Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lens cap
Basically an automatic lens cap, it has a couple of spring loaded flaps that close when the lens retracts (the little prongs of which are in the silver stubby bits that stick out the side). You screw it onto the front of the lens, saving all the faff of taking the lens cap on and off when you want to take a picture

In practice it has made my camera so much more...
Published 6 months ago by Funk

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but expensive
For me this was a must have accessory for the 14-42 EZ lens. No need to worry about misplacing the lens cap and compliments the small package of the OMD EM10 and smallest pancake lens perfectly.

But it loses stars for the price. Extortionate amount of money for such a small item that Olympus should have included with the lens.
Published 6 months ago by Mii Oxford

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lens cap, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
Funk (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus LC-37C Auto Lens Cap for M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 EZ Lens - Silver (Electronics)
Basically an automatic lens cap, it has a couple of spring loaded flaps that close when the lens retracts (the little prongs of which are in the silver stubby bits that stick out the side). You screw it onto the front of the lens, saving all the faff of taking the lens cap on and off when you want to take a picture

In practice it has made my camera so much more useful. I can point and click without needing worry about taking the cap off, losing it, getting the lens scratched etc. It really is a complete no brainer to buy it.

However, in order to do so you have to shell out your left kidney, first born child and deeds to the house. If it was made of a magnesium carbide alloy with graphene coated covers then it could justify the price, but for a bit of plastic, no. Olympus know you need it, they know no-one else makes it, they know they can charge over the odds for it.

Just close your eyes, type in your card number and it will all be over soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convenient, 16 April 2014
By 
B. Hurn (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Natty little device which is hugely more convenient than the very small standard lens cap, which is quite awkward to get on and off and almost certain to get lost before long. The auto cap together with the kit lens makes camera handling pretty much as easy as with a point-and-shoot. The main concern is that the retracting blades are quite thin, possibly fragile and easily pushed aside with a finger or anything else that may be in a pocket or camera case - certainly worth keeping the original cap for when the camera is put away for any length of time. Also, the auto cap precludes the use of filters or lens hoods (which begs the question of whether there is a hood to fit the EZ lens - hoods seem to have gone out of fashion these days and I note that they are all expensive extras for current Olympus MFT lenses. Sic transit ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, but effective, 10 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Olympus LC-37C Auto Lens Cap for M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 EZ Lens - Silver (Electronics)
As discussed this is a light, plastic cover. I agree with earlier comments that this should be standard equipment with the EZ lens, it is much easier than having to take off and put back on the lens cap. Works very well, but the mechanism is mechanical rather than electronic. This menas that you can't use this cover with a filter as the mechanism won't work anymore, which is why it drops a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, looks good, and saves me losing the lens cap., 26 Sept. 2014
By 
C Brooks (Brighton, East Sussex. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus LC-37C Auto Lens Cap for M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 EZ Lens - Silver (Electronics)
Fits the 14-42EZ lens perfectly, is very light weight (read "made of plastic") and works well. It has meant that I don't have to remember where I put the tiny standard lens cover, but had I not been given some money for my birthday to buy this, I am not sure I could warrant the cost, of what is a plastic accessory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hats off to Olympus!, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I use my Olympus for street photography so I like smaller lenses which are not obvious. This lens cap enables me to carry the camera in my pocket take it out turn it on and lo and behold the lens cap opens its neat loll aperture. Great idea. Ok I can't use a lens hood but I would rather use this. Great invention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Olympus auto lens cap, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful item saves continually fitting and removing manual lens protector cap but quite expensive for a purely mechanical item but that'sOlympusfor you good cameras but expensive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but expensive, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus LC-37C Auto Lens Cap for M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 EZ Lens - Silver (Electronics)
For me this was a must have accessory for the 14-42 EZ lens. No need to worry about misplacing the lens cap and compliments the small package of the OMD EM10 and smallest pancake lens perfectly.

But it loses stars for the price. Extortionate amount of money for such a small item that Olympus should have included with the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice bit of plastic - for an absurd price, 12 May 2014
By 
Jonathan Lomax (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus LC-37C Auto Lens Cap for M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 EZ Lens - Silver (Electronics)
This undoubtedly makes the experience of using the new Olympus EZ lens ever so slightly simpler. But when you get it out of the box you can't help but be overwhelmed by the fact that you have just spent £40 on a very small piece of plastic. I had convinced myself that surely it would be more complicated than I thought, and I don't mind paying a premium for good design, but I'm afraid the cost of this lens cap really does stick in the throat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Convenient but ....., 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's expensive for what it is but it does the job however as a previous reviewer has commented it can't be used if a filter is also fitted such as a skylight. I also have a Lumix camera and bought an auto lens cap for it which still works with a filter fitted hence I've only given the Olympus three stars for the overall result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb dust cap, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus LC-37C Auto Lens Cap for M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 EZ Lens - Silver (Electronics)
Fantastick dust cap just fot this lens. superb delivery service too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
DSTE 2pcs BLS-5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery for Olympus PS-BLS5, OM-D E-M10, PEN E-PL2, E-PL5, E-PL6, E-PM2, Stylus 1 Digital Cameras
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (29)   
Buy new£14.80
In stock

Olympus OM-D EM10 with Power Zoom Pancake M.Zuiko Digital ED 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 EZ Lens - Silver/Silver (16.1MP, Live MOS ) 3.0 inch Tiltable LCD
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32)   
Buy new£499.00
In stock

Expert Shield *Lifetime Guarantee* - THE Screen Protector for: (Olympus OM-D E-M1/EM-10 Crystal Clear Expert Shield)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (228)   
Buy new£7.95
In stock