Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Earphones at this Price
These earphones are light, attractive and seem well built.

The cable is flat and doesn’t tangle but there is interference when the cable moves against clothing etc. The cable is Y shaped and where it joins there is a connector for the supplied extension cable. Without the extension it’s too short to be useable, with the extension it’s...
Published 11 months ago by neovia

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Extender broke after 6 weeks
I kept having a problem with headphones breaking after about 6 months, so I thought I'd try a more expensive pair and these looked great as they seem designed to protect against wear and tear with the features like the unpluggable extender cable, the cable clip, and the wire being at a 45 degrees angle coming out of the connector.

Anyway, after 6 weeks the...
Published 1 month ago by Bonobo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Earphones at this Price, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
These earphones are light, attractive and seem well built.

The cable is flat and doesn’t tangle but there is interference when the cable moves against clothing etc. The cable is Y shaped and where it joins there is a connector for the supplied extension cable. Without the extension it’s too short to be useable, with the extension it’s fine.

The sound is well balanced and definition is good, better than Soundmagic E10s for example. As expected, there is not as much detail as my more expensive on-ear headphones but I think they deserve 5 starts at the price (£85).
There is a good range of silicone tips and a set of medium Comply foam tips. These are great. Just squeeze slightly before inserting and they expand to give a perfect seal.

A handy hard shell case is included, a splitter and a clip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good addition to iBasso DX50 player when on the Go, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
Bought them for my wife to complement her iBasso DX50 player, and she certainly hears the difference from any other earphones she had to date. They seem to produce very good sound in the whole spectrum with a bit more emphasis on bass.
The construction is great, cables don't tangle, there's a good selection of ear tips, and the addition of a tiny carry case is a plus.
All in all, I'm happy, as my wife is very happy too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
Great sound, deep bass, middle and high range clear and natural, much recommended for music lovers and who do not want to spend too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Extender broke after 6 weeks, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
I kept having a problem with headphones breaking after about 6 months, so I thought I'd try a more expensive pair and these looked great as they seem designed to protect against wear and tear with the features like the unpluggable extender cable, the cable clip, and the wire being at a 45 degrees angle coming out of the connector.

Anyway, after 6 weeks the connector on the extender cable has broken, so it now needs that typical twisting to get the sound to come through and of course any movement stops it again. So the earphones can only be used without the extender, meaning the cable is very short indeed - only really usable if wearing a shirt with a top pocket to put the player in.

Apart from that these had been really good, the sound quality is great and I thought they were well designed and would last a long time. I've been extra careful with them as they were pricier than I've usually spent, but even so they've broken very quickly.

I can only think to try bluetooth earphones next, at least there won't be a cable to break!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound, Bad design., 23 Jan. 2015
By 
A. Dervin (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
I purchased these a year ago or so, looking to shell out on a decent set of headphones for the first time. The brand being recommended, I thought I'd placed my faith appropriately.

Not so.

The sound quality is acceptable but when compared to a normal set of headphones, nothing special. There's far too much bass and the overall volume through many devices is decidedly poor. Overall, unimpressive. And I'm a musician, and I like to be modest but I think I'm a reasonable judge of sound quality!

The extender is also a ridiculous idea. They become disconnected all the time and the extender broke, essentially rendering them useless until I purchased a cheap one on here.

These headphones aren't worth more than £15, let alone the 60 odd I wasted on them.

Don't do it. You can get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad quality sounds - good carrying case and ear bud, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
not bad quality sounds - good carrying case and ear bud. But, line is too short. if you use this for mobile phone, you need extra line(include product)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars present, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
I bought these a birthday present and the recipient is very pleased with the the sound quality of them and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, HIGHLY Annoying., 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
The Headphones sound good, but that doesn't make up for the ridiculous idea to have to use the extender at all times with the headphones.

The headphones are useless without the extender and they are constantly being unplugged from the extender by the slightest movement.

Also the connector has be sat in a specific way otherwise only one headphone works. Again, highly annoying.

The only way these headphones would be a good idea is if you plan on using them sat still in a coma like state.

Stay away, spend your money on another product that does not have a 'Friday afternoon' design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
Although clear these headphones lack any sonic wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great sound but missing y adapter, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones (Electronics)
These earphones sound great with no distortion or painful-sounding treble. The Comply tips work well but are difficult to remove. These are great however mine were missing the y adapter. These earphones are more inclined to sound bassy but the separation of instruments are good and vocals are prominent.
EDIT: since purchased I have had to replace the lower half of cable as the sound cut out. This happened even though I kept them in the case when not in use. This is why I bought these earphones, but I wasn't expecting it to happen so soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

beyerdynamic DX160 Portable Headphones
£70.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews