Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
Absolutely AMAZING laptop. Basically have been looking for a decent laptop almost daily for the past 6 weeks. Bought two laptops and returned them, the first because of the flimsy keyboard and plastic make up, and the second as it didn't have an optical drive.. yes I'm very picky. This laptop is heavenly. It has all the specs I was looking for - aluminium/well built,...
Published 1 month ago by illuminate 89

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but needs mods
. I have model 550LF with gforce 740.This is overall good laptop however few things disappoint here.If i compare to my previous laptops HP hdx16 which worked fine for years and sony vaio fit15( higher spec) this one comes poorer quality with few features.Screen is not full hd for proce you pay.It is heavier and thicker than Sony fi15 i had.Audio quality and speaker...
Published 9 days ago by Techydude


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
Absolutely AMAZING laptop. Basically have been looking for a decent laptop almost daily for the past 6 weeks. Bought two laptops and returned them, the first because of the flimsy keyboard and plastic make up, and the second as it didn't have an optical drive.. yes I'm very picky. This laptop is heavenly. It has all the specs I was looking for - aluminium/well built, intel i7, HD screen, optical drive, beautiful backlit keyboard with well spaced keys, responsive touchscreen and a bonus - super sound quality! it all comes with an extra speaker if u want to add bass etc. The only downside is that the laptop is slightly heavy, but not more so than my previous VAIO so its not an issue really. All in all a perfect laptop, defo worth this price (currently discounted at 799 in PC world). Happy with my purchase and excellent customer service by Amazon as per usual! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive, powerful and value for money, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. J. Aldous (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
First and foremost, I want to say that I ordered this laptop from IT Tradestation through Amazon at around 3pm Wednesday afternoon with express delivery. They dispatched the laptop the same day and, whilst on my way to work, I received a message from IT Tradestation (via Amazon) saying that my package will be delivered between 9:20 and 10:20 am. I arrived at work around 9:45 and there it was. The express delivery was not cheap, but that service was brilliant and the delivery bang on schedule.

As for the laptop, there are numerous pluses and just two negatives, one of which is not Asus's fault.

The pluses: build quality is great (all aluminium chassis), it is a solid laptop, the integrated graphics card is very good, and it looks really nice. The keyboard is very smooth to type on and quite quiet, the backlight to the keyboard and "Asus" logo on the lid are nice touches. The sound from the two main speakers are what you might expect from a laptop, but the extra sub woofer-type speaker makes one hell of a difference. Altogether the sound is then really good.

The Asus mousepad gestures are really handy and make life a lot easier.

The touchscreen is a nice addition, but for me is more of a gimmick than anything hugely useful, but I daresay that some people will find it a useful.

The negatives: The hard drive is the biggest negative, as it is 5400 rpm, as opposed to 7200 rpm or SSD. 5400 is quite a standard spindle speed for laptop hard drives, but I intend to change it. I knew buying the laptop exactly what the hard drive was and I had already made a conscious decision that I would eventually buy a SSD for it and swap it out. However, if you don't try and do too many things at the same time with the hard drive then it is perfectly acceptable.

The other negative is the use of Windows 8. I am an avid user of Linux and Windows 7 and so Windows 8 is a really weird OS for me right now. I am getting used to it, and the Asus mousepad gestures actually really helps with that. So if I had a choice of OS with this laptop I would have chosen Linux (then Windows 7). But, hey ho, Windows 8 is the way the world is going so may as well suck it up and learn it!

Overall: Love this laptop. Attractive, functional, powerful and good value for money. I recommend this laptop whole heartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but needs mods, 7 Sep 2014
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
. I have model 550LF with gforce 740.This is overall good laptop however few things disappoint here.If i compare to my previous laptops HP hdx16 which worked fine for years and sony vaio fit15( higher spec) this one comes poorer quality with few features.Screen is not full hd for proce you pay.It is heavier and thicker than Sony fi15 i had.Audio quality and speaker placement is absolutelly apalling.Hdx16 had 4 speakers placed in the corners( at least 2 on the top) plus small woofer.I could run a discotheque on it.Sony was good too. Asus has speakers on the bottom and sound is quite thin and speakers are not powerful enough if you watch some videos on youtube or listen to some tunes.Also audio card is poor quality, when listening on good headphones sound is flat,bass is flat,simply bad.Another bad point is slow hdd.Only 5400rpm for gaming laptop?You must be joking:(
Start up time, and also general work may be delayed a faction and it is noticable.I you want this laptop i would buy it with hhd/ssda combo drive which speeds work up quite a lot.
Good point is that if you do not run a game you can stay without charging possibly 4h.
Keyboard can be lit up on three levels or be swithed off.Keyboard itsef works good, my hdx16 had quiter and nicer keyboard but was much older laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FHD (1920x1080) anti-glare screen, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
I took delivery of this item 21/05/14 comes with the FHD (1920x1080) anti-glare screen. Nice gun metal effect top. All good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic laptop but needs SSD, 26 July 2014
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
Pros -
Great display (no problems with small text for me)
Overall good performance
Very quiet
Screen doesn't gather fingerprints easily

Cons -
Can get warm when on lap/bed for extended periods
Blu-ray player currently doesn't play blu-rays, this is hopefully a software issue I should be able to solve
Slow start up, which I solved by replacing the DVD drive with an SSD (using a caddy from hddcaddy.com). I'd recommend this to anyone buying this laptop as it was a simple process, though did involve reinstalling Windows 8 from scratch.

In conclusion this is an excellent laptop, but I think the SSD is necessary to get the speedy performance you would expect from a new machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent laptop (for the price), 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
excellent laptop (for the price), i use the laptop for writing software, no gaming.

some reviews are not fair in that they criticise the laptop for the wrong reason, for example, you cant mark this laptop down if you don't like windows 8, or if windows 8 feels slow.

1. the fan noise: The fan is constantly on as reported by some reviews, however, it is very quite, you wil only hear it if it is dead quite. The good thing though is that although the fan is constantly on, its noise wont increase and the laptop stays cool even after hours of usage ( normal usage, i using for programming, no gaming)

so in terms of noise and temperature, i am very happy with the laptop

2. I had issues installing updates andf updating to windows 8.1, but again, this is not the laptop fault

3. some people reported slowness, i think it is because in the first few days the laptop will be constantly looking for, downloading and trying to install updates.

After i managed to install all updates and windows 8.1, the bit of slowness disappeared, for example, my laptoo now boots from cold in 13 secs (while it was taking much more before)

Over all, for the money I paid, 699, I am more than happy with the laptop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars asus laptop, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
Nice piece of kit really quick processing graphics card and sound exceptional on this model not cheap to buy but worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The laptop is very good for all uses for example gaming, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
The laptop is very good for all uses for example gaming, everyday uses and more.But the only concern is the cd room cover was curved out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for train and powerful enough for most things, 13 Aug 2014
By 
J. Baggaley ":-)zz[" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
Had this for several months and still love it. want to get an ssd for that extra speed boost though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, nothing to complain about., 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus N550LF-CM115H 15.6-inch Full HD LED Gaming Notebook (Intel Core i7-4500U 1.80GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB HDD, Touch Screen, Blu-Ray Reader, Wi-Fi, Webcam, Nvidia Geforce GT745M 2GB DDR3, Bluetooth, Windows 8 64-bit) (Personal Computers)
Great laptop, no problems so far. The white noise issue is easily fixed by reinstalling or simply removing the realtek drivers.

It is a finger print magnet, but it is to be expected from a touch screen with an metal body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews