Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am reviewing the Australian version which is a repackage in UK
Customer Video Review     Length:: 3:11 Mins
What we have here is the Original Dragon Ball that follows Goku, Kuririn, Muten Roshi, Yamucha alongside other friends and foes but the reason for this review is its technical aspect not the story that we all know and love.

Picture Quality:
1) The video quality looks fantastic it is presented in 4x3 AR (fullscreen) grainy and...
Published 13 months ago by P. Marck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the English voices sound so funny! I used to watch this series as a ...
Ohmygosh, the English voices sound so funny! I used to watch this series as a kid in our regional TV sender (regional language), and I would have bought them in THAT language, but British boyfriend wanted to see them (he confessed to me that he could never see this series on TV when he was younger, how can he say that he had a childhood?!), so I got the English version...
Published 25 days ago by A.N.R.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am reviewing the Australian version which is a repackage in UK, 21 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
Length:: 3:11 Mins

What we have here is the Original Dragon Ball that follows Goku, Kuririn, Muten Roshi, Yamucha alongside other friends and foes but the reason for this review is its technical aspect not the story that we all know and love.

Picture Quality:
1) The video quality looks fantastic it is presented in 4x3 AR (fullscreen) grainy and without any detail loss, plus it's not zoomed in as such are the Season sets from US.
2) This collection is NOT based on the "Digitally Remastered" footage but actually the older which is normally called as the Saga sets.
3) On this release you're offered two alternate video angles, one with Japanese credits and the other with English translated text.
4) All discs are roughly 7GB large (DVD9) so you're not going to be getting squashy crappy picture quality with these sets.
5) No Next Episode Previews unfortunately but I'll give this release a pass because it's the best English Dragon Ball release by far for me.

Audio Quality:
1) The English dub is offered on Dolby Digital 2.0 stereo and it sounds sweet, even I that am normally Japanese cast-only do have to admit that FUNimation did a pretty damn good job this time around.
2) Japanese audio is DD 1.0, muffled and sadly the audio quality is nowhere near as good as the English but nevertheless it's A-OK!

Bonus Treat:
1) This release comes with an edited version of the first Dragon Ball film titled "Curse of the Blood Rubies" which is on Disc One of "The Saga of Goku".

The Different Releases of the Original Dragon Ball:
1) This one right here on Amazon.co.uk is a repackaged of the Australian Madman "Dragon Ball: Collection Part 1 (001-083)" & "Dragon Ball: Collection Part 2 (084-153)" into five boxsets.
2) The real sets of "Season" was only made available in North America by FUNimation, in basic terms it's just a DNR'd version of the Saga sets without alternate video angles.

And lastly, I have uploaded an episode sample (quality is compressed by Amazon.co.uk but you can still get an idea out of it) for you guys to see what it'll be like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the English voices sound so funny! I used to watch this series as a ..., 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
Ohmygosh, the English voices sound so funny! I used to watch this series as a kid in our regional TV sender (regional language), and I would have bought them in THAT language, but British boyfriend wanted to see them (he confessed to me that he could never see this series on TV when he was younger, how can he say that he had a childhood?!), so I got the English version instead.

It is still as hilarious as I recalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly even better than Z, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
The original Dragonball has finally been released in the UK completely uncut and what a great series it is. For those who don't know Dragonball was actually made before DBZ and follows the story of Goku's battles and adventures as a child and teenager. In Japan the original comic was called Dragonball for the whole story including the Z part. In other words it was only the anime that added Z onto the title from the part where Raditz arrives so if you haven't watched this you're missing out on the first part of the series. The reason why I think it could be a little better than Z is because of how detailed the fight scenes are. Instead of massive battles for the universe with huge explosions the fights in DB focus more on the martial arts side of things and special techniques and skill.

There's also lots of humor in it too revolving around Goku not knowing the difference between male and female and Master Roshi's antics (Btw Master Roshi was a badass in this series and one of the greatest fighters in the world. He also invented the kamehameha). This is a genuinely funny series.

Season 1 shows how Goku meets Bulma and how they go searching for the Dragonballs. Along the way Goku fights against Oolong, Yamcha and Puar, all of whom were bad guys to begin with but join him soon after. They go up against Emperor Pilaf and we get to see Goku transform into a Great Ape when the moon is full. He also meets Master Roshi who teaches him the Kamehameha.

After this is when the real action begins. Goku goes to train with Master Roshi and meets Krillin for the first time. After 8 months of insanely dangerous and brutal training (I won't spoil the details) they compete in the 21st World Martial Arts Tournament. The Tournament is full of awesome fights but the highlight of Season 1 is definitely Goku's fight with Jackie Chun in the final match which is full of cool techniques and punches and kicks and karate chops. The fight goes on for a while (Not quite as long as some of the ones in Z) and is close and exciting right until the epic conclusion.

If you loved Z then you should love this too. Even though there isn't as much action for the first half of Season 1 the 2nd half more than makes up for it. And it is really fun and interesting watching Goku's adventures and how he meets his friends who would later become the Z Fighters. And I have to say that Dragonball gets truly amazing later in the series. There are 5 Seasons of it which will all be out by the end of this year. Season 4 is where it gets really dark and serious with the King Piccolo saga and Season 5 continues this with the Piccolo Jr saga. Those last 2 Seasons are just like Z and actually feel like they could be a part of Z.

You can watch this in English or Japanese. Personally i prefer English as Funimation have done a great job dubbing it although Japanese is good too. Anyway treat yourself with this amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Ball first time watch., 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the DBZ series before when I was young but this is the first time I have seen Dragon Ball and even without nostalgia swaying my opinion I think it is excellent and the quality Is great aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your a fan then this is for you, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
James S. R. Wilson "I'm seen when I need to b... (uppingham, rutland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
A great start to the story and it helps you get to know the characters from Dragonball Z and there beginnings .... A well worth start for any fan of the Dragonball story's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome anime, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
good anime to watch especially if u own all the other sagas so now i can finally see how it all began
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
Dragonball is brilliant. So buy this brilliant season and then buy the next one.. And the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
So many great memories love Dragonball, fast delivery great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
Great for grandson for Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] (DVD)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD]
Dragon Ball Season 1 (Episodes 1-28) (Region 2) [DVD] by Daisuke Nishio and Minoru Okazaki (DVD - 2014)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews