Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good contribution to the "hyper grace" debate
After reading the book I was left wondering why there is such a huge debate. Perhaps I've just been fortunate but I've been exposed to a fair amount of grace teaching and I've never heard anyone teach some of the misconceptions referred to in this book. Whilst some of the finer points can be debated (and should be - let iron sharpen iron) I didn't read anything in the...
Published 7 months ago by Paul

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A reaction thinly disguised as a reasoned response!
This is more a parody than a reflection of general reality. That some might present God's grace as expressed in this book and even abuse positions of leadership etc. in no way affords justification for a blanket condemnation. True grace produces graciousness and sadly I feel I found little of that when reading this.
Published 12 months ago by J. R. Peel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good contribution to the "hyper grace" debate, 10 July 2014
By 
Paul (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
After reading the book I was left wondering why there is such a huge debate. Perhaps I've just been fortunate but I've been exposed to a fair amount of grace teaching and I've never heard anyone teach some of the misconceptions referred to in this book. Whilst some of the finer points can be debated (and should be - let iron sharpen iron) I didn't read anything in the book that rang massive alarm bells in my head or that in my opinion directly contradicted anything written in Scripture. Having read the book I certainly don't feel inclined to go out and sin more, not confess my sin or not seek to live a life "worthy of the calling."

On to the book itself. First let's be clear about what it is and what it isn't:

- It is written for Christians. It is not an exhaustive study or introduction to Christianity but a response to certain claims about the "grace message" by some Christian teachers. It is therefore targetted at Christians who are acquainted with the ongoing debate about the so called "hyper-grace" movement / doctrine, but no so useful it you're after a resource about the Gospel of God's grace to share with your non-Christian friends. You will hear names like Dr Brown, Rick Joyner, Todd Bentley - household names in some circles but to those unfamiliar with mainstream American Christianity (or indeed Christianity in general) you may find yourself wondering who these people are.

- It is not full of big words and high brow theology, it's written in a light conversational style so if you're looking for an exhaustive exegesis with hundreds of Greek translations then look elsewhere. This by no means detracts from the book or it's message though as you doesn't need a PhD in Theology or a fancy job title to be gifted to teach - lest we forget that Peter and the early apostles were noted as being "uneducated men" by the scholars of the day. I am degree educated and I found the writing style refreshingly accessible and easy to read.

- It is not full of condemnation for other teachers; I suspect some of the reviewers have fallen into "he doesn't agree with me so he's condemning me" trap. In my opinion the author was respectful but firm in his convictions without being offensive or personal; he also left the door open for feedback and dialogue which was refreshing. He was certainly less inflammatory against opposing teachers than the Apostle Paul was in some of his letters - and that's in the Bible!

Conclusion

I may be wrong but I do wonder whether much of this debate is based on either semantics or misunderstanding coming out of different responses to essentially the same message. If that is the case then hopefully D R Silva's book will help smooth some ruffled feathers. He does a good job dealing with some possible misconceptions surrounding the grace message but what he does best of all is encourage people to go away, ask questions, look to God and study the Bible for themselves rather than just swallow what their favourite TV / Facebook / Pulpit preachers tell them all the time.

We live in an age where Paul's word to Timothy in 2 Timothy 4:3 "For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions..." is sadly accurate. It's refreshing to hear a teacher encourage people to test and challenge what he writes against Scripture - and who doesn't get upset or offended if you draw different conclusions.

All in all a good contribution for Christians already familiar with the underlying debate. Perhaps (if he hasn't already) the author could write a book targetted at non-Christians as he is a good author with a nice easy tone that I think non-Christians would find easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A reaction thinly disguised as a reasoned response!, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
This is more a parody than a reflection of general reality. That some might present God's grace as expressed in this book and even abuse positions of leadership etc. in no way affords justification for a blanket condemnation. True grace produces graciousness and sadly I feel I found little of that when reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hyper Grace review., 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
Balanced and answers many questions those who do not yet understand would do well to read in my honest opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book! All Christians need to read it, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book! All Christians need to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short passionate lucid, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
I highly enjoyed this book, it read at times as a bit of a rant and being new to the arguments found his full on style a little off putting in the introduction, but I pressed on and found threat of the book worthwhile though short. One other annoyance was the poor conversion to kindle with At least three passages repeated, with other grammar issues. The 4 stars are for clear message
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grace is really Good News, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
Practical and concise! Very useful when explaining to others without religious baggage.
Read alongside Mystical Union by John Crowder or Imagine by Andre Rabe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
D. R. Silva is a fantastic author and his new book is fascinating, fun and easy to read. He has definitely provided an excellent response to the anti hyper-grace movement. This book is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
Got to the end of book wishing there was more having read it straight through in one go
Very readable and thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars D. R., 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
D.R.Silva understands the Grace given by of our Lord Jesus Christ
Not only does he understands he also communicates the truth of Hyper-Grace to the reader
Life changing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars of the happy God. " -1 Timothy 1, 13 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Hyper-Grace: The Dangerous Doctrine of a Happy God (Kindle Edition)
The Emphasized Bible
The Gospel:
"The glad-message of the glory, of the happy God."
-1 Timothy 1:11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews