Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well worked novel
A great read and I was sorry when it came to an end, I hadn't heard of the author before and found the story fascinating and totally absorbing. I liked the format of the story and it was written with a real depth of knowledge of the subjects. I could see this story as a film or made for television mini series.
I totally recommend "The Pain of Silence"..............a...
Published 17 months ago by Bookworm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Who was where & when?
Started well but eventually began to lose the will to continue. The flashbacks between characters & timeframes became confusing.
By the end I had lost track of who was who & where they were in time.
Published 13 months ago by Andy Pell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well worked novel, 28 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Paperback)
A great read and I was sorry when it came to an end, I hadn't heard of the author before and found the story fascinating and totally absorbing. I liked the format of the story and it was written with a real depth of knowledge of the subjects. I could see this story as a film or made for television mini series.
I totally recommend "The Pain of Silence"..............a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this story, based on real lives, the format made it easy to follow and as it progressed I realised how many of the events applied to my own family. Not to one or two individuals as in the story, but the marriage of a young girl to a Canadian serviceman during WW1,that ended in disaster, a marriage performed for the the sake of respectability where the bride and groom did not actually live together, the death of a child with a disability, the social upheaval but optimism following WW2- I could go on. Perhaps this is the story of most families and as an amateur family historian I certainly know much more about ours now than I did fifteen years ago. The completion of the tale was a little sad but in this age of small families, often living continents apart, it predicted the plight of many I suspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pain of Silence, 20 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Paperback)
A riveting,classy read. I was enthralled and involved in all the nuances of this couples intercontinental meanderings. The author has related an intimate lifetime of intense feelings and experiences, at a time of Victorian values, with a depth of empathy and integrity. Moving and stranger than fiction. Honest without being gushing. I could feel the authors angst as well as the couple themselves. If you haven't read this yet, you are missing a treat, I recommend it and will look for this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in a long time, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Paperback)
Such a fantastic read, it had me gripped from start to finish and was sad when it ended. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant read that takes you back in time and gives you a great insight into the lives of normal people. Very emotional and well worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent first novel, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Paperback)
A fascinating true story. Very moving. I couldn't put it down and was enthralled with the unravelling of the life story of a fascinating family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely absorbing read, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Paperback)
This book is written sensitively and draws the reader in to the lives of Esther and Henry.
I couldn't put it down. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first book., 2 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating book. I couldn't believe it was a true story. The format made it easy to read and to follow. Very accomplished for a first book. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a roller coaster of an emotional read., 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Kindle Edition)
This is an intriguing story with many unexpected twists and turns.
It is based on a true story which makes it even more astounding
and heart rending. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pain of Silence (Kindle Edition)
Don't usually read this type of book but this is amazing definitely recommend it to everyone. It is brilliantly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pain of Silence
The Pain of Silence by Alicia Bailey
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews