Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding performance - a joy to listen to!, 20 Feb 2014
I was recently given this CD which is a glorious programme of arias from Handel's oratorios performed by the acclaimed counter tenor Iestyn Davies with The King's Consort directed by Robert King. It is a delight to be introduced to some of the lesser well known arias such as those from Esther (these are my particular favourites on the CD). After listening to this recording it's easy to understand why Iestyn Davies is in such demand!The recording has a wide variety of pieces comprising mainly solo arias together with more virtuosic ones (eg Up The Dreadful Steep Ascending, How can I Stay when love invites).There also two beautiful arias where Iestyn Davies is joined by the soprano Carolyn Sampson: Welcome as the Dawn of Day, Who Calls my Parting Soul from Death (the latter is a spine tingling performance) and both soloists sing with such sensual intensity.
The King's Consort as ever play with wonderful energy and style and also with great precision - they're on top form!
This recording should have a wide appeal to Baroque and Handel specialists, singers and players. It deserves to be a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel - Your tuneful voice (MP3 Download)
Iestyn Davies displays staggering control through all the range, sensitive, refined, an absolute joy. Track 2 'Mortals think that Time is sleeping' is pure magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, lovely to listen to, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel - Your tuneful voice (MP3 Download)
This CD is a pure delight. The orchestra and soloists are brilliant - especially Iestyn davies who has a lovely, pure voice. It's not music that I am at all familiar with - but listening to it I felt I had known it all my life.

Highly recommended for those who like Handel or Baroque music in general - and an absolute must for fans of Iestyn Davies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An earthly perfection, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel - Your tuneful voice (MP3 Download)
Iestyn Davies' voice is a thing of beauty, both ethereal and commanding. 'Eternal source of light divine' is ravishing, barely of this world.
When I die, and if I get to heaven, the angels will have their work cut out to produce anything that sounds more wondrous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd of my favourite counter tenor, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its a wonderful cd - brings out the best of Iestyn Davies. I strongly recommend this cd to anyone interested in the counter tenor voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to the senses, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exceedingly soulful. A joy to the senses. Davies at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb CD, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am playing this CD frequently - it is a most wonderful collection of music for the counter tenor, superbly performed by this amazing singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handel arias, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A magnificent countertenor singing a fine selection of arias. He must be one of the foremost countertenors of today with a beautiful clear voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars singing like an angel, 24 Feb 2014
By 
G. van den Hof "folk.45" (Alphen a/d Rijn, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't know this singer, but now I will buy more albums by him. A lovely voice and a fine repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handel - Your tuneful voice
Handel - Your tuneful voice by The King's Consort feat. Iestyn Davies and Robert King
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews