Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing sci fi thriller, 10 Oct 2014
By 
M. Mason "mattmason" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (The Transcendence Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
We self-published authors are a happy and largely supportive community. I found Hearn’s blog earlier this year and seeing he had a book just out, I was intrigued enough by the premise to offer to review it.

The plot is tantalising if you like your science fiction with a dash of thrills with some niche ideas to get you thinking. This story about a missing woman and the plot to unravel her disappearance (was she murdered? if so, where is the body? Was she abducted? If so, why? Who has her?) while four people with vastly different backgrounds get caught up in the case. This is right up my street blending great science fiction with gritty ITV style mid-week drama (msot definitely not a bad thing!)

What at first seems a simple case of a disappearance soon becomes far more complex. It is books like this that demonstrate why self publishing is largely a good thing – the unconventional, the conceptual, the niche interests are all areas that a lot of publishers wouldn’t take a chance on. I admit I have read some poor quality work but I have also read some absolutely cracking reads. This definitely falls into the latter.

Conceptual science fiction is not everybody’s cup of tea, even after Inception but at least it proved that big ideas can be popular mainstream works. I am partial to conceptual science fiction myself and can always appreciate a great idea. This is certainly a great idea and Hearn has blended concept with character and plot rather nicely without being bogged down in it’s own complexity or coming across as elitist – something that can put a lot of people off “harder” science fiction. The characters are well rounded and in that, the balance is well struck – great job there!

The only real complaint I have is that there has been some global event prior to the story opening that has changed our world forever. It is not entirely clear what it is, or if it is explained then it is a remark made in passing. It is not vital to the plot but it is always good to know these things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking near-future thriller, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (The Transcendence Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Dylan Hearn has taken on a difficult task in writing this complex, near-future thriller, but for the most part he has succeeded admirably in his goal. Second Chance is a compulsively readable novel, which engages with some knotty political and philosophical issues while delivering a riveting plot arising from the interactions between a set of well-realised characters. The milieu Hearn has created feels lived-in, and the technologies that enable it are likewise credible. My quibbles with the book are fairly minor. I'd like to have known more about the world-changing revolution that precedes events in the book, as I found it somewhat hard to believe. Also the ending didn't quite wrap up enough of the plot strands to totally satisfy me. No doubt these strands will be picked up and developed further in the next book in the series, which I will definitely want to read. Overall this is a highly entertaining and thought-provoking first novel, which fully deserves a 4* rating. I've no doubt it will be succeeded by even better books by this talented writer. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Chance - A great thriller, 10 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. I. Mantel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (The Transcendence Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent story which compelled me to keep reading. Set in a very scary but believable future world, this is a top class political thriller with enough action, twists and turns and excitement to keep the reader engrossed.

Often the stories can get lost in the politics and bog the reader down, but not so with this one.

Perhaps some of the characters were a little bit obvious but this in no way detracted from the story line.
A thoroughly good read and I would recommend to anyone who likes a good, well paced thriller.

This is a remarkable debut novel from Dylan S Hearn and he is sure to go from strength to strength. I eagerly await the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking page turner, 5 Oct 2014
By 
Kats (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (The Transcendence Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The premise behind this book is one that will appeal to most people – is there a chance to live on after death? Often, I read sci-fi novels with interesting concepts only to be let down by unappealing characters or overly complex plots. Not so in this case. The author has skilfully woven together the stories of likeable characters in a future that is utterly convincing. At the same time, this is a well-paced story with the right blend of plot development and thought-provoking detail regarding politics and neuroscience. As plot twists were revealed, I found it hard to put down and read the last third in one sitting. I look forward to reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was an excellent story and despite its complexity it held together very ..., 1 Oct 2014
This review is from: Second Chance (Paperback)
This was an excellent story and despite its complexity it held together very well. Characterisation was strong and the plot sustained a good pace. Given the futuristic nature of the story it would have been easy to have overstepped the mark on technology development, but the author has dealt with it well. In short it was easily believable. The only criticism was that the book needed tighter editing in places, but this did not derail the overall excellent competence of the writing. This is clearly an author to keep track of and given the ending it looks like a follow-up is on the way. I look forward to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Indie Author book, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (The Transcendence Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Here's another great example of why Indie Authors deserve credit where credit's due. A near-future sci-fi thriller, Second Chance will keep you on the edge of your proverbial seat to the end. The climax is fitting, whilst leaving plenty to be sorted out in a second book. I downloaded it in a free promotion in May 2014. I took my time getting around to reading it, but it was well worth the wait. I'm definitely looking forward to the next instalment! Remember, if you enjoy a book - especially the free ones - please do write a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (Paperback)
Loved this book! Even if this isn't the sort of book you usually read, give it a chance! I'm glad I did, once I started it I couldn't put it down. Looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Built up to a great story, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (The Transcendence Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the multiple layers of the plot that were carefully constructed to deliver an excellently action packed conclusion. I have to admit that the first 20% of the book took some reading as the plot was built but it was well worth it with the rest of the book creating a desire to keep reading and not wanting to put it down! Great subject and great end to the book. When is the next one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, there got to make the movie, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (The Transcendence Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It took me about 4 chapters to get a feel for what was going on and then I simply could not put the book down.The author kept this borderline confusion until close to the end when realisation hits. The story is set in the future but close enough to feel like this could be or will be happening to all of us. Thought provoking as well as entertaining. This would make a great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like sci-fi, thrillers, crime or political intrigue - you'll love this book. Edgy, gripping and inspired., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Chance (The Transcendence Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Hearn's take on the future is too close for comfort. Without over-detailing, the near future context is horribly believable. The neuroscience and the political climate are as sound as the environmental backdrop on which this stage is set. But it is the pace of the narrative that make this such a good read. I was let down a little by the depth of the characters but this is compensated by that plot and sub plot lines that whirl to a cracking climax. Bring on the next one - there's too much fertile ground been laid here for there not to be one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews