Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the complete Nymph()maniac (to be released later in 2014)
It was quite the surprise when my local art-house theater here in Cincinnati recently announced that it would be showing this (both Vol. I and II), starting this weekend and only for one week. I saw Vol. I and Vol. II on consecutive, and have posted my reviews of each of them under the separate Vol. I and Vol. II listings here on Amazon.

This particular combo...
Published 5 months ago by Paul Allaer

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crass ending
I thought that I was going to be singing this films praises because I loved it right up until then end. What happened? A film that seemed to subvert societies preconceived ideas about sex and sexuality ended up following societies preconceived ideas. The ending made me mad that I had wasted so much time watching this film. Lars von Trier obviously didn't want to give the...
Published 4 months ago by D. Scott Morris


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the complete Nymph()maniac (to be released later in 2014), 16 July 2014
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nymphomaniac Vol. I & Vol. II (2 Disc DVD) (DVD)
It was quite the surprise when my local art-house theater here in Cincinnati recently announced that it would be showing this (both Vol. I and II), starting this weekend and only for one week. I saw Vol. I and Vol. II on consecutive, and have posted my reviews of each of them under the separate Vol. I and Vol. II listings here on Amazon.

This particular combo set brings you the two Volumes in one handy package. Vol. I runs 118 min. and Vol. II runs 123 min, hence the total running time for this combo-pack is correctly listed at 241 min. There are no bonus materials of any kind on this release. If that is what you are intending to buy, by all means, go for it.

However, if you think you've seen all of Nymph()maniac with these two movies, you are mistaken. Nymph()maniac was originally shot as a 5 1/2 hr. movie. For various reasons, Von Trier's production company decided to release the movie into most international markets (including US theatres) as a two-parter of 2 hrs. each, with the intent of releasing the full 5/12 hr. movie at some point later in 2014 (presumably directly on DVD/Bly-ray), and supposedly with lots more explicit scenes deemed too daring for the theatrical release.

Bottom line: just make sure that what you are buying is in line with your expectations. If you just want Nymph()maniac Vol. I and II as you saw it in the theater, this combo-pack will do the trick. If however you want the full running time as originally intended by writer-director Lars Von Trier, you should hold out until that "Director's Cut" is released (supposedly) later in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 Feb 2014
Obviously I saw this at the cinema not the bluray so I can only speak of the film, please ignor the mass of bad reviews this is getting and give it a try, I really enjoyed it, it is long, it is painful to watch and drains you, but that's the idea, a lot of people are going to see this thinking it will be something it isn't and never could be, it is not a 4 hour non-stop polished Hollywood blockbuster, it is an experience, it will grab you by the balls one minute and the next plant a seed of an idea in your head and give you time to explore it.
Please give it a try bit don't think this is your 50 shades of grey feature film come early!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars XXX (=X-uberant, X-hilarating, X-istential), 27 Jun 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
With all the hype built up around its release, one's first thought would be that this is just glorified porn. But "Nymphomaniac" truly is far from being anything pornographic. Split into 2 parts (Volume I-118 mins, and Volume II-124 mins), and divided into 8 chapters (Chapters 1-5 make up Volume I, and Chapters 6-8 make up Volume II), the film follows Joe (Charlotte Gainsbourg), a woman in her fifties, a self-diagnosed sex maniac, spining a tale about her sex life from childhood through to her middle-age.

Unfolding a series of flash-backs, Volume I recounts Joe's vigorous childhood and youthful erotic experiences, while Volume II contemplates her desires against the overpowering pressures and constraints of adulthood. Taking in the whole of the singular human experience, including the body and the mind, sex and love, and all the connections between them, in the end the story comes full circle, almost as if it were a thought-provoking psychological insight into a world of sexuality, loneliness, and love.

Director Lars Von Trier, as the passionate, creative film-maker that he is, once again overflows his self righteous, controversial views into his work, not worrying about how outrageous these may be. Being mostly narrative and drama, the movie contains about 20 minutes of sexual material throughout the entire 4 hours, featuring some explicit adult scenes. Some may find these depictions erotic, but this material is relatively restrained, and so is unlikely to offend anyone, especially those familiar with the director's work.

Obviously not an easy film to watch, but a very interesting one which requires close attention and an open mind. Complex, dark, raw, repellent, stimulating, lyrical, shocking, intelligent, often hilarious, occasionally exhausting, "Nymphomaniac" is simply not the pornographic epic that the press have been claiming to be. Rich in content, depth and imagery, it is a movie for adults, but not in the sense mostly associated with this term. X-cellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece!, 29 July 2014
A brilliantly thought through movie portraying the natur and difficulties of the life of a female nymphomaniac. An old man finds a woman in an alley way. When she refuses medical attention and for the man to alert the police, he invites her back to his place where the woman starts telling the man about how she ended up in the alley way by revealing different episodes of her life, explaining who she is and chronologically portraying her life up to the current time. The old man listens to her life stories with sympathy and with an open mind, referring her stories to his knowledge of life which is of an intellectual character. The film is very verbal and visual and will be offensive for some viewers. The movie provokes several different feelings and provokes moral understanding in a very clever way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly adults only, 26 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nymphomaniac Vol. I & Vol. II (2 Disc DVD) (DVD)
A woman called Joe is found beat up in an alley and taken home by a man who cares for her. While she recovers from her wounds she tells him her shocking life story. A film in 2 parts, not a film for everyone, in fact if you are easily offended, squeemish and prudish my advice would be to steer clear but if you can stomach it you will be rewarded with one of the best and most powerful films of the year. Lots of strong sex and bad language and strictly adults only with a superb performance from newcomer Stacy Martin with good support from Stellan Skaarsgard, Shia Labeouf, Willem Dafoe, Uma Thurman, Christian Slater and Charlotte Gainsbourg as the older Joe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHERE IS THE UNCUT VERSION PROMISED BY THE DIRECTOR?, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Peter M "cinerama" (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
The director has promised to release the full ( 5 HOUR?) version so why buy this version. Let us wait for the director's cut which contains much hard core sex missing from the cinema released version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crass ending, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nymphomaniac Vol. I & Vol. II (2 Disc DVD) (DVD)
I thought that I was going to be singing this films praises because I loved it right up until then end. What happened? A film that seemed to subvert societies preconceived ideas about sex and sexuality ended up following societies preconceived ideas. The ending made me mad that I had wasted so much time watching this film. Lars von Trier obviously didn't want to give the ending that the film seemed to be heading towards but to me the ending was unbelievable and followed what an unenlightened mind think would happen. I'm not for happy endings but neither am I for unbelievable endings where someone does something that is totally out of character ( unless you are small minded ) with how they have behaved throughout the rest of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nymphets, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nymphomaniac Vol. I & Vol. II (2 Disc DVD) (DVD)
Exhausting thats what a nymphomaniac does to you drains you, movie does not drain you though just enjoy its magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 18 Dec 2014
Self indulgent and boring as hell, drags and drags, waste of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 10 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Strip away the nudity and its a very poor irrelevant movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nymphomaniac Vol. I & Vol. II (2 Disc DVD)
Nymphomaniac Vol. I & Vol. II (2 Disc DVD) by Lars von Trier (DVD - 2014)
£7.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews