Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on image making
The best book on photography I have ever had the pleasure to read, that may seem an odd comment but Catherine's art is photography based. Very few books go into the why of image making, this one does and in great depth. Any photographer even if they are not interested in montage should have this book on their shelves, they will derive inspiration and pleasure from the...
Published 11 months ago by jimread

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visually inspiring
Visually, I've found the book inspiring, but couldn't say the same thing about the writing, of which there is too much. The earliest chapters, i.e. `Beauty and Idea `Influences" I found very tedious and initially I considered sending the book back. My first reaction being, why so many words from someone who is essentially a visual artist. I think she has been let...
Published 8 months ago by Wendy North


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on image making, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best book on photography I have ever had the pleasure to read, that may seem an odd comment but Catherine's art is photography based. Very few books go into the why of image making, this one does and in great depth. Any photographer even if they are not interested in montage should have this book on their shelves, they will derive inspiration and pleasure from the images as well as Catherine's words.

If like me you are interested in digital montage then this book will be your constant companion. I first became aware of Catherine's work in the days of Photoshop 4. I can recall being utterly gobsmacked by her work, so beautiful, such control of colour and with faultless composition.

She takes us through the process of making an image from scratch emphasising that you the reader should use what you are interested in. The old artistic method of copying is advocated, in my experience this is the best way to find out how to do it, 'Them as never made a mistake never made anything'. The images in this book will give everyone something to grasp at something to start with, something that they can say to themselves, 'I know how I can do that'. And then as Catherine says surely with a smile, '... your own vision will soon take over'.

The book does not contain great lists of Photoshop steps, she assumes that you will know the basics of layering and of selection. She does give some 'advanced' tips in the method chapter she does explain about the equipment you may need, non of it very expensive, older versions of Photoshop have all the tools to make the images in the book. The techniques are really quite easy it's the application that counts.

Where most 'how to' books stop this one carries on immersing the reader in concepts and the unconscious imagery that can be brought forth from the mind of us all to assist in the creation of an image. It encompasses and acknowledges the fact that everyone attempting this aspect of art will be using images from their own sources. Catherine's words and images will help that initial spark turn into the flame of inspiration and determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book by a remarkable and unique artist., 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my best buys this year. I believe she is working on a new book now, and I am looking forward to getting a copy of that too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring; informative; detailed but not complex; NOT a software manual., 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Alchemy: The Fine Art of Digital Montage (Kindle Edition)
I have been photographing for many years, and recently became interested in montage. I have no formal photography or art training, but this has given me an excellent grounding on concepts of art as they relate to the subject of montage.

Filled with illustrations to demonstrate topics visually, the author gives a comprehensive overview of all aspects of the art of montage, but doesn't give in-depth Photoshop tutorials, (leaving that to the plethora of existing books on the subject). She does, however, simplify workflow into what are the important steps to take in Photoshop, with some pointers on what works well/less well.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring stuff!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book, well worth the cost. It is an investment in yourself.
I discovered Catherines work about six years ago and have been amazed at the creative process that goes into her designs of images .
This book reveals her methods, knowledge and experience in a relaxed and informative way.
With an assumed basic photography and Photoshop knowledge, her ideas and the easy way she communicates will take your skills and inspiration to a new level.
Some books can be twice as much for half the information which makes this one very good value. I love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very artistic book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've admired Catherine's work for many years now and it was refreshing to get an insight into her working process. Whilst there are some technical guides, this isn't really a 'how to' book, it is much more of a guide to the thought processes and decision making. Very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound and powerful, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So here's an absolute must have for the digital artist. Renowned digital artist Catherine McIntyre weaves her magic spell on the reader and inspires the professional and budding amateur to new heights. The book is a surprisingly easy read, packed full of really practical hints and tips on creating unique images. Catherine uses her background in fine drawing and painting to guide the reader on acquiring source material, through composition and on to sophisticated image manipulation. And it's beautiful. The book is worth the cover price for the photographs alone! Alchemy is about turning base into noble, and with this to guide your hand, you too may touch the philosopher's stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visually inspiring, 22 April 2014
By 
Wendy North "Geo-primary" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Visually, I've found the book inspiring, but couldn't say the same thing about the writing, of which there is too much. The earliest chapters, i.e. `Beauty and Idea `Influences" I found very tedious and initially I considered sending the book back. My first reaction being, why so many words from someone who is essentially a visual artist. I think she has been let down by her editor. This book could have achieved far more visually with fewer words and more personal anecdotes and stories of the way images came about for different purposes and audiences. In the end I decided that the book was worth keeping for the inspirational images. The way I use it being to to scan and dip into it, reading only the parts around images that interest me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visual Alchemy: The Fine Art of Digital Montage
£14.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews