Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-review
I have just finished this book for the umpteenth time.
Forget the fact that the Soviet Union no longer exists, rewind your brain to a time when the threat was very real and saviour the exquisite storytelling.
Without having to wory about the threads that run through all of the "Jack Ryan", "Op-Centre" or other series, Clancy is free to...
Published on 25 Jun. 2002 by N SMITH

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Intial optimism turns to deep disappointment
Nice premise for a book but oh dear this book is so biased towards america I got sick of it..in almost all of the combat situations the good old USA came out best whilst the Russians were made to look like third rate inept idiots whose equipment and men you are made to feel as though they couldn't hit a barn door .I got to the point of were I really couldn't be interested...
Published 9 months ago by Tim M.


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-review, 25 Jun. 2002
By 
N SMITH (NUNEATON, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
I have just finished this book for the umpteenth time.
Forget the fact that the Soviet Union no longer exists, rewind your brain to a time when the threat was very real and saviour the exquisite storytelling.
Without having to wory about the threads that run through all of the "Jack Ryan", "Op-Centre" or other series, Clancy is free to concentrate all of his abilities on this one story. The action is fast flowing and the attention to procedure and detail is as accurate as ever.
For me personally, the strongest testament to this book is; even though I have read it several times, I still found myself unable to put it down at 03:00hrs and go to bed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, if dated, World War III epic., 25 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
Red Storm Rising broke new ground as it was the first time in literature that World War III was depicted without the use of nuclear weapons (though it comes close). This was the first Clancy book I ever read and I thought it brilliant. The characters are great, the battle scenes are vivid and tense, the intrigue well thought out.
The NATO-Warsaw Pact scenario has obviously dated, but there are moments in the book that betray its age - the F-19, speculation about the Victor-III subs pod, and the way the MiG-29s are described (the description is of the old artist conceptions before the plane was publicly unveiled). Being a Brit, I found the portrayal of the British characters were close to being comical and stereotypical. The same goes for the Norwegian sub captain, and French and German characters. The climax is pretty good, but it came across a little rushed.
Rather brilliantly though, the book, despite its mammoth length, rarely falters in pace. Just when it seems to be slowing down, we'll jump to another scene and it'll pick up again.
Personally I prefer this book to most of the Jack Ryan novels. I noticed some reviewers accused this of being jingoistic. There's no real flagwaving going on here, unlike the Ryan books. And the Americans aren't always perfect. One Admiral's arrogance results in the sinking of several ships including a French aircraft carrier, and the USS Saipan with 2000 Marines onboard. Later, "Beagle's" reported sightings of Soviet fighters on Iceland are registered as "unconfirmed" resulting in a disastrous bombing raid which sees several B-52s getting shot down by MiG-29s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely awesome, 18 Nov. 2006
By 
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
I've read this book at least 5 times over the years. Granted i'm a big Clancy and technothriller fan but i've never come across another book to match this in this genre.

The premise (as you've no doubt read on other reviews) is that because of a terrorist attack the USSR is left with a huge energy shortfall so decides to take the power it needs. Basically this causes world war 3.

Mr Clancy has an undoubted plethora of knowledge concerning military tactics and technology and he puts this to good work in this novel.

You're taken across Europe, Iceland, parts of Russia, the Atlantic in these pages. You're presented with main characters in the theatre's of operation, both 'goodies' and 'baddies'. These characters are explained very well and you get to know them insomuch as to understand their drives and motivations.

One major thing i liked is that whilst USA forces take up most of the pages you're never left with the feeling that it's the usual "here we come to save the day" way of writing, the other allied forces arn't belittled and viewed as needing to be saved by America.

The battle scenes be it in the air, at sea or on the land are the best i've read from any author and i read a lot of technothriller books.

This is the best Clancy book out there by far.

Very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the word "Great" is an understatement, 2 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
This book is simply the best thing I've ever read regarding possible WWIII scenarios. It describes in detail all the elements from politics down to military logistics, and not far sought either. Just read it, don't hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, yet frustrating. Brilliant, yet annoying., 9 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
I have returned to this novel several times. Every few years I dig it out, dust it off and read it from cover to cover in a matter of days. It is an absolutely fantastic read if you like warfare novels, and yet....

The entire premis of the story is fairly believable so I can run with the whole reason for WWIII, if not with a bit of a nagging doubt. I love the way the story moves from the intel, ground, air and navy theatres and it simply never gets boring. If youve ever played Harpoon (The naval sim) then the book is like that, multi dimensional (no ground war in early Harpoon though.)

However, I am no stranger to Russia or Russian people and sadly Mr Clancy seems to view them through the fog of the Iron curtain as a bit two dimensional. Some are no better than Bond villains, others are nicely presented with background info that brings them to life but they are simply too cliche. The frequent use of "comrade" is simply too much, I cant recall ever hearing anyone say the word in Russia in the late nineties without it being done tongue in cheek, its antiquated and reads as an anachronism. But forgivable as it merely reminds the reader of who the enemy is. The Brits say "old chap", the Germans throw in a "Ja" and so on. No-one is ordinary, even the weatherman officer from the USAF at Iceland ends up being some kind of GI Joe, killing people with a knife, falling in love with the girl he saves and yomping alongside Royal Marines, because he did some track running etc. Things just dont add up.

The first two thirds of the book are fantastic with NATO responding to Soviet tactics and gradually learning but war is not a simply act, react, learn, win scenario. The Soviets seem to keep using the same tactics, all the Russian subs do the wrong thing, turning into torpedoes, making daft mistakes etc. Some clever ones are thrown in for good measure but even they are finally brought to book. Two helicopters and two frigates kill several soviet subs in mid atlantic in a few hours. When the tides are reversed and several NATO subs go close in to the Soviet coast to launch missiles, one is slightly damaged and despite constant reminders of it being noisy and slow, nothing the Soviets do seems to come close to taking it out. The decks become so ludicrously stacked in NATO's favour, not by realistic means but just by a tap of the writers fingers. The number of "it just so happens" and "luckily", "but the Russian skipper made a simple error" and so forth (not verbatim but the gist of whats going on) always get me to the point that I am skipping a page or a paragraph and saying out loud, "Oh yeah right!! as if!" I'm British and to find myself by the last third of the book willing the Soviets to blow NATO subs out of the water, sink a few US hero's and blow the cack out of a few NATO divisions takes some goading! Why do I find myself rooting for the enemy? Because Mr Clancy cant help wrapping himself in the flag and swatting away any suggestion of reality. We are constantly reminded of things such as the danger of a small team moving around the countryside of Iceland with Russian patrols about, then a Russian outpost is crept by, a helicopter spotting a man and woman in the middle of nowhere in the middle of a war, merely hover over them and buy the ruse that they are lovers out doing a bit of fishing. NATO is down to its reserves and is stretched to breaking point, desperately needing reinforcements from the U.S, then the Germans miraculously counter attack with two brigades that seem to have been sneakily put on the advancing Soviet flank. Russian planes and helicopters are stealthily taken out by low flying, undetected phantoms, yet no explanation of how the Russians were spotted taking off and going nap of the earth. Abrams tanks take hits that bounce off, T80's brew up every time at the first hit. It becomes too much. The first clue I had that this was going to be a bit daft in parts was when a Spetznas officer is knocked down by a car, is seen to be taken away in an Ambulance and then spills the beans on where many commando groups will hit, where the safe houses are etc. He is seen to be knocked down and taken, as it were, by another commando who then appears to do nothing about it. Surely common sense at least would have a change of plan to negate any possible info spillage, if nothing less than a man babbling in Russian in his delirium whilst in Hospital. "Doctor, that bloke just talked in his unconcious delirium about being a command after an airfield." "Best call the cops." Ludicrous? Yes but still an appreciable risk for which surely the commandos would make steps to negate, just in case. But no, they stay in their safe house, the germans surround it, they make their move and are shot by a tank!

However, dont let it put you off as taken as a whole, if you can ignore the apple pie and uncle sam, the good old boy, the ja and comrade, the flag waving and the just so happens, then this is one absolutely cracking read. I heartily reccommend this book. Buy it. You will read it again and again. But occasionally you might throw it across the room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most intelligent thriller ever written?, 16 Oct. 2003
By 
G. T. A. Browne "black_marlin84" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
Let's get one thing straight right away, shall we? There can be no ambiguity. Red Storm Rising is the best book of its type ever written.
It is not a pure technothriller. The Hunt for Red October (by Clancy) and The Flight of the Old Dog (by Dale Brown) are pure technothrillers, in that they run convergent with reality. They still make sense when viewed retrospectively.
Red Storm Rising is trapped by circumstance. World War Three never took place, so this a technofantasy rather than a technothriller. Having said that, this is a beautifully realised fantasy. There are the intricate machinations we have come to expect of Clancy. His understanding of the world he envisages would impress JRR Tolkien. But best of all, he never allows the larger ramifications of the war to eclipse the human tragedies of his protagonists.
Moving fluidly through a variety of theatres (Iceland, Germany, the North Atlantic, the Barents Sea) and a variety of warfighting scenarios, Clancy demonstrates a thorough understanding of his subject matter. He displays the same depth of knowledge one would of expect of an Ivy League professor, but he never allows us to be overwhelmed by the technicalities. In doing so he strikes the most delicate possible balance--he adds enough details to add verisimilitude, but not enough to swamp the streamlined lines of his plot.
Terry Pratchett has seen this as a weakness of the genre. He speaks of books 'a thousand pages thick and crammed with weapons specifications,' but Clancy enhances rather than detracts with his research. Although he has not always been successful (The Sum of all Fears springs immediately to mind) in this case he pulls it off magnificently. Two chapters in particular come to mind: 'The Frisbees of Dreamland' describes the first retaliatory NATO airstrike over Germany to destroy the bridges allowing the Russian advance; and 'The Dance of the Vampires,' which is probably the best piece of naval fiction written since Hornblower. It is worth saying that the scene in the film The SUm of all Fears in which the aircraft carrier is attacked is probably drawn from this chapter.
I mentioned earlier that Clancy's characterisation is particularly good in this novel. Again, two scenes come to mind. The moment on the USS Chicago where intelligence expert Bob Toland first realises what is going on, and the last stand of the Icelandic Marines as they shelter on their hilltop from Russian mortar-fire.
Red Storm Rising is the epic of the genre. It is probably the best war-story ever written. Would-be authors take note: these are the heights to dream of reaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clancy's Finest Hour, 16 July 2007
By 
ccto (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
Put simply, in my opinion this is Tom Clancy's best book. If you're a fan of techno-war-thrillers, this is an outstanding example of the genre.

Many tales take you to the brink of global warfare then pull back at the last moment, but this story plunges you right into the unthinkable conflict that is WWIII. It is honestly the only book I've been so engrossed in during my commute that I've missed my stop for work on the train!

As another reviewer has pointed out, this is not a Jack Ryan novel. Having no Jack Ryan means there is no single focal point, but it is precisely for this reason that I feel this is Clancy's best work - the scene shifts effortlessly from one set of characters and confrontations to the next without having to pull back to Ryan's own moral compass. You also never know who is 'indespensible' and who is not - after all, while Jack Ryan is always in trouble, you know he's not going to be killed off don't you!

Red Storm Rising is a head-spinning, exhausting epic in the truest sense of the word. I can't believe they'll ever make a film of this, the scope is too grand and the detail too rich to be effectively transferred to screen. If you're a Clancy fan who hasn't read this, what are you waiting for? If you're not a fan, you may well be after reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 28 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
I first read this many years ago and it is one of the only books I have read more than once. This is simply the best book I have ever read. Totally gripping and full of action but not devoid of interesting characters. The battle scenes kept me completely enthralled and the authors tactical descriptions are excellent (some may have been copied for use in real life conflicts). This war story is not all blood and gore. Clever tactical plays made by both sides aid the realism as does the occassional fall of luck. If you don't read anything else by Tom Clancy read this. I think I may just go and read it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pass me another copy, this ones worn out!!!!, 24 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
I've read this over and over again and still find it a riveting read, even down to getting the maps out to study the scenarios as they unfold. GET THE BOOK - IT'S A MASTERPIECE! Mr Clancy is slowly but surely filling up my bookshelf. Here is story line that grips you from start to finish. You find yourself cheering when the 'enemy' gets hit and mad when they hit back. Somehow you wish it could be made into a film. Is there a computer game to go with this?
To finish off, this book is my No.1 favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Clancy at its best, 1 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Red Storm Rising (Paperback)
Red Storm Rising is, in my opinion, the best Clancy's book ever. The build-up of the plot, the tactical warfare depicted, the political intrigues and the gripping action will not let you put this book down easily.
The only annoyance I found is maybe too extensive description of the Iceland party voyage, but nonetheless the book is awesome. And don't be misled by the dissapearance of the USSR, the book is as readable now as it was when appeared.
I've read the book four times now, and every time I enjoy to find many "subplots" wavered into the story. Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews