Sutherland "GAS74" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It high bloody time that this dvd was released, an absolute must for any Ultimate Warrior fan. I loved it, thank you WWE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power of the Warrior will ALWAYS prevail!, 5 May 2014
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Yet another of wrestling’s greatest and most-beloved legends has departed for that glorious ring in the sky. When I heard about the Ultimate Warrior’s untimely & premature passing, I was like every other wrestling fan; absolutely shocked and deeply saddened.

What made the death of Jim ‘Warrior’ Hellwig so unfathomable was that the weekend prior FINALLY saw him take his rightful place in the WWE Hall of Fame, make his heroic return at WrestleMania XXX, and then address the WWE Universe (or rather his ‘Warriors’) the following night on Raw, delivering a heartfelt (and eerily ironic) speech, thanking his fans and saying that the spirit of the Ultimate Warrior would live forever.

One thing to take solace from this heartbreaking loss is that after years of fighting, Vince McMahon and Warrior were finally able to make peace and the 2014 Hall of Famer’s legacy has been honoured and celebrated the way it SHOULD be. The Warrior’s story has received the happy ending it deserved, so it’s with that content attitude (and desire to pay my respects) that I too purchased Ultimate Warrior: The Ultimate Collection.

Now, everyone doubtless remembers the LAST DVD based on this man; 2005’s infamous Self-Destruction of The Ultimate Warrior. It was without doubt one of WWE Home Video’s most shocking and controversial releases, certainly its most shameless, which saw Vince, Jim Ross, Ted DiBiase and Bobby Heenan (among others) tear down Warrior with such profanity it was unbelievable! However, the DVD was one of my favourites due to its presentation, special-features and summary of Warrior’s career accomplishments. Yes, it was NOTORIOUSLY one-sided, but nevertheless outstanding.

THIS TIME round, Warrior was finally given the chance to tell his side of the story, and before & after the main-programme, he addresses his fans in typical Warrior character. Throughout the feature itself, Jim Hellwig recounts his life & career in a humble, respectful & (ultimately) grateful tone; certainly NOT as the psychotic, disrespectful & self-centred rogue DiBiase and Heenan (for example) labelled him several years back!

The presentation, format and insights from Warrior himself, certainly make this Ultimate Collection feel MUCH more honest & gratifying than its ‘Self-Destruction’ counterpart, but what makes the experience truly positive is that Warrior takes the time to praise all those who worked with him to help get the Ultimate Warrior over; not just legends like Rick Rude, Andre the Giant, Macho Man Randy Savage and (of course) Hulk Hogan, but all the various jobbers who were fed to him to build-up his character. The level of Warrior’s gratitude to those who helped him, his honesty regarding his limitations and the remarkable thought-process behind the development of his character…it all speaks volumes about Jim Hellwig as a person, a talent and a creative genius.

One of the concerns I had about this 3-Disc DVD (admittedly) is if there would be enough material to spread out across the entire set. Warrior being the kind of performer/wrestler he was, technical fanatics obviously won’t find the same depth of rich viewing you’d expect from Ric Flair/Bret Hart/Shawn Michaels DVDs. But while this Ultimate Collection isn’t an overall masterpiece (compared to say the CM Punk and Chris Jericho sets), this production has nevertheless been very well compiled. You’ve got a variety of Warrior squashes, some thrilling matches, some classic ones, all interwoven with some fantastic Warrior promos and segments (amidst the discussions with Jim Hellwig himself). The balance & structure is superb overall, making this set not only a positive portrayal of the Warrior’s legacy, but a worthy one as well.

Matches range from terrible-to-enlightening-to-thrilling-to-legendary. There are many squashes included here (the majority being against jobbers to build-up the Warrior), but the most prominent of these is a fascinating UWF Tag Bout featuring the Bladerunners Tag Team (with Sting) and the spectacular domination of Intercontinental Champion, the Honky Tonk Man (from SummerSlam 1988). Of course, there are much meatier bouts which showcase the potential the Ultimate Warrior had, and how awesome he could compete given the right opponent.

A rare match against Harley Race is a fine example of this, and then the first Warrior classic comes in the form of the fantastic Intercontinental Title Match from SummerSlam 1989 against Rick Rude. Other legendary wars include the epic Career-Ending Match against Randy Savage (perhaps Warrior’s greatest in-ring rival) from WrestleMania 7, and (of course!) the Ultimate Challenge against Hulk Hogan from WrestleMania 6; a spectacular battle-of-the-titans which sees Warrior become the only man to hold both WWE and Intercontinental Championships.

Other highlights include an absolutely thrilling WWE Title defence against Ted DiBiase from Main Event, a lively brawl against Sergeant Slaughter, a hilarious/effective ‘Weasel Suit’ match against Bobby Heenan and some rare, interesting bouts against Andre the Giant and the Undertaker. With regards to promos & segments, some of Warrior’s finest moments are here-to-be-found. Such as Warrior’s intense ‘Crash the Plane’ promo, his shocking WCW Nitro debut, ending Brother Love’s career with decimation, a sinister (and now doubly disturbing) appearance on Paul Bearer’s Funeral Parlour, and absolutely terrific segments with Goldust and Jerry Lawler from 1996.

Alas, it’s not all good. The infamous WrestleMania 12 squash against Hunter Hearst Helmsley (Triple H) is somewhat unnecessary, and the Jerry Lawler bout from King of the Ring 1996 is unfortunate in that it’s a lacklustre affair that fails to live-up to such brilliant hype. A return bout against the Honky Tonk Man drags badly, the classic WWE title match against Savage from SummerSlam 1992 is missing, and it’s disappointing that Warrior doesn’t go into detail over certain issues (i.e. his departures and falling-outs with Vince).

Although a notably flawed release, Ultimate Warrior: The Ultimate Collection remains a terrific collection for fans, and a positive tribute to a man who will be sorely missed. To Warrior’s family, I give my deepest condolences for their loss. To Warrior fans old and new, purchase of this DVD is essential.

Rest in Peace, Ultimate Warrior. Your spirit will indeed live forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEEL THE POWER OF THE ULTIMATE WARRYAAAARRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE: Ultimate Warrior - The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
So after almost two decades of acrimony between Warrior and the WWE, broken bridges were mended and he was finally welcomed back to the company. First came the 2K14 video game and later in April 2014 the blu ray, the hall of fame induction & his final public appearances at WMXXX and Raw. The timing of his death was erie, almost as if once he had finally got the recognition he deserved and the right story had been told his mission was over; It was time to load the spaceship with the rocket fuel and return to parts unknown.

After the smear campaign 'Self Destruction' DVD of 2005, a true career retrospective that did UW justice was long overdue and 'The Ultimate Collection' does just that. What we've got here is about 30 matches, all remastered looking much better than they do on youtube, interspersed with a new interview with Warrior filmed at his home in January of this year as he gives introductions to certain matches or reminisces about other legends such as Macho or Andre. All of UW's greatest matches are here and with a running time of over eight hours you will not be left unsatisfied.

My only gripes were that they could have included a few more promos (They were a big part of what defined UW, I think there are only about 5-6 in total throughout) and that some noteworthy matches are strangely absent;- Rude v Warrior (WMV), Losing the belt to Sgt Slaughter, The Papa Shango feud, Macho v Warrior SS 92, more of his 1996 matches and the admittedly crap yet still iconic WCW Hogan rematch etc etc. It would be nice to see a volume 2 that had this stuff & the HOF speech perhaps narrated by Dana Warrior?

Overall this is an Awesome collection packed with some of the greatest wrestling matches of all time. Ultimate Warrior was a true wresting legend and icon;- an absolute beast in the ring, underrated in his in-ring abilities and with more charisma and intensity in his little finger than half of the current WWE roster. Rest in Power ULTIMATE WAARRYAAARRRR!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete but still good., 5 May 2014
By 
S. Young (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE: Ultimate Warrior - The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had waited years for this dvd. After the WW(e) slated Warrior personally and professionally on The Self Destruction dvd, I was so pleased they were putting the record straight. Its not perfect, I would have preferred other guys speaking on the documentary other than just Warrior himself. The matches are incomplete, there is no Summerslam 92 match where he main evented against Macho Man. The Papa Shango feud is completely ignored and the Saturday Nights Main Event match which featured Warrior tagging with Hogan Vs Mr Perfect and The Genius was an important match. He also tagged with Legion of Doom against Demolition on an edition of SNME, so set is missing quite a bit. Jobber matches are here but that was key to his rise in popularity, everyone lived how Warrior steamrolled in the ring, destroying his opponent in seconds. I've still given the set 5 stars because the content is still fantastic and very entertaining if you're a fan. It has some rare matches such as against Macho King in a cage and the body bag match Vs The Undertaker so worth the price. Still comming to terms Warrior is gone, just a two days after his Hall of Fame appearance and one day after appearing on Raw for the first time in 18 years. R.I.P. Big man. Waiting for the second volume to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope they bring out a volume 2!, 1 May 2014
By 
M. Bazell (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought this was great. Some good matches, most of which I had never seen. Would like to see another volume come out because there are so many matches that did not make this one;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Believe in the power of the ULTIMATE WARRIOR, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE: Ultimate Warrior - The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fantastic blu ray of a great wrestler. The way he talks on the set is so candid and genuine unlike how other wrestlers depict him. Shame his life was cut short so close after having a been inducted to the hall of fame just as he still had more to give . This collection is 10 times better than the self destruction dvd which was full of back stabbing and B.S. Granted some matches are short but there fun to watch and the stories behind them make up for it. While watching this set i was a ten year old kid again cheering for my hero. Some big matches are missing, but most are here Hogan WM6 Savage WM7 Rude SS89. Hopefully wwe will be a second release with the ones not included here plus many more of his rarely seen matches.
R.I.P WARRIOR MAN thank you for the many happy memories this collection gave me and thank you for the enjoyment I had as a child growing up watching you wrestle I Will ALWAYS BELIEVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars re living my childhood, 12 April 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got to say I never thought this dvd would come out with the WWE logo on it. The Warrior has always been my favorite wrestler. This DVD is the way I would like to remember the Worrior. I did meet James Helwig at the Wrestle-slam in Manchester. Lets just say I was not such a fan after the meeting. However I am happy he buried all his hatchets. Like I said this is the way I would like to remember the Unlimate Warrior. Explosive, adrilinin pumping, and just the right touch of crazy. The only way I can describe the Warrior's impact on wrestling in his time period was like watching disney cartoons then suddenly been introduced to Munga and anime. Thats who the warrior character was a cartoon/comic character come to life. True his style probably would not fit into style of wrestling of today. However there are a number of things todays wrestlers have taken from the Warrior's style. Todays wrestlers are not just big and in shape but neet the speed and agility to go along with it. The there are moves like the People's Elbow, which is a slowed down version of Warrior's big splash, and Goldberg's spear is a ground version of the flying shoulder block.

The DVD is done in the same style of Bret Harts dungeon collection with The Warrior introducing each match and segment. The first disc is Warrior's career. Then a number of squash matches. The thing you have to rember is at the time there was no RAW to feed into the soap opera that is wrestling, the Superstars would squash the non superstars. Now you are a superstar by getting into the WWE and the superstars fight each other. Back then I had to wait for the main events for this to happen. The biggest matches on this disc where a couple of matches against Randy Savage, Ravishing Rick Rude and Andre the Giant.

Disc 2 contains, Warrior's setup to Wrestlemania 6, good match with Mr Perfect, the title for title match match with Hulk Hogan, Rick Rude, and Sargent Slaughter. These are probobly the biggest matches of the Warrior's career. The time he was at the top of the business.

Disc 3 starts Warrior fude with Randy Savage ending with their career ending match. Then Warrior's many dissappearences and returnes including his WCW segment. I am glad Warrior was inducted into the hall of fame, being a former world chamipon it is only right. Terrible news about his death. I wish his family all well and my humble prayers. I really hope this DVD collection goes towards the Warrior being remembered in a good light. I hope this reminds people of his legecy, and make atlest a financial contabution to his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE: Ultimate Warrior - The Ultimate Collection [Blu-ray]
£32.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews