Customer Reviews


624 Reviews
5 star:
 (531)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business
What at first seems like an odd alliance makes the most sense when you realise that Mick Green and the Pirates were the common denominator, shaping Wilko's guitar style and steering The Who towards its powerful approach with rhythm and lead guitars lines flowing seamlessly in and out of one another.

There are no prizes for innovation for the music on this...
Published 8 months ago by a music fan

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid bluesy - good but not great
I love this in places, especially being a fan of both The Who and Dr Feelgood. Solid bluesy sound but Daltrey sounds a bit strained at times. Wilco is solid and chruns out the riffs as well as ever but my main criticism is that it is a bit one dimensional. Hence it gets a "good bit not great".
Published 2 months ago by Comical Engineer


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
What at first seems like an odd alliance makes the most sense when you realise that Mick Green and the Pirates were the common denominator, shaping Wilko's guitar style and steering The Who towards its powerful approach with rhythm and lead guitars lines flowing seamlessly in and out of one another.

There are no prizes for innovation for the music on this album, but what a celebration of a classic style of R&B and a showcase for Wilko's song writing. The energy that powers many of these tracks is stunning and puts many a young band to shame. Wilko drives them along hard without letting up and Daltrey's puts in the best vocals that he's recorded in years. If only Pete Townshend could write something new to get him this fired up. In fact, the vocals are very reminiscent of the old High Numbers days when Daltrey tried his best to sound like a gruff and growling bluesman, now it comes naturally, but with an added power that defies his years.

This is good time music with old school excitement and urgency about it and it will put a smile on your face. It's all about having a good time and it's plain that the musicians had that in spades when they recorded the tracks. I hope that this album puts a smile on Wilko's face that even his rotten illness can't wipe off. This deserves to be a best selling album.

PS (2 May) I've just heard that Wilko has undergone a radical surgery to remove his tumour, which could give him a serious shot at survival - fingers crossed for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving this little gem, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
I have to say although I like Dr Feelgood and The Who I wouldn't have bought this album. But having read a review in classic rock mag giving it 9 out of ten I thought well it's only a fiver lets give it a try. Well I'm glad I did. It's brilliant can't stop playing it. All the songs are Wilco's that he wrote for Feelgood with the exception of a Dylan cover which I'd never heard before. Every track is full of great Wilco guitar licks and sassy harmonica which I love. But the bonus on this album is Daltery. He sings Wilco's songs like a man reinvented. The Who were never like this. It's a piece of Rock n Roll and Harmonica heaven. Short but full of toe tapping tracks. Even the ballad Turned 21 a song about lost youth is good. I recommend this album if you like Feelgood but even if you don't give it a try you'll be pleasantly surprised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent R&B, 13 Aug 2014
By 
G. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
A confession - I've never been a big fan of Daltrey's voice. I admire him rather than love him and have always found his style a tad one dimensional compared to some of the other iconic rock vocalists (the ultimate perhaps being Mr Percy Plant). In this setting, though, it really works. Not quite the glorious menace of Mr Brilleaux, but still a gruff, raw R&B joy, Daltrey responding brilliantly to the backing of the indefatigable, inexhaustible, irresistible Wilko. The only thing that would top this is a Volume 2, recorded in about a year's time, with Wilco still going strong. And then a Volume 3, 4, 5........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Back Home - Wilko and Daltry, 11 Aug 2014
By 
D. J. Wilden "denise7248" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Just amazing, I knew lots of Roger because of the Who but only really knew of Wilko from Dr. Feelgood and then I saw him with Ian Dury on a Whistle Test. I just love this album, its really amazing and at the time of writing this review its at number 30 in the album charts (11.08.2014). I'm taking a leap of faith with a lot of music I am buying lately, know little or nothing of the artist but buying anyway and finding out I LOVE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Johnson and Daltrey go home, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
In 2010 Roger Daltrey and Wilko Johnson found themselves sitting together at an awards ceremony. After talking about their love for old-style British R&B, the pair resolved to record an album together. And after Wilko was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in January 2013, he decided make the most of the time he had left and so Going Back Home was born.

Of the eleven tracks on the album, ten are drawn from Wilko's back catalogue, the eleventh is a cover of Bob Dylan's 'Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window'.

There's nothing particularly subtle about Going Back Home, Daltrey growls his way through a selection of classics from the Wilko songbook - such as 'Everybody's Carrying a Gun', 'Sneaking Suspicion' and 'Keep It Out of Sight' whilst former Blockheads Norman Watt-Roy and Dylan Howe, from Wilko's live band, as well as Mick Talbot and Steve Weston provide solid backup.

In summary, Going Back Home is a good record of British R&B that brings the career of a British music maverick to a decent end. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracker from Wilko and Roger, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
This is a cracking album, I think. It's good, solid British R&B (in the old sense) with two geniuses of the genre on fine form. Seeing The Who at Charlton in 1974 and Dr Feelgood (twice) at close range in the Cambridge Corn Exchange around the same time remain among the great musical experiences of my life even 40 years on, and while Wilko, Daltrey and I are all old gits now, it's good to see that at least two out of the three of us have still got the old magic.

There is a mix of old Dr Feelgood songs, Wilko's own stuff and one Dylan cover in Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window. I think it's a joy from start to finish. They open with Going Back Home which Daltrey delivers (brilliantly) with a Brilleaux-esque growl way down in his throat (Wilko bends a string and that's all she wrote, of course) but it's recognisably his own take on it. Later in a fantastic Keep It Out Of Sight he really goes for the full Daltrey singing an octave above Brilleaux and, as Pete Townshend once memorably said of Love Reign O'er Me, Roger gives it his b*ll*cks. It's just great stuff all the way through.

Wilko is...well, Wilko. Brilliant, distinctive and perhaps slightly more solid and less bonkers than of old, he chops and hits that great beat like a teenager and in my mind he's still staring like a madman and moving around the stage as though he's on casters. Just perfect. The two of them and a very, very good band produce something really good here. Anyone with any interest in this type of music will love this and fans certainly won't be disappointed. This may well be Wilko's swan song and the decision to close the album with All Through The City is inspired.

If this is Wilko's last album it is one he can be proud of. Thanks for this, and for everything, Wilko. Go well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album. Raw, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
Fantastic album. Raw, gutsy with a hint of the blues. Old school raunchy rock n roll. Wilko's unique style of guitar coupled with Daltreys throaty yet melodic vocals put this album at the top of my play list daily. And I cannot forget the heart throbbing bass of Norman. Again unique in his playing and style. What an accomplishment these boys have put together.
Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Back Home; Johnson & Daltrey, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
I Bought this on the strength of hearing one track on the radio ( I keep it to myself).
I could not believe that a man nearing 70 (when recording) could produce such a clear, strong tone (Roger Daltrey was 70 on 1 March) he has obviously learned to manage his voice and sing in a key and range where he can actually hit all the notes without sounding as if he is straining, unlike some of his peers! Equally, for a man given under a year to live in January 2013, Wilco Johnson should be on a cloud playing a harp! However he clearly felt he had unfinished business with his Fender.
I have been a Who fan from the start (early to mid sixties) but am nowhere near so familiar with Dr Feelgood or Wilko Johnson's work,this is a wrong I will have to right! What a guitarist this man is, I have heard interviews with Roger Daltrey and he has said he wanted to do this album for fun (and the Teenage Cancer Trust to whom he is donating his share of the earnings from this album) this sense of fun can be heard in the music and performances.
All in all a terrific album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album by Wilko and Roger, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Robin Stephenson (Wilmslow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (Audio CD)
As a fairly recent fan of Wilko, I have ordered alot of his back catalogue, and looked forward to this release with great interest. It is fantastic to hear Wilko's blistering riffs backed by a terrific band- while part of me prefers Wilko to sing his own tracks, Roger's vocal dexterity lends a new dimension to these classic tracks. Keep on rocking Wilko- one of this countries greatest and most unsung guitar heroes. You live forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars walking on the edge, play safe by going back home, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home (MP3 Download)
Wilko Johnson is one of the all time greats, Roger Daltrey is one of the all time greats.Why it has taken the sad news of wilko's impending death from cancer to get the two together is a mystery to me.
Genius guitarist coupled with vocals to die for combined to leave the listener wanting more, which sadly there probably will not be.
i was lucky enough to see wilko johnson and the solid senders perform at Bradys ( formerly Eric's ). i also watched Dr Feelgood at three different venues. Therefore i am biased. But if you like good music and you're thinking of buying you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Back Home
Going Back Home by Wilko Johnson (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews