Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re: Right wing version of the events.
This version of the Snowden affair makes some fair pionts about the potential damage caused to western security operations by the leaks.
Published 6 months ago by tychos

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Provides some information but seems repetitive
The intended purpose seems to be to argue the case that Snowden is not the hero as presented by some.

I bought it because I thought it would be interesting to read an account of what had in fact happened - but that was rather lost amongst the continued points being made about interpreted intentions.

It felt like a one sided argument with conclusions...
Published 7 months ago by NJB


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Provides some information but seems repetitive, 22 Feb 2014
By 
NJB (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The intended purpose seems to be to argue the case that Snowden is not the hero as presented by some.

I bought it because I thought it would be interesting to read an account of what had in fact happened - but that was rather lost amongst the continued points being made about interpreted intentions.

It felt like a one sided argument with conclusions being drawn that were not obvious to me from the information presented. However, I found it seemed to assume the reader had more detailed knowledge than I had, and I did not find it very interesting. I therefor rather skimmed the book and may have missed some of the points. It may be of more interest to those with more background knowledge but I found it about as convincing as party political literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Very self opinionated and extremely biased which this type of book should not be. I'm sure the majority of his points are factually correct but it comes across as being commissioned by the Government of the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but very one-sided, 14 May 2014
By 
Peter Mercer (Lisburn, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I suppose I knew from the start that the author was coming from a particular angle, but it did give a rather unbalanced view of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re: Right wing version of the events., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This version of the Snowden affair makes some fair pionts about the potential damage caused to western security operations by the leaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It poses the question, was he a Russian agent ..., 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
It poses the question, was he a Russian agent ?. Also if the material was 'STOLEN' why has no case been brought against the people who transmitted the material, and the newspapers who published the documents ? Surely they have been handling property stolen from the USA ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Subjective, narrow, and churlish, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I realise that the whole of Snowden revelations run counter top a lot of his own writings in both "The New Cold War" and "Deception".
So, from my point of view this is a "hatchet job" and worthy of a severe dose of caution, as are his conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Opinionated, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The author clearly has a single view about Snowden and argues remorselessly for this viewpoint. I may or may not agree with this viewpoint, but didn't really want to read a polemic. I would have preferred a more balanced argument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comrade Snowden, 24 April 2014
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is an important book. It's short, readable and comprehensible to those outside the national security system. Snowden is heralded as a hero, but he has irreparably damaged our national security and left us vulnerable to a wide variety of threats. The fact that he is now living comfortably in Moscow ought to serve as an indicator he may well have been on their payroll all along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Goes into depth about Ed Snowden and the negative impact basis leaks have had upon western countries and the positive impact they have upon Russia, or, more specifically, the Kremlin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Provides a good counter point but churlish, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowden Operation: Inside the West's Greatest Intelligence Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
While I won't go as far as the reviewer called it subjective, narrow, and churlish I will say that he isn't too far off, what I thought was good that he provides a very good counter point but goes too far in the other direction. By the third chapter I started skip and by the fourth I gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews