Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snowden in context
Lucas's boook is a welcome corrective to the many alarmist responses to Snowden's "revelations"; most of which should be no surprise to anyone living in the real world.
Published 3 months ago by Neville Grant

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Provides some information but seems repetitive
The intended purpose seems to be to argue the case that Snowden is not the hero as presented by some.

I bought it because I thought it would be interesting to read an account of what had in fact happened - but that was rather lost amongst the continued points being made about interpreted intentions.

It felt like a one sided argument with conclusions...
Published 4 months ago by NJB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Provides some information but seems repetitive, 22 Feb 2014
By 
NJB (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The intended purpose seems to be to argue the case that Snowden is not the hero as presented by some.

I bought it because I thought it would be interesting to read an account of what had in fact happened - but that was rather lost amongst the continued points being made about interpreted intentions.

It felt like a one sided argument with conclusions being drawn that were not obvious to me from the information presented. However, I found it seemed to assume the reader had more detailed knowledge than I had, and I did not find it very interesting. I therefor rather skimmed the book and may have missed some of the points. It may be of more interest to those with more background knowledge but I found it about as convincing as party political literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An authoritative expose, 24 April 2014
By 
Mr. C. W. V. Mccleery (Stroud, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This surely was a much more serious breach of Western security than the UK media have taken the trouble to tell us. And STILL some people seem to think Snowden was just a fairly ordinary whistleblower and should be commended. Perhaps the recent Russian behaviour in Ukraine will convince people that certain elements in Moscow are continuing the Cold War and we really do need to be more security-minded. After all, NSA and GCHQ are just doing what we pay them for, and most other countries (including France and Germany who have made the most noise about the revelations) would give a lot for the same capability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snowden in context, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Lucas's boook is a welcome corrective to the many alarmist responses to Snowden's "revelations"; most of which should be no surprise to anyone living in the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If interested - a must read, 12 April 2014
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Whistleblowing is arguably a necessary facet of a democratic society. But what if the whistleblower does continuous and lasting damage to his country's security? Acknowledged intelligence expert, Lucas, poses some awkward questions. A must read for all who wish to get beyond the superficiality of 'what the papers say'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but very one-sided, 14 May 2014
By 
Peter Mercer (Lisburn, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I suppose I knew from the start that the author was coming from a particular angle, but it did give a rather unbalanced view of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Background, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I hadn't been paying too much attentiion to Snowden's activities so that this was a useful summary. The fact that Snowden has ended up in Russia suggests that he has not fulfilled his objective in any kind of sensible way for those of us who are suspicious of what our governments are doing in intelligence and why!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re: Right wing version of the events., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This version of the Snowden affair makes some fair pionts about the potential damage caused to western security operations by the leaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Very self opinionated and extremely biased which this type of book should not be. I'm sure the majority of his points are factually correct but it comes across as being commissioned by the Government of the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comrade Snowden, 24 April 2014
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is an important book. It's short, readable and comprehensible to those outside the national security system. Snowden is heralded as a hero, but he has irreparably damaged our national security and left us vulnerable to a wide variety of threats. The fact that he is now living comfortably in Moscow ought to serve as an indicator he may well have been on their payroll all along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Goes into depth about Ed Snowden and the negative impact basis leaks have had upon western countries and the positive impact they have upon Russia, or, more specifically, the Kremlin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews