Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely thought provoking... worth a read.
First of all I am impressed by Dr. Sartori's credentials, not only does she hold a doctorate in near death experiences (NDEs) but she also has a long nursing career in intensive care spanning over 20 years. This must provide valuable first-hand experience and knowledge of nursing dying patients. I would say she is probably one of the most qualified people to speak on the...
Published 13 months ago by Dino

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average book
If you have never read a book on NDEs before, you will probably find this book quite interesting. For those of you who have read other books on the subject, this book contains nothing new and you will find more of the same. The quality of writing is reasonably good, but the planning of the book is a little odd and that makes it a bit disjointed to read. Overall, not a bad...
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely thought provoking... worth a read., 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of Near-Death Experiences: How Understanding NDEs Can Help Us Live More Fully (Kindle Edition)
First of all I am impressed by Dr. Sartori's credentials, not only does she hold a doctorate in near death experiences (NDEs) but she also has a long nursing career in intensive care spanning over 20 years. This must provide valuable first-hand experience and knowledge of nursing dying patients. I would say she is probably one of the most qualified people to speak on the subject of NDEs as her book also summarises her hospital study which was the biggest study of its kind in the UK. Not only is she an academic with immense knowledge of NDEs but she has also completed 8 years of NDE hospital research.

Despite her academic background, I actually found that the book is written in a very easy and addictive style. It thoroughly describes NDEs and provides an informative read which also includes previous research into NDEs.

I found the examples she wrote about to be amazing and although I have an interest in NDEs, there were many things that I'd never been aware of before.

The conclusions really made me think about the way I live my life.

One thing I particularly did like is the fact that Dr Sartori is not trying to enforce her opinion onto the readers. Instead she provides them with the facts and encourages readers like myself to make up their own mind.

I started reading her extracts in the paper and downloaded the ebook, I must say I thoroughly enjoyed it finding it extremely fascinating and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timely!, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this book five stars, because it's the first in depth study of its kind, well written and researched in a most exemplary manner - although to say 'I love it' is not quite the emotion with which it can be read! 'Mind awakening' could be a better description. I have now made it a present to two Doctors (one a Hospice founder), and await their comments with interest ...

I would like to thank the author, personally, for her conviction and courage in undertaking the research. Bless you, Dr Sartori !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How we deal with the process of dying in our society..., 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of Near-Death Experiences: How Understanding NDEs Can Help Us Live More Fully (Kindle Edition)
Dr Sartori asks us to read her book with an open mind. To put aside polarising issues concerning whether or not recalled near-death experiences indicate there is afterlife, or, whether they are merely the result of a brain malfunction.

Instead she argues that these experiences often have very real relevance to the experient, and so should be acknowledged and witnessed as important by those in the medical community who have contact with the experient, rather then being ignored, or worse sometimes trivialized.

Dr Sartori re-presents the results of her 5 year clinical study into the NDE's of hospitalized intensive care patients in a more condensed format. Somewhat dry in presentation, it is interspersed with examples of new recalled experiences that attempt to lighten the writing style. Indeed, her book sometimes reads more like an academic text book, and perhaps in the end of the day, her book probably 'is' targeted at the medical professional.

She challenges the medical community (indeed our whole western society) to consider how they deal with the patients (and relations) of those within their care who are dying - particularly the elderly - so that they are not robbed of the right to have their own NDE, and that they die as dignified, peaceful, and comfortable a death as possible - surrounded by family and friends where practical.

Dr Sartori suggests that we 'rethink' how we deal with death and the process of dying, both personally, and in society. That exposing death and the dying process as an important part of living, might allow us to live our lives more fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read Book for Living, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of Near-Death Experiences: How Understanding NDEs Can Help Us Live More Fully (Kindle Edition)
Janice Holden, EdD, LPC-S, LMFT, NCC, Chair, Department of Counseling and Higher Education and Professor, Counseling Program, College of Education, University of North Texas was right when she wrote - "Dr Sartori has masterfully crafted a comprehensive summary of research on near-death and related experiences that is both accessible to the interested public and informative for many healthcare professionals. This work has the power to remind people of their purpose in living and to provoke a revolution in the more humane treatment of the dying."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom of Near-Death Experience Review, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of Near-Death Experiences: How Understanding NDEs Can Help Us Live More Fully (Kindle Edition)
This is an important book written by Penny Sartori, who, as well as presenting the book as a serious piece of research, also shows her caring, compassionate side. I hope this book provides the basis of comfort for many people in distress. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facsinating, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of Near-Death Experiences: How Understanding NDEs Can Help Us Live More Fully (Kindle Edition)
Great read with some incredible stories and experiences ,well written. It really opened my eyes to the possibility of the afterlife. Roll on death!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully thought provoking, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of Near-Death Experiences: How Understanding NDEs Can Help Us Live More Fully (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful book that seems to bring a calming sense of wondering. Personally, I've loved the warmth & inner peace that has developed with every page turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A survey of NDEs from a critical care nurse, 1 May 2014
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Wisdom of Near-Death Experiences: How understanding NDEs can help us live more fully, by Dr Penny Sartori, Watkins Publishing, London, 2014, 236 pp.

This is a summary of a wealth of near-death experiences (NDEs) described by patients who were treated in a critical care facility. They are recorded and interpreted by someone who worked as a nurse in such a unit and amassed enough material to compile a thesis for a Ph.D. Penny began the UK’s first long-term prospective study of NDEs in 1997 and full details of the study have been published in 2008 by Edwin Mellen Press of Lewiston, NY, as a book entitled 'The Near-Death Experiences of Hospitalized Intensive Care Patients: A Five-year Clinical Study'. The present work is a summary of these findings written in an approachable style for a non-clinical readership.
Though the existence and significance of NDEs is usually ignored by materialist scientists, they have been described in the literature for over 2000 years, by authors from Plato and Dante to those of the present day, like Dr Raymond Moody, who created the term ‘near-death experience’ in his 1975 book Life After Life.
In this book, Dr Sartori recounts many of these NDEs experienced by patients in their own words. In Chapters 1 and 2, she summarises the main phenomena associated with such an event – the dark tunnel through which the soul passes towards the light; a sound experienced by the patient themselves and sometimes by medical staff and relatives around them as they temporarily ascend from mortal form; meeting deceased loved ones; entering into another realm of heightened sensitivity, a realm of great peace and beauty; reluctance to return to mortal form; greater sense of purpose and no fear of death together with a sense of unity that continues to some extent when the soul has returned to mortal form. Dr Sartori also relates that some NDEs can be unpleasant and that, as they have been so little investigated, there is no evidence as to why an NDE should be uplifting or traumatic. She found no evidence that NDEs of either type could be correlated with levels of carbon dioxide or anaesthetic.
Chapter 3 gives an interesting account of childhood NDEs. These are particularly important because children will not have had the wealth of experiences of most adults. Those critics like Professor Michael Marsh who dismiss NDEs as simply recall of earlier experiences have never satisfactorily explained this situation. The untenability of such criticisms are discussed furher in Chapter 6. In Chapter 4, Penny discusses cultural variations in NDEs, and Chapter 5 provides a life-enhancing account of communication with discarnate souls.
The rest of the book gives Dr Sartori’s interpretation of the significance of NDEs, good and bad, on the lives of those who have them. There are 35 pages of Notes and References at the end of the book and a good Index.

Howard Jones is the author of Evolution of Consciousness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average book, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have never read a book on NDEs before, you will probably find this book quite interesting. For those of you who have read other books on the subject, this book contains nothing new and you will find more of the same. The quality of writing is reasonably good, but the planning of the book is a little odd and that makes it a bit disjointed to read. Overall, not a bad book - but nothing outstanding either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of Near-Death Experiences: How Understanding NDEs Can Help Us Live More Fully (Kindle Edition)
This book takes away the fear of dying. It gives hope that there is truly life after death. Well written,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews