Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality and Super Bright
Only a very few years ago, torches of this size using 2 x CR123 batteries or equivalent would put out about a quarter as much light as this.

Very nicely made, compact and sporting a wide range of outputs from ultra low moonlight mode to an amazing 1000+ lumens which has to be seen to be believed. The low setting is fine for indoors, medium great for outdoors...
Published 7 months ago by rommels cat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tn12 woes
I want to start off by saying I love ThruNite and own two of their other torches, why two stars then?
Because 4 days after owning this it rolled off of my lap and broke...
Though this thing oozes quality, the machining and engineering is impeccable at such a low price! Fantastically powerful with adequate accessories and mode options. It is advertised as being...
Published 3 months ago by Oliver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality and Super Bright, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ThruNite® TN12 Tactical LED Flashlight: #1 Best Value Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED 5 Versatile Modes Waterproof to IPX-8 (Sports)
Only a very few years ago, torches of this size using 2 x CR123 batteries or equivalent would put out about a quarter as much light as this.

Very nicely made, compact and sporting a wide range of outputs from ultra low moonlight mode to an amazing 1000+ lumens which has to be seen to be believed. The low setting is fine for indoors, medium great for outdoors leaving high and "turbo" for when you really need a lot of light. Despite the small head/reflector, it can throw its beam a good distance. The supplied pouch and lanyard are useful too.

On the downside, Lithium batteries are expensive to buy, and if you use rechargeables need extra handling precautions and a special charger, and there are now several options of torches using 4x AA batteries, which although chunkier, can pretty much match this light's performance. Size for size though, nothing can currently match lithium power.

It must also be said that the current price on Amazon (£36) is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you will be absolutely amazed at how such a small torch can produce so ..., 8 Aug 2014
By 
S. Johnston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ThruNite® TN12 Tactical LED Flashlight: #1 Best Value Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED 5 Versatile Modes Waterproof to IPX-8 (Sports)
I've had loads of torches throughout my life, but none costing over £10, so I'm no expert, but this thing is unbelievable!

There are loads of reviews on YouTube, but you have to really see it for yourself to appreciate how much light the TN12 kicks out. Unless you're a torch geek, you will be absolutely amazed at how such a small torch can produce so much light. It feels really well made, a big step up from my usual cheapos.

Despite that, I can imagine some people being disappointed by the throw (length of spotlight beam). It does go a long way, but there are better choices around if sheer distance is your goal. This is a general purpose, everyday torch, not a search and rescue spotlight.

If you can't justify spending this much on a torch, I'd highly recommend these cheapo numbers, much better than you would expect for the price, and cheap enough to buy a few so you've always got one around: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B006E0QAFY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ThruNite® TN12 Tactical LED Flashlight: #1 Best Value Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED 5 Versatile Modes Waterproof to IPX-8 (Sports)
A stunning flashlight. I would go as far as far as saying that the TN12 (2014) is the best bargain in flashlights in the UK at the moment via the Thrunite store.

It possesses an exemplary finish, and a beam that is easily a match for it’s more expensive rivals from Nitecore and Fenix. The case is also well above average.

Yes, you could query why the finish on the clip is different from the torch. I would also have preferred both the firefly and low modes to have been a little higher, but this is nitpicking.

The bottom line is simple: get this light, buy a quality charger - such as the Xtar VP1 – and two 3100 mAh 18650 batteries and you have a bargain combination and foothold in the high-end of flashlights for about £85.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality performance, 16 July 2014
This review is from: ThruNite® TN12 Tactical LED Flashlight: #1 Best Value Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED 5 Versatile Modes Waterproof to IPX-8 (Sports)
This is a wonderful edc torch packed with pleasing features that make this great value.

Small enough to carry in a pocket and powerful enough to throw a beam a decent distance. Momentary on with a very low moonlight mode make this ideal for finding things in a tent without disturbing others asleep.

The side switch to change modes is easy to use to change the five modes with a one second hold giving a blinding strobe.

Comes with a sturdy holster, lanyard and stainless steel pocket clip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very powerful, you need this, 14 Jun 2014
By 
James Burnwood "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ThruNite® TN12 Tactical LED Flashlight: #1 Best Value Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED 5 Versatile Modes Waterproof to IPX-8 (Sports)
Very well made EDC style torch/flashlight. Tail stands. Comes with a clip and could fit in a winter coat pocket or jacket. I'm using the torch with cr123 batteries which can be bought quite cheaply online.

It's a good fit in the hand with the mode changing button being where your thumb naturally is when holding the light. The on/off button is at the rear and is also momentary on. Forward clicky. There are six settings, moonlight, low, medium, High, Very High and the strobe which activates when holding down the mode switch button for a second. It's not part of the mode changing rotation.

The very high setting is not a burst mode, it will stay on there. Naturally the head of the light starts to heat up within seconds in the highest mode (1050 lumens) and high (800lumens). I find the medium mode is a good general very bright setting (280 Lumens) and use it most of the time.

Really glad I bought this, as it has a good range of brightness levels for most if not all situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ThruNite® TN12 Tactical LED Flashlight: #1 Best Value Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED 5 Versatile Modes Waterproof to IPX-8 (Sports)
Really great flashlight and good price nice modes really bright definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tn12 woes, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I want to start off by saying I love ThruNite and own two of their other torches, why two stars then?
Because 4 days after owning this it rolled off of my lap and broke...
Though this thing oozes quality, the machining and engineering is impeccable at such a low price! Fantastically powerful with adequate accessories and mode options. It is advertised as being able to survive a 1.5 meter drop, and it didn't.
Very impressed with the torch but not with it's durability.
Try the Archer 1c or Ti2, they are both amazing torches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright bright bright!!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an incredible flashlight for the money. A good solid well made body, perfect size for the pocket or belt, using the supplied belt clip or pouch. The lowest setting at first seemed pointlessly low, however, it proved ideal for close hand work and reading, and will last ages! The highest setting is around the stated lumen output and the light is of great quality and consistency. It also has a flat tailcap so can be stood upright for a candle effect. All in all, top quality, top value, can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not look directly into it!, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Matthew - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ThruNite® TN12 Tactical LED Flashlight: #1 Best Value Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED 5 Versatile Modes Waterproof to IPX-8 (Sports)
This is a Maglite on Steroids. Absurdly powerful, very economical on batteries, and is small enough to fit in any corner of your bag, or in the supplied belt holster. Lovely little bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sunlight in your hand, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ThruNite® TN12 Tactical LED Flashlight: #1 Best Value Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED 5 Versatile Modes Waterproof to IPX-8 (Sports)
This torch is truly a hand held sun and the light output is amazing. I originally bought the 'neutral white' version of this torch but I didn't like the warm, yellowish light it put out, so I returned it and bought the cool white version. Oh and you know you have a powerful torch when chavs on the park are shouting at you from half a mile away that it is blinding them, but you can't hear them until you get closer lol

I was debating about giving this 4 stars due to the charger and battery costing as much as the torch itself, but I suppose that is the price you have to pay for such a powerful torch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews