Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly, highly recommended!
I remember the 1980s series of Beauty and the Beast starring Linda Hamilton which I enjoyed, so thought I'd give this new version a try. Well, I watched the first episode and then just couldn't stop... eventually I had to 'call it a night' at ten to three in the morning having ploughed through 2 DVDs (8 episodes) high on adrenalin and completely addicted! It's a super...
Published 3 months ago by Shiraz

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?
Disappointing. Story line - well really? Acting nothing outstanding and the effects were poor especially his when he changes. Would I watch another episode? probably not.
Published 5 months ago by Aria


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly, highly recommended!, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
I remember the 1980s series of Beauty and the Beast starring Linda Hamilton which I enjoyed, so thought I'd give this new version a try. Well, I watched the first episode and then just couldn't stop... eventually I had to 'call it a night' at ten to three in the morning having ploughed through 2 DVDs (8 episodes) high on adrenalin and completely addicted! It's a super modern take on a traditional story, with Vincent (the beast), having been used as part of an experiment by the US army and a corporation called 'Muirfield' to produce a 'super soldier' (rather like the Bourne Identity). The experiments have altered his DNA such that he is unable to control his transformations into a super-strong, highly sensitized 'beast'. Of course, despite his violent tendencies, which are generally aimed at the bad-guys, you cannot help but love him, he is vulnerable, afraid of himself, and living an undercover life with very little human contact. Then there's Catherine (Cat). She is one part of a female detective duo who witnessed her mother's murder when she was a teenager but avoided the same fate when she was protected by a strange creature. Years later, Cat becomes a detective and each episode revolves around her and her partner Tess solving some crime or mystery, with a little help from Vincent behind the scenes. As the episodes progress, we gradually find out that Cat is connected in many ways to Vincent and Muirfield, and that her own life is far more complicated than she previously realised. There is another key (and adorable) character in this series who deserves a mention ... JT- the loyal and protective best buddy to Vincent. JT is a bio-chemist and works tirelessly to support, protect and find a cure for his friend; and for me, he injects moments of great humour into the series with his dry retorts and witty repartee. This series is a potent mix of crime, action and romance and if you need a little 'escapism' every now and then, this really hits the spot! Highly, highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEAST.....sorry I mean The BEST!, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
I got this on import from US so really pleased I can now get a region 2 version. Amazing first season. The DVD includes unseen parts from each episode and also a really great blooper reel and behind the scenes interviews. This show is seriously addictive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Show, great love story!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this show when it was shown last year on Watch & wanted to purchase it when it was released on DVD.
For some reason there was a significant delay with the release date for the UK, which was a shame, but it was well worth waiting for none the less.
A modern day take on the story which has Kristen Kreuk as 'the Beauty' & Jay Ryan as 'the Beast'. Catherine Chandler is a street wise cop with a tragic past & Vincent Keller is a soldier who was experimented on by a shady organisation called Muirfield who transformed him into a 'super soldier' with beast like qualities.
With Vincent on the run from Muirfield their paths first cross when Vincent saves Catherine from an attack during which her mother is killed. Nine years later Vincent saves her again & Catherine realises that it was him that was there on that fateful night when her life changed forever.
During the course of the series, they come together to try solve Catherine's mothers death & defeat Muirfield, along the way Vincent helps Catherine with her 9 - 5 job of being a cop & solving murders. Inevitably they fall in love but it is not a smooth path & plenty of situations arise which put them in jeopardy.
A great series, plenty of 'edge of your seat' drama with a gentle love story woven through the plot.
I am currently watching Season 2 & hope that I don't have to wait too long for it to released on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like vampire diaries..., 3 Feb 2014
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a big fan of supernatural TV series then you must get into this one. With the female lead being a policewoman she is much tougher than the usual weak leading femailes of other series. Enjoyable and keeping you wanting more, would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and the Beast, 19 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
Love this show - compelling viewing. The female lead is a tough no-nonsense cop with a sassy partner. The hero is being protected by his best friend because....well, watch the series and find out! Series 2 is currently on Watch TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandy, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this re-telling of the classic fairy tale by chance when I was bored snd channel hopping. Series was already on the 3rd episode of S1. I fell in love and have been hooked ever since! I looked for the episodes that I had missed and as they say, the rest is history.

Season 2 is currently on Watch channel on Sky.

The cast is amazing and the chemistry between the lead actors is out of this world. If you have not watched this series yet, you are missing out. Cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!!!!, 15 May 2014
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show!! it is the best thing I have seen in ages. Cant wait for season 2 to come out on DVD. I hear season 3 has only just been confirmed I hope they don't cancel it!! LOVE IT - love VINCAT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will really enjoy it is very easy going lots of stories connected ..., 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
You will really enjoy it is very easy going lots of stories connected into one who can you trust
The love interest between them both grows you want to keep watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BATB, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
Loooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeee it. Can't wait for season 2 to get on Dvd to buy in Europe :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty And the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series n lovely love story with loads of action n twists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty And the Beast [DVD]
Beauty And the Beast [DVD] by Kristin Kreuk (DVD - 2014)
£16.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews