Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business
What at first seems like an odd alliance makes the most sense when you realise that Mick Green and the Pirates were the common denominator, shaping Wilko's guitar style and steering The Who towards its powerful approach with rhythm and lead guitars lines flowing seamlessly in and out of one another.

There are no prizes for innovation for the music on this...
Published 16 months ago by a music fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, but needs a R n' B vocalist
This is an LP looking for a vocalist. Daltrey is a rocker who, let's face it, is past his best and not a R n' B singer. At times it grates as he tries to make up for his lack of range by bawling. I don't dislike Daltrey and his vocals with The Who are great, but not what is wanted here. On the Live section of the bonus CD, it matters less. The "Wilko" versions of...
Published 5 months ago by Steve D


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

119 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
What at first seems like an odd alliance makes the most sense when you realise that Mick Green and the Pirates were the common denominator, shaping Wilko's guitar style and steering The Who towards its powerful approach with rhythm and lead guitars lines flowing seamlessly in and out of one another.

There are no prizes for innovation for the music on this album, but what a celebration of a classic style of R&B and a showcase for Wilko's song writing. The energy that powers many of these tracks is stunning and puts many a young band to shame. Wilko drives them along hard without letting up and Daltrey's puts in the best vocals that he's recorded in years. If only Pete Townshend could write something new to get him this fired up. In fact, the vocals are very reminiscent of the old High Numbers days when Daltrey tried his best to sound like a gruff and growling bluesman, now it comes naturally, but with an added power that defies his years.

This is good time music with old school excitement and urgency about it and it will put a smile on your face. It's all about having a good time and it's plain that the musicians had that in spades when they recorded the tracks. I hope that this album puts a smile on Wilko's face that even his rotten illness can't wipe off. This deserves to be a best selling album.

PS (2 May) I've just heard that Wilko has undergone a radical surgery to remove his tumour, which could give him a serious shot at survival - fingers crossed for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent R&B, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
G. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
A confession - I've never been a big fan of Daltrey's voice. I admire him rather than love him and have always found his style a tad one dimensional compared to some of the other iconic rock vocalists (the ultimate perhaps being Mr Percy Plant). In this setting, though, it really works. Not quite the glorious menace of Mr Brilleaux, but still a gruff, raw R&B joy, Daltrey responding brilliantly to the backing of the indefatigable, inexhaustible, irresistible Wilko. The only thing that would top this is a Volume 2, recorded in about a year's time, with Wilco still going strong. And then a Volume 3, 4, 5........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roger, Wilko... not out!, 24 Nov. 2014
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
“Going Back Home” was supposed to be a farewell album from Wilko after he was diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer. His plans were to do one final tour then spend his last days recording an album's worth of songs with Roger Daltrey. One revolutionary surgery later and, thankfully, Johnson is still alive, cancer free, so we end up with a win-win situation: a superb, career-defining album and the great guitarist still with us. Facing losing such an excellent musician, Wilko has enjoyed perhaps the most attention he has ever received and, instead of the general public realising what a talent he was after he is gone, he remains alive and well and now, it seems, a lot more appreciated than he was before. Of course, it is a pity that it took his battle with cancer to have his talent put in the spotlight, but it is evident that he has won a lot more fans because of his heightened profile and, also, the way he dealt with his illness.

If you like good old fashioned rhythm and blues, then “Going Back Home” will be like a breath of fresh air to you. It is a piece of work jam packed full of spiky, incisive riffs, Daltrey's gruff, bluesy delivery and some top notch musicianship from a fine band comprising of Blockheads Norman Watt-Roy (Bass) and Dylan Dowe (Drums), Style Council founder and current Dexy's member Mick Talbot (Piano/Organ) and Steve Weston (Harmonica). It is a massively enjoyable affair, a deeply life-affirming, joyful collection of songs and a rip-roaring listen from beginning to end; a superb good old-fashioned blues rock album without pretension. Although it's all pretty much great, I do have a handful of personal favourites. The riff on “Ice On The Motorway” is irresistible, “I Keep It To Myself” completely sweeps you away with a relentless groove and the Dylan cover “Can You Please Crawl Out Of Your Window” surely joins the ranks of the greatest Zimmerman interpretations ever. The last of my picks from the album sees another classic riff glueing the toe-tapping “Sneaking Suspicion” together, but, quite honestly, there isn't a below-par song to be found here.

Daltrey and Johnson are a great pairing, complimenting each others' styles perfectly. Whilst, given the quality of “Going Back Home” it may be impressive to know that the album was recorded in just a week, the urgency and energy contained within these tracks make it no surprise. Johnson's playing, at times, borders on the aggressive and Daltrey is singing like his life depends upon it; unique circumstances produced a unique album. Long-term Johnson fans will already be familiar with many of the songs on the album, but the extra dimension provided by the Who frontman and the tangible spark of electricity running through these tracks means that it will be thoroughly enjoyed by both old and new listeners. I'm not sure what the future holds for this collaboration, as Roger is now throwing himself into The Who's fiftieth anniversary celebrations and Wilko is still recovering from the major operation that saved his life. Given the sheer brilliance of “Going Home”, we can only hope that there will be another Daltrey/Johnson record some day soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving this little gem, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
I have to say although I like Dr Feelgood and The Who I wouldn't have bought this album. But having read a review in classic rock mag giving it 9 out of ten I thought well it's only a fiver lets give it a try. Well I'm glad I did. It's brilliant can't stop playing it. All the songs are Wilco's that he wrote for Feelgood with the exception of a Dylan cover which I'd never heard before. Every track is full of great Wilco guitar licks and sassy harmonica which I love. But the bonus on this album is Daltery. He sings Wilco's songs like a man reinvented. The Who were never like this. It's a piece of Rock n Roll and Harmonica heaven. Short but full of toe tapping tracks. Even the ballad Turned 21 a song about lost youth is good. I recommend this album if you like Feelgood but even if you don't give it a try you'll be pleasantly surprised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Johnson and Daltrey go home, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
In 2010 Roger Daltrey and Wilko Johnson found themselves sitting together at an awards ceremony. After talking about their love for old-style British R&B, the pair resolved to record an album together. And after Wilko was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in January 2013, he decided make the most of the time he had left and so Going Back Home was born.

Of the eleven tracks on the album, ten are drawn from Wilko's back catalogue, the eleventh is a cover of Bob Dylan's 'Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window'.

There's nothing particularly subtle about Going Back Home, Daltrey growls his way through a selection of classics from the Wilko songbook - such as 'Everybody's Carrying a Gun', 'Sneaking Suspicion' and 'Keep It Out of Sight' whilst former Blockheads Norman Watt-Roy and Dylan Howe, from Wilko's live band, as well as Mick Talbot and Steve Weston provide solid backup.

In summary, Going Back Home is a good record of British R&B that brings the career of a British music maverick to a decent end. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Fun then more Fun, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
Yes, Wilko is on his way to snuff it, but what a way to go, I have had a life threatening illness and my attitude was on the other extreme, I salute you sir. Back to the music, what an album, it is just everything the names on board suggest. From the first note, you have the distinctive guitar sound of Dr Feelgood with more energy, yes impossible I thought, but I had been a kid in a town just an hours drive from Southend, and to see Feelgood live was an experience, this has brought back those years, thank you. Roger Daltrey's voice has also come into a new faze of maturity, and the two musicians seem like they have worked together for life. Don't past this by, it is one great CD, good for parties or on your own and just wanting to jump with the feeling of life. I'm now GOING BACK HOME to listen again and look out for a long or short, but defiantly happy life. This just brings joy with every song, well nearly. Don't think, shall I buy it, just, DO IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album. Raw, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Fantastic album. Raw, gutsy with a hint of the blues. Old school raunchy rock n roll. Wilko's unique style of guitar coupled with Daltreys throaty yet melodic vocals put this album at the top of my play list daily. And I cannot forget the heart throbbing bass of Norman. Again unique in his playing and style. What an accomplishment these boys have put together.
Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracker from Wilko and Roger, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
This is a cracking album, I think. It's good, solid British R&B (in the old sense) with two geniuses of the genre on fine form. Seeing The Who at Charlton in 1974 and Dr Feelgood (twice) at close range in the Cambridge Corn Exchange around the same time remain among the great musical experiences of my life even 40 years on, and while Wilko, Daltrey and I are all old gits now, it's good to see that at least two out of the three of us have still got the old magic.

There is a mix of old Dr Feelgood songs, Wilko's own stuff and one Dylan cover in Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window. I think it's a joy from start to finish. They open with Going Back Home which Daltrey delivers (brilliantly) with a Brilleaux-esque growl way down in his throat (Wilko bends a string and that's all she wrote, of course) but it's recognisably his own take on it. Later in a fantastic Keep It Out Of Sight he really goes for the full Daltrey singing an octave above Brilleaux and, as Pete Townshend once memorably said of Love Reign O'er Me, Roger gives it his b*ll*cks. It's just great stuff all the way through.

Wilko is...well, Wilko. Brilliant, distinctive and perhaps slightly more solid and less bonkers than of old, he chops and hits that great beat like a teenager and in my mind he's still staring like a madman and moving around the stage as though he's on casters. Just perfect. The two of them and a very, very good band produce something really good here. Anyone with any interest in this type of music will love this and fans certainly won't be disappointed. This may well be Wilko's swan song and the decision to close the album with All Through The City is inspired.

If this is Wilko's last album it is one he can be proud of. Thanks for this, and for everything, Wilko. Go well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Back Home; Johnson & Daltrey, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
I Bought this on the strength of hearing one track on the radio ( I keep it to myself).
I could not believe that a man nearing 70 (when recording) could produce such a clear, strong tone (Roger Daltrey was 70 on 1 March) he has obviously learned to manage his voice and sing in a key and range where he can actually hit all the notes without sounding as if he is straining, unlike some of his peers! Equally, for a man given under a year to live in January 2013, Wilco Johnson should be on a cloud playing a harp! However he clearly felt he had unfinished business with his Fender.
I have been a Who fan from the start (early to mid sixties) but am nowhere near so familiar with Dr Feelgood or Wilko Johnson's work,this is a wrong I will have to right! What a guitarist this man is, I have heard interviews with Roger Daltrey and he has said he wanted to do this album for fun (and the Teenage Cancer Trust to whom he is donating his share of the earnings from this album) this sense of fun can be heard in the music and performances.
All in all a terrific album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Dose of Rythm 'n Blues - Good Stuff !, 26 Dec. 2014
By 
Simon F. Kidd (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
If you didn't buy the first CD, you will be rewarded with this double helping of cracking R & B. If you did buy it, don't worry, the second disk is worth the money alone. Thanks Wilko and thanks Roger for getting this out of the studio and over to us !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Back Home
Going Back Home by Roger Daltrey (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews