Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality
I used to buy cheap cookware thinking it was better to replace them every year than pay through the nose for a decent set, but the Teflon coating would blister, peel and flake away so they were false economy. I took a chance with Tefal a few years ago and it paid off. I still have the pans and they are as good today as they when I first bought them. Naturally, I was more...
Published 3 months ago by SBno1

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars if it ain't broke...
Tefal are a trusted brand but arguably better placed for mid tier home cooking ware than high quality pots and pans. And prided on non stick. Take any survey on who makes non stick and guaranteed Tefal would score highly. But how do they cook and why on earth do you need pans without handles...?

For sure here's a neat idea. Trust Tefal to bring it to market...
Published 2 months ago by mfl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality, 20 May 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I used to buy cheap cookware thinking it was better to replace them every year than pay through the nose for a decent set, but the Teflon coating would blister, peel and flake away so they were false economy. I took a chance with Tefal a few years ago and it paid off. I still have the pans and they are as good today as they when I first bought them. Naturally, I was more than happy to try out this new range.

The first thing I noticed was the moderately small box these were packed into, much smaller than a full set with handles attached. This is a massive bonus for me as I don't have a lot of kitchen storage available. These pans all nest inside of each other and because the handles are detached they don't all sit at an odd angle with handles taking up valuable room.

If you are familiar with the Tefal range then you will know just how good these pots and pans feel. They are a decent thickness with a strongly bonded Teflon layer that doesn't suffer the same fate as cheaper alternatives. Although I always avoid it, they are reported to be resistant to metal utensils (with the exception of knives and whisks) and are quite happy to have the bases of the other pans sat on the coating when nested together. With the exception of the saucepans, they have the red thermal spot indicator to show the correct temperature has been reached for cooking. They are easy to clean and as the non-stick quality is so good they are pretty much clean after a quick rinse. They are dishwasher safe, although some fading is evident on the underside. As the handles are detachable they are easier to load in the dishwasher. Though I have to say that they are so easy to wash, I find it quicker to hand wash these than to load them in the dishwasher.

The detachable handles take a little getting used to. It seems a bit odd to put a pan on the stove and then remove the handle. The handle simply clicks into place anywhere on the outer lip and a press of the side buttons releases it. The thought of a clip on handle filled me with images of the pan falling off, but as soon as it clips on you know the pan is clamped tight and is not going to fall off. I don't think you could fill the pan with enough weight for it to break off and it is reported to take up to 10 kg and that is a lot of weight. The other advantage of a detachable handle s that there is no handle to knock or catch when on the stove, but do remember where you put the handle when you have a pot on the boil.

The glass lids have a silicone surround which protects it from knocks and some drops and also allows the pan to ventilate. The handles are like butterfly wings that fold up to pick up and fold flat to pack. There is also a set of plastic lids should you wish to store the contents of a pot or pan in the fridge for a few days/hours.

This is a well made, high quality set that should last for years with the right care and attention. The idea of removable handles and ability to move from hob to oven, stack inside each other and also use for food storage is something that makes you think "Why wasn't this done years ago".

I would highly recommend this set and I would say that it is 5 star quality, but you need to think carefully about what you need. There are only 2 saucepans, so you cannot immediately replace all of your older cookware. I think they may have been better off sacrificing a frying pan or sauté pan for another saucepan and lid. The current price of 144 GBP is a blow to the budget, you may be better off buying the 3 piece saucepan set and a 2 piece frying pan set which works out at the current price of 108 GBP (although there are no lids).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nearly all things to all people, 4 May 2014
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Make no mistake, this is a neat idea: a wide range of enamelled non-stick pans with detachable handles and assorted lids that go from hob to oven to table to fridge to freezer. Tefal have covered the entire process end-to-end and done it pretty well. The quality of the components is good, heat dissipation excellent and functional performance, for the price, not at all bad.

Maybe if you could afford it you would equip yourself with the best individual pots but for 144 this would make an ideal starter kit for a newly-cohabiting couple, for example. With third generation non-stick they are also likely to be hard-wearing, which after years of finding yourself eating sections of Teflon coating is a very welcome improvement. Personally, I have another Tefal ovenproof aluminium non-stick frying/sauté pan that remains my favourite, but you could certainly use the one provided for some years without any issue.

Only two gripes that I can think of, one being that the saucepan lids are flat and fiddly and a bit tricky to wash. They come with dimples to accommodate the handle mechanism, so you will inevitable get some seepage of steam from the pan - not a huge deal but not perfect for all dishes. The second is the lack of a proper casserole within the set. The biggest pot would be OK for a smallish slow-cooked dinner but you would need something akin to a Le Creuset to do it properly, so it would be unreasonable to assume this collection is perfect for all occasions.

Otherwise, a product set well worth making and well worth considering if you need a new set of pans for (almost) all purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So simple, why didn’t anyone think of it before?, 26 April 2014
By 
Mike France (SW France) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I’m not sure how long the Ingenio system has been on the market but I note that Tefal claim that they have 20 million users of it worldwide. So, can 20 million people be wrong? In the case of this product I don’t think so.

The set consists of six solid, pans (2 frying, 1 sauté, 1 wok, 2 saucepans) that stack neatly inside each other; perfect for those of use wanting a good range of pans but possessing limited cupboard space. The detachable handles seem to be robust and work well, creating further space savings once in the oven.

We have been using a smaller set Ingenio pans for a couple of months now and have found the non-stick coating to be very effective, easy to clean and durable, though the makers caution against using knives and whisks in them. My wife has found that the pans' design allows them to double as cake tins, creating more space saving as older, worn dedicated tins can be disposed of!

Quality and good practical design shines out on the Ingenio range. They represent good value for money and I am sure there will be a lot more than 20 million users in a very short space of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious!, 10 May 2014
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was initially rather unsure about using saucepans and frying pans with detachable handles - hot liquids and hot fats can be dangerous enough already! However, after having used Tefal's Ingenio range for a few weeks I feel very happy with the build quality and safety aspects of the products.

This enamel set is suitable for all cookers except induction - there is another, more expensive, set which can also be used with induction hobs. The design is really quite ingenious - it is practical and space-saving and with two saucepans, two frying pans a sauté pan and a wok it will meet many of your cooking requirements. The 3 glass lids fit the saucepans and the wok and the 2 plastic lids fit the saucepans for storing leftovers in the fridge after cooking. The 2 detachable handles fit all 6 pans and can be clipped anywhere around the rim, and are quite easy to attach and remove.

Whether you are looking for a first set of pans or some additional ones the Tefal Ingenio range is well worth considering. This 13 piece set is a good all-rounder but there are plenty of other ways to buy products in the range. The pans have been in daily use since they arrived and have become the number one choice for all the cooks in our house! A very ingenious cookware concept and still manufactured in France by Tefal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tefal 13-Piec Ingenio Enamel Set, 5 May 2014
By 
W. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This set of pans is a versatile addition to the kitchen. Its stack-ability is a major advantage as they can be stored in a relatively small space - a big asset in a kitchen with limited storage space. The detachable handle is a great idea. Being able to place the pans in the oven, fridge, dishwasher and onto the table makes them very practical. See-through lids enable the user to monitor how the food is cooking, as an alternative to lifting the lid and peering at the contents through a face-full of steam as with most other pans - and the thermo spot prevents over-heating. I found the pans light to use but not dangerously so and keeping them clean is easy.
The accompanying leaflet with the care instructions, although obviously necessary, was not reader-friendly. The print was very small and the layout would be improved and easier to follow in a larger brochure. Otherwise, I am delighted with the product itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space saving, 3 May 2014
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an amazingly well designed set of cooking pots and pans, which provides a versatile array of both oven and top of stove equipment which should easily over any cooking needs.The pans are well made and I have found work well on the top of the stove as well as in the oven. The best thing is how well they stack neatly one into the other and so take up very little space. I can imagine they would be a brilliant gift to a student about to undertake self catering, or a practical wedding gift for a young couple setting up home. As the set takes up very little space it would be a useful addition to the luggage of anyone about to go on a self catering holiday as experience tells me that few cottages or standing caravans provide a decent set of equipment. fjs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great concept, 23 April 2014
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am really impressed by this set of saucepans that I was sent to review recently.

First of all, the basics, they were packed well, and delivered at the usual Amazon faster than a speeding bullet.

Now onto the product.

First of all the things I love:

* This set of two frying pans, a sauté pan, a wok and two saucepans, nests and so takes up very little space
* There are star shaped pieces of cardboard in the packaging to stop the nesting pans scuffing each other which I have retained, I notice Lakeland do a similar product to protect your pans for when the cardboard disintegrates.
* The pans are, as one would expect from Tefal solid and very well made.
* The non stick has been very effective so far, and I will update this review after the pans have been given a few months of use
* The red dot in the middle of the frying pans is useful and you can see when the pan has come up to heat before placing a nice juicy steak, (or anything else you wish) into the pan.
* The handle is very easy to click on, and when you press the two buttons at the side click off.
* The pans are a very good assortment of sizes, which should cover most people needs.
* I LOVE the ability to cook a meal, and then simply pop the plastic top on the pan and place it in the fridge.
* Equally I love being able to pop the pan in the oven, either to keep warm, finish cooking, or (as I hate the tops of eggs runny) to set the tops of fried eggs.
* I Love the fact the pans go in the oven without handles so they take up less room.
* The lids are glass, with a very neat easy to lift handle (which folds flat for stacking), and a soft rubber seal.
* As I need some new cake tins, I have also realised that these pans will also work as cake tins!
* The outside of the pan is enamel, and so far is easy to clean, and goes through the dishwasher a treat.

Things I am not so pleased with:

*The handle clamps on very well, but there is a slight wobble, (very slight) but is noticeable when you use the frying pans, sauté pan and wok, but you do get used to it, and there is no danger of the handle coming off.
*The handle clamps metal to metal and I worry that over time this may damage the non stick, however in fairness this would be at the top of the pan, which is not really a cooking surface.

As a Le Creuset fan, I have been trying to find fault with these pans, but honestly I cannot, the concept is very clever, the quality is very good, and the most important of all usability and cookability is very high as well.

I really could not be more happy with this set of pans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars if it ain't broke..., 26 May 2014
By 
mfl (london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tefal are a trusted brand but arguably better placed for mid tier home cooking ware than high quality pots and pans. And prided on non stick. Take any survey on who makes non stick and guaranteed Tefal would score highly. But how do they cook and why on earth do you need pans without handles...?

For sure here's a neat idea. Trust Tefal to bring it to market too.

The idea is simply three fold. Save on storage space / regularly cook on hob and transfer to oven / regularly cook on hob and transfer to table. Not do any of these / regularly do any of these, you decide if it's worth the increased investment. Unless you are really crushed for space or have probably a different cooking style to most family households, then these pans are a waste of time if not, a waste of space.

For what they are, they are typical Tefal quality so reliable and well made enough to last a few years in an average home kitchen. The handle takes a bit of getting used to and will catch an errant stirring spoon. They wash well enough too and it's a saving grace at least that they stack easier in the dish washer.

But surely if you intend to spend over 100 on pans then think very carefully about the supposed added functionality these give you. Even better invest in some true quality Circulon pans that will last a lifetime even if they match the centuries old tradition of having those blasted handles attached.

It's very easy to think wow great idea and hey they work OK too. But really, why? If you truly need these then you'll pay for the concept.

After all they are a strange concoction from Tefal and unlikely to find a mass market any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic space saving set, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Alan "Alan" (Edinburgh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The huge selling point on these is the fact that they stack. No more taking up huge amounts of cupboard room with pots and pans, these will sit in a fraction of the space with no trade off in quality. The pans wash easily, the non-stick Tefal coating is superb and the detachable handles lock in place securely and easily. If I was nit-picking, I would suggest that for the price a third handle would have been welcome, but that's the only way I could fault it. Would make an excellent wedding or house-warming gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great space saving idea and a versatile set of pans., 25 April 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great set of pans. Great concept. I'm happy.

There are 13 pieces in the set;

2 x saucepans 1 x 16cm & 1 x 20cm
2 x frying pans 1 x 22cm & 1 28cm.
1 x 26 cm wok
1 x 24 cm sautepan.
3 x glass lids 1 x 26cm, 1 x 20cm & 1 x 16 cm.
2 x plastic lids 1 x 16cm & 1 20cm.
2 x Bakelite handles.

The pans are all Tefal non stick and the non stick interiors are certainly doing just that. I'm particularly happy with the frying pans and wok in that respect. Fried food glides over the bottom of the pans leaving no scorched residue behind. The 'Thermo-Spot', heat indicator, is also useful. As the pans warm up the indicator becomes a solid red dot letting you know the pans have reached the perfect temperature. If you're sealing meat this is a great idea because the meat doesn't lie in cold oil or doesn't scorch on an over heated pan base. Also makes washing up easier and as I don't own a dishwasher that's an important factor for me however; the set is completely dishwasher safe.

With regards to baking in the pans - there's nothing in the instructions, or manufacturer's recommendations, I can see that indicates the pans are suitable for cake baking. Cake tins are usually thinner than this and don't have such a superior non-stick coating. Be nice if the manufacturer could clarify that.

Apart from baking, and maybe including that, the pans are suitable for almost any purpose making them incredibly versatile.

Simply start your dish off on the hob and then put the pan, without the handle, into the oven to finish it off. Great for stew, casserole, cottage pie, shepherd's pie or most of anything else. When you take the pan out of the oven attach the handle and carry it to the table. Take the handle off and you have perfect oven to table wear. If you have leftovers then seal them up in the pan with one of the super tight plastic lids and leave them in the fridge. How useful is that?.

As far as the detachable handles are concerned - don't worry - I did at the beginning but they're really safe to use. It's true there's a tiny 'tremble' when you lift the pans but you soon get used to it and the handles are safe up to 10kg. I don't think it would be possible to detach the handles in use. They attach and detach with just one click but the buttons are placed out of the way of your hands.

What I really like though is how much space you save because the pans and lids stack on top of one another and take up hardly any room. My eight usual saucepans take up a whole drawer, the frying pans are kept separately, the Tefal Ingenio set is sitting tidily next to the hob. Super for a small kitchen or one already crammed with gadgets.

You don't need to be sensitive with this Tefal set. The pans are a good size and weight and certainly seem robust enough to take most general wear and tear. I don't have a negative as yet and if I have a problem in the future I'll update my review, consider my current star rating, and let you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tefal 13-Piece Ingenio Enamel Set
126.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews