Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good budget smart phone, Sony up their game
I've used a few of the budget Sony smartphones before and felt they were a bit lacking in a few key areas (screen quality and not as quick as I wanted processor wise) The older Xperia E was not as good as it should have been (in my view)

The Xperia E1 is much improved in some respects and running Android 4.3 out of the box, though it's not the last word in...
Published 8 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Budget mobile, does the job
Customer Video Review     Length:: 3:27 Mins
The Sony Xperia E1 is the follow up to the Sony Xperia E, a great little budget phone that had a nice design but whose screen feels a little small by todays standard. The Xperia E1 has expanded the screen and changed the design to give it the same overall look as the more expensive Xperia phones such as the Xperia M2 or Z range.

The...
Published 4 months ago by Reviewify.co.uk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good budget smart phone, Sony up their game, 13 April 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I've used a few of the budget Sony smartphones before and felt they were a bit lacking in a few key areas (screen quality and not as quick as I wanted processor wise) The older Xperia E was not as good as it should have been (in my view)

The Xperia E1 is much improved in some respects and running Android 4.3 out of the box, though it's not the last word in budget phones it's worth looking at.
My quick summary of the good and bad...

Pros:
+ 1.2 GHz Qualcomm MSM8210 dual-core, this is good enough for most users and doesn't suffer the lag of the older E, it's pretty snappy
+ Screen is vastly improved in every respect, larger, higher resolution, more colours and better contrast
+ The sound is good, Sony make a big deal out of the xLOUD speaker and it's not hype it's pretty impressive for a built in speaker (and yes it is loud! but as per most built in speaker not much bass)
+ Build is ok for this price range, joins and seams are tight with no creaking, though the plastics used could be higher quality
+ I had no problems or issues with wifi connection, or call quality and day to day use.
+ Fairly well featured for a budget end phone, as usual Sony cater quite well for the entertainment side with their Walkman (which has a dedicated button on the top of the phone - good for music quick playing), Movies app, and sound filters.
+ Bluetooth 4.0, aGPS
+ Battery Stamina mode, it's not a gimmick it does help (turns off wifi and connections quite aggressive battery management- you can cusomise the notifications) heavy users will need a charge every other day, but lighter ones can go a bit longer.

Cons:
- 512MB ram ok it's a budget phone, but still Android does like a bit more memory at times
- Camera is "ok" but nothing to get worked up over 3mp no flash, fairly basic passable for snaps. Budget models don't do well here, and the E1 is about average ok in good light not so great low light. Video is basic enough and can be a bit choppy at times too.
- While the screen is much improved, the viewing angles could be better, not great in this area
- No NFC (becoming more sought after)
- No front facing camera, even a basic one would be useful (skype etc)

Other information:
Micro SD supports up to 32GB
GMS networks: 850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz

Xperia E1 "major" improvements v the E

+ Screen is now 4" v the 3.5" on the older model and resolution is much better too (480x800 v 320x480). A lot More colours 16 million v 262k big difference overall
+ Dual core processor 1.2GHz v the single core 1 GHz (this is a very obvious in using both handsets the older E is just "slow")
+ Longer battery life (Sony quote over 8 hours talk time v just over 6 for the E) battery is up to 1750mAh v 1500mAh on the E (but note the screen is bigger) Day to day not a big difference though between the 2 models
+ Newer graphics processor Adreno 302 is more able to deal with games and 3d applications over the old one.

There are a lot of rivals out there and whilst the E1 doesn't blow the barn doors off spec wise, it does at least bring the older E (which was in my view a bit dated even at launch) up to par. Gone are the laggy slow responses (do bear in mind the ram is only 512MB though) and sub par screen that we had previously wasn't the most convincing offering for a budget Android handset. Games also play quite a lot better on the E1 (it's not top tier by any means but acceptable at this price point)

This is a much nicer phone to use, and no doubt will drop a little in price. Worth considering in this price range, where as the older E wasn't really. You can buy the Xperia J which is a bit cheaper in price, but it's only got the single core processor (and like the old E is not a fast handset) There are rivals that have somewhat better screens than the E1 (even though it's improved quite a bit it's a normal TFT not an IPS like the Lumia 520). It's a good choice for heavy music users thanks to the walkman button, good EQ settings and above average sound quality.

I'll give it 4 stars and will update the review with any issues/problems over time. Quite a solid offering that's worth consideration. The market is quite a bit more competitive though with lots of improved models out there so have a look around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent budget Android phone, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony Xperia E1 UK SIM-Free Smartphone - Black (Wireless Phone)
I've used a few of the budget Sony smartphones before and felt they were a bit lacking in a few key areas (screen quality and not as quick as I wanted processor wise) The older Xperia E was not as good as it should have been (in my view)

The Xperia E1 is much improved in some respects and running Android 4.3 out of the box, though it's not the last word in budget phones it's worth looking at.
My quick summary of the good and bad...

Pros:
+ 1.2 GHz Qualcomm MSM8210 dual-core, this is good enough for most users and doesn't suffer the lag of the older E, it's pretty snappy
+ Screen is vastly improved in every respect, larger, higher resolution, more colours and better contrast
+ The sound is good, Sony make a big deal out of the xLOUD speaker and it's not hype it's pretty impressive for a built in speaker (and yes it is loud! but as per most built in speaker not much bass)
+ Build is ok for this price range, joins and seams are tight with no creaking, though the plastics used could be higher quality
+ I had no problems or issues with wifi connection, or call quality and day to day use.
+ Fairly well featured for a budget end phone, as usual Sony cater quite well for the entertainment side with their Walkman (which has a dedicated button on the top of the phone - good for music quick playing), Movies app, and sound filters.
+ Bluetooth 4.0, aGPS
+ Battery Stamina mode, it's not a gimmick it does help (turns off wifi and connections quite aggressive battery management- you can cusomise the notifications) heavy users will need a charge every other day, but lighter ones can go a bit longer.

Cons:
- 512MB ram ok it's a budget phone, but still Android does like a bit more memory at times
- Camera is "ok" but nothing to get worked up over 3mp no flash, fairly basic passable for snaps. Budget models don't do well here, and the E1 is about average ok in good light not so great low light. Video is basic enough and can be a bit choppy at times too.
- While the screen is much improved, the viewing angles could be better, not great in this area
- No NFC (becoming more sought after)
- No front facing camera, even a basic one would be useful (skype etc)

Other information:
Micro SD supports up to 32GB
GMS networks: 850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz

Xperia E1 "major" improvements v the E

+ Screen is now 4" v the 3.5" on the older model and resolution is much better too (480x800 v 320x480). A lot More colours 16 million v 262k big difference overall
+ Dual core processor 1.2GHz v the single core 1 GHz (this is a very obvious in using both handsets the older E is just "slow")
+ Longer battery life (Sony quote over 8 hours talk time v just over 6 for the E) battery is up to 1750mAh v 1500mAh on the E (but note the screen is bigger) Day to day not a big difference though between the 2 models
+ Newer graphics processor Adreno 302 is more able to deal with games and 3d applications over the old one.

There are a lot of rivals out there and whilst the E1 doesn't blow the barn doors off spec wise, it does at least bring the older E (which was in my view a bit dated even at launch) up to par. Gone are the laggy slow responses (do bear in mind the ram is only 512MB though) and sub par screen that we had previously wasn't the most convincing offering for a budget Android handset. Games also play quite a lot better on the E1 (it's not top tier by any means but acceptable at this price point)

This is a much nicer phone to use, and no doubt will drop a little in price. Worth considering in this price range, where as the older E wasn't really. You can buy the Xperia J which is a bit cheaper in price, but it's only got the single core processor (and like the old E is not a fast handset) There are rivals that have somewhat better screens than the E1 (even though it's improved quite a bit it's a normal TFT not an IPS like the Lumia 520). It's a good choice for heavy music users thanks to the walkman button, good EQ settings and above average sound quality.

I'll give it 4 stars and will update the review with any issues/problems over time. Quite a solid offering that's worth consideration. The market is quite a bit more competitive though with lots of improved models out there so have a look around or wait for a price drop on some networks the phone is fairly cheap as a pay as you go option
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Powerful and Very Clever, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Xperia E1 UK SIM-Free Smartphone - Black (Wireless Phone)
OK it is budget smartphone but it does everything I could ever need and more.

It seems to be very stable and I have none of the memory issues or crashes others mention. Perhaps the latest fixes have solved these.

Listen to the radio, tweet some stuff and take pictures Bob's your uncle. If you don't want to think to hard or paw over techie specs just buy one of these and chat to your friends.

Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Budget mobile, does the job, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Reviewify.co.uk "Mark" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony Xperia E1 UK SIM-Free Smartphone - Black (Wireless Phone)
Length:: 3:27 Mins

The Sony Xperia E1 is the follow up to the Sony Xperia E, a great little budget phone that had a nice design but whose screen feels a little small by todays standard. The Xperia E1 has expanded the screen and changed the design to give it the same overall look as the more expensive Xperia phones such as the Xperia M2 or Z range.

The changes give you a screen size of 4" and it's a decent enough screen for this price point. The phone is powered by a 1.2 GHz duel core processor which is nippy enough for everyday tasks. Android feels smooth and you get the same Sony interface as you'd find across the Sony range. In terms of the styling the Xperia E1 feels like a step back from the original Xperia E, it feels a lot more plasticy and is a little fatter.

Where this differs from the rest of the Sony range is that rather than a dedicated camera button you get a dedicated Walkman button on the top of the mobile which can be used to start the Walkman app and control playback. The Xperia E1 speaker is fairly loud, as loud as some low cost Bluetooth speakers, and like low cost speakers the Xperia E1 also suffers the same lack of bass.

Given this is a phone apparently aimed at a younger audience it's surprising there is no front facing camera for the inevitable selfies such a market would want to take. Around the back is a 3 megapixel camera that doesn't have a flash and takes just OK photos. Video is also just OK, you can see an example in the review video and while it does the job it's clear this mobile isn't for those who want a photo/video mobile.

Internal space is rather small so you'll want to pop a microSD card in fairly quickly, especially if you want to download any games. Games run OK, the small screen means that for some games your hands might get in the way of the on screen action, but as you'll see in the video the Xperia E1 coped well with a racing game.

To get this phone at such a low price you'll have to accept a few trade offs, but accepting those cuts gives you a decent mobile that lets you do the basics for a relatively low cost. However, if you're budget can stretch to it and you're interested in Sony phones then the Sony Xperia M2 UK Sim Free Smartphone - Black gives a much better all round experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a little Cracker!, 19 May 2014
I read the other reviews with a smile. It seems that people forget that you can pay 100's of pounds for phones these days. This is just over £100 or less than £10 per month on contract.
It's a smashing little phone. Just the right size, with easy to reach controls and very intuitive to use.
The battery came 50% charged (amazing) and I was able to set up the phone with the minimum of fuss and with very little reference to the manual - I am a man after all!
You do need to be a Googlite. Sorry you need to have a Google account and it definitely suits anyone who uses Google's products. But please don't be put off if you don't.
I like the android operating system, it is very easy to use. The screen is a beauty, very clear and the touch is extremely responsive. Easily up to Apple standards.
I won't go on about the music aspect but suffice to say it is excellent. Films look great as do still pictures.
I have never really used any phone to take serious photos so I am not disappointed by the camera. If you take a snap shot it is more than adequate. If you want a great shot, buy a dedicated camera!
I bought a 32gb micro SD card as I want to store a lot of music, photos and films.
Overall, thoroughly recommended. I can't see that I need anything more powerful or expensive.

Update - I've now been using this for a couple of weeks and have upgraded from 4 Stars to 5 Stars. This really is a great little phone. I've now managed to sync with my business calendar and contacts via outlook using the Sony software. Very easy as it turned out. As an added bonus this also updates my Google Calendar - very useful. I am now using the music aspect of the phone on a regular basis - absolutely fantastic. I love it :)

Before you fork out mega money for other phones, check this one out. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Careful what you wish for..., 28 Nov 2014
By 
D. Bloomfield "a music fan" (coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony Xperia E1 UK SIM-Free Smartphone - Black (Wireless Phone)
This is a very poor phone and a massive disappointment on my previous Sony phone. My last one was an excellent piece of kit and I was clearly hoping for more of the same...

This E1 lags badly and restarts on a daily basis. I've stripped back the apps - leaving only the apps that were on the phone when I bought it - and it still cannot cope with even the most simple of tasks, so I've even removed some of the apps that were pre-installed but it doesn't appear to be able to cope with anything; phone calls cut out, texts won't send - I end up holding the phone up in the air hoping the phone sends it! - it's pathetic and Sony should feel ashamed of themselves.

Clearly the dual-core processor isn't up to scratch and struggles to complete any task but to not be able to make calls is pathetic. This is my main issue: I should be able to make and receive calls and send and receive texts but this phone struggles with this.

My wish was to find an affordable phone and I bought this for £80 - cheap for a smartphone. I thought I was getting Sony quality, I should have been more careful and doubled that and got myself a decent phone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value but topped by the Moto G, 3 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Sony Xperia E1 UK SIM-Free Smartphone - Black (Wireless Phone)
This phone is very much a case of you get what you pay for, which suits me fine.

It's a nice size, if a little chunky, with decent build quality and I've found it to be pretty snappy. Having come from a samsung the sony skin is nice to use on top of android.

The clincher for me was the addition of a memory card slot, in which i have a 32gb card mostly for spotify music. Be aware however there is only about 2gb of available on board storage. I had hoped any apps i download could be put on the card but this unfortunately doesn't appear to be the case.

Ive not found battery life to be an issue. Im a light user and get about 2.5 days standby time. This is without using wifi and gps but with about an hours music listening per day and with the 'stamina mode' active.

For circa £100 Im not sure if you can do much better. If your willing to spend a little more and not bothered by memory the moto G is a better choice.

----------------------
Update 05/09/2014
----------------------

Pro's and cons after 4 months use....

Pro's

- The phone has received an update to kitkat which has vastly improved the stability and performance. I used to experience random crashes, as reported in other reviews but since the update the phone has been flawless.
- The kitkat update now allows apps to be installed on the memory card. With a 32gb memory card I have all the space I need on a sub £100 phone.
- I'm still finding battery life to be impressive, around 3 days on standby, although this is with light use - a few phone calls, a few txts, maybe half an hour of music and internet browsing a day.

Cons

- I have found the GPS to be sluggish in locking onto a signal.
- The Walkman button is more annoying than useful.
- As reported by others I have experienced cosmetic damage with minimal wear and tear. 2 letters of the foil sony logo on the back of the phone have peeled off and dropping the phone on it's edge has taken a chip out of the plastic in the corner.

Sticking with 4 stars. Still represents good value for money in my opinion although the mobile market moves at such a rapid pace. The 4.4.2 kitkat upgrade saves this phone, otherwise my updated review would have put this as 1 star with some of the other reviews.

The E3 will arrive soon, as will the new moto G which is the best option at the budget price point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap phone, in every aspect., 17 Nov 2014
By 
Portomomo (Lisboa, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony Xperia E1 UK SIM-Free Smartphone - Black (Wireless Phone)
Got the phone as a replacement for my old smartphone. It was cheap but no the cheapest, but used to quality from SONY I gave it a try.
The first thing I noticed was the cheap plastic look and feel and the cheap build quality: lettering peeling off after few days of use, physical buttons not very firm, thin plastic covers.
Second surprise: the LCD is blueish, no way to calibrate it right, your portraits will all look a little pale and... death.
Camera, a disappointing lens, not at all in line with the quality expected from SONY (I'm using SONY cameras professionally and I know what to expect from a cheap phone camera)
Third problem: the phone is not supporting external bluetooth keyboards natively (something confirmed by Sony support), I'm still looking for a workaround.
And finally... the phone crashes/restarts twice a day. And when it freezes...
No wonder that SONY's cell phone market share lies under 3% offering customers cheapish devices like the E1.
Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling Phone, 26 Aug 2014
By 
D. Russell (West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony Xperia E1 UK SIM-Free Smartphone - Black (Wireless Phone)
Absolutely appalling phone. I purchased a brand new Xperia E1 from Phones 4u after seeing it on amazon (as I was going away on holiday to Scotland) and was fine for the first day or so, then the sony foil lettering started to come off the battery door, which was very strongly welded to the back of the phone (hard to get off without a 1p coin) and then on the third day of use, the phone started to freeze and crash and had a white screen and then almost a week later, I had to call Phones 4u customer care as it would not work at all, and then as it died I had to have it replaced but not for another Sony!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible phone, 24 Oct 2014
By 
A. Mingoia "Webmonkey" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony Xperia E1 UK SIM-Free Smartphone - Black (Wireless Phone)
Seemed okay at first, although the camera quality was hugely disappointing. I've never found the macro setting, the zoom sucks (although at least it has a zoom I suppose), and it doesn't focus very well. The Sony version of Jelly bean doesn't look or behave anything like my previous Samsung phone. It displays MMS messages better, but that's the only improvement as far as I can see.

Very quickly the silver Sony lettering on the back started dropping off. After a couple of months it started freezing up regularly (4-5 times a week), and the only way to restart it would be to take the back off and remove the battery. Now (after 4 months) it also randomly cuts off calls and shuts down, and frequently dumps half its battery charge without warning.

Emailing photos from this phone only works half of the time, webpages are so slow to load that eventually the phone just gives up, and most of the time it has trouble getting a phone signal.

I don't have many apps at all, but the internal memory is already 85% full. It won't let me install any more apps until I transfer data from the phone to the sd card, but every time the transfer fails. It keeps trying to upgrade to new software, and that fails too.

Having reached the verge of throwing this phone out of the window, I will be switching back to my old Samsung Galaxy Fame - a terrible phone, but not as bad as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews