Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden oldies stand the test of time
I first heard this album on vinyl over 25 years ago and I am delighted that it is available on CD. In my opinion, it represents the very best of the Planxty years and still vibrates with musical passion and dexterity. It is an essential addition to any folk collection for fans of Irish music.
Published on 8 Nov 2001 by Mrs. PJ Taylor

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars so great to have a cd
vinyl copy worn out. so great to have a cd .
Published 26 days ago by keith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden oldies stand the test of time, 8 Nov 2001
By 
Mrs. PJ Taylor (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard this album on vinyl over 25 years ago and I am delighted that it is available on CD. In my opinion, it represents the very best of the Planxty years and still vibrates with musical passion and dexterity. It is an essential addition to any folk collection for fans of Irish music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 22 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's taken me over 20 years to reacquire this gem on cd but it certainly was worth it. There are only 2 criticisms which one can level at this work. Firstly it hasn't been remastered, and I'm sure it would benefit from a sympathetic and technically proficient engineer's work. Secondly, as with all Planxty's albums, the cd "booklet" is minimalist -no lyrics- no photos-etc....The music however is another story. This is part of the absolute peak of the Irish "folk" output of the 1970s. The singing courtesy of Andy Irvine and Christy Moore is flawless, and their musicianship combined with Donal Lunny and Liam O'Flynn is equally brilliant. An essential album in my view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar, 31 Jan 2008
If you are at all interested in Irish music and don't know where to start then this album is for you. The members of Planxty read like a who's who of Irish folk music.

I heard this album almost 30 years ago and when the whole band kick into the third track starting with 'The Kid On The Mountain' it never fails to get my foot tapping.

This album is like the Irish 'Dark Side Of The Moon'..everyone should own a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 17 Sep 2008
By 
M. W. Hall "just_martin" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album must be thirty years old or more. But, what does that matter? A lot of the songs are older than that by far, the haunting title track for example. The interplay of the musicians, especially on the instrumentals is intricate and all of them are at the top of their game. This is timeless music and a timeless recording. Give your ears a treat, then go and buy the live reunion CD to hear that they still have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD and has all the tracks on from the original record plus bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first Planxty, 17 Nov 2013
I remember buying this when I was nobutt a lass. It was my first album by Planxty and I loved it. I still love their sound and was lucky enough to see Andy Irvine live a few years ago. That was very special as I don't live in a large town and so get few chances to hear live performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would like more info on line with details of the tracks on the CD prior to purchase., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would like more info on line with details of the tracks on the CD prior to purchase. It would guide purchases, however, Planxty are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars graham cole, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a cracking album from the masters of irish music. every track is great but just love the pipe tracks. id love to go to Ireland to hear this stuff live. but I cant afford it! shame. if you like irish folk music this is THE album to buy. enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars so great to have a cd, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
vinyl copy worn out. so great to have a cd .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews