Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He just keeps getting better
I love pretty much everything James Mercer does so it was not a big decision to buy. The Shins last album Port of Morrow was a mixed bag but contained a few gems (simple song, rifle spiral) but this is top notch all the way through, and a better initial listen than the first effort with Danger Mouse. Highlights at the moment are Holding on for life, control and perfect...
Published 13 months ago by Pimmo

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
This is ok album, but generally I miss here stronger melodies and more synth work. The best song , in my opinion, is first one, and then a few songs are ok, but the other songs are just boring.
Published 12 months ago by Arsen Solovka


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He just keeps getting better, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Disco (MP3 Download)
I love pretty much everything James Mercer does so it was not a big decision to buy. The Shins last album Port of Morrow was a mixed bag but contained a few gems (simple song, rifle spiral) but this is top notch all the way through, and a better initial listen than the first effort with Danger Mouse. Highlights at the moment are Holding on for life, control and perfect world but I can imagine the other worming their way into my brain in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "The chill of night has got you dancing away!", 16 July 2014
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After The Disco (Audio CD)
Broken Bells, consisting of Danger Mouse and the Shins' James Mercer, released a self-titled album in 2010, which feels like an eternity ago in the current music business environment. Since that time, James Mercer released a new Shins album in which he is the only remaining original member of the band, and Danger Mouse has continued his high profile producer career. It wasn't clear whether the 2010 album would be a one-off. After that new Shins album in 2012, Mercer and Mouse started working on new material. Now comes the second album.

"After The Disco" (11 tracks; 46 min.) starts off with a number of incredibly strong tracks. The ambitious 6 1/2 min. "Perfect World" opens the album, and comes with a nice instrumental outro. The title track follows, and I must tell you that it is my favorite track on the album, a perfect 3 min. of pop-disco (with lyrics that go The chill of night has got you dancing away/And I'm not the dreamer or the dream you're/Out there looking for". Next comes "Holding On For Life", which is what the Bee Gees would sound like today if they still made new music. Those three songs along are worth the admission price. Further into the album, another great tune is "Control", again finding that sweet spot between pop and dance. The album falters a bit towards the end, in particular with "Medicine" and "The Angel and The Fool", but makes up for it with the album closer, another ambitious tune "The Remains of Rock and Roll".

In all, this is quite the album, and in fact for me it is MILES better than the first album. It probably doing Danger Mouse an injustice because to me it sounds like a James Mercer album that strays not all that far from the recent Shins album, a James Mercer solo album in all but name. "After the Disco" is a very pleasant surprise and I can only hope they will take this on the road to (or somewhere close to) Cincinnati. "After the Disco" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Second Album, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Disco (Audio CD)
The first 3 tracks are for me the best 3 tracks on the album,and the title track,After The Disco, will be right up there with the best tunes to come out this year. If you liked the first album then this is a step further in the right direction,not perfection by any means but a very,very good album. Shins and James Mercer fans will certainly find it appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant!!!, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Disco (Audio CD)
Great CD. It takes be back to the disco era, refreshing sounds, will deffo buy further CD's when released !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Disco (Audio CD)
I bought this for my boyfriend for valentines day because he loves broken bells. And because I bought the CD, I got a free digital copy, which was cool. I've listened to it a few times, and I like it, despite the fact that it's not necessarily my kind of music. It came on time and in good condition, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... flight back from Cancun recently and found it really easy to listen to - just had to buy it ..., 2 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Disco (MP3 Download)
Listened to this album on a flight back from Cancun recently and found it really easy to listen to - just had to buy it on my return to listen to it again. Hadn't heard of the band before but what a fantastic album, Its just lovely easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful and quite genius in my opinion., 7 Feb. 2015
By 
A. Parsons (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Disco (Audio CD)
What can I say? Apart from this is a must have record!! Simply beautiful and quite genius in my opinion. If you like Broken Bells get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Disco (MP3 Download)
It makes a change to hear something good that isn't in the same mould of other artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they've done it again!, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the Disco (MP3 Download)
could be my favourite album of the year (this far!)- the bar was very high after their first release and they have kept it high
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Arsen Solovka "Arsen" (Mraclin, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After The Disco (Audio CD)
This is ok album, but generally I miss here stronger melodies and more synth work. The best song , in my opinion, is first one, and then a few songs are ok, but the other songs are just boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After the Disco
After the Disco by Broken Bells
Buy MP3 Album£5.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews