Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic & honest account of an ordinary American boy-turned US Marine in Vietnam, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
Excellently written, personal account of an 18 year old US Marine in the Quảng Trị province of Vietnam. When you read Jack Estes' account of his year in Vietnam, you are THERE with him in action, not in your armchair at home. An exciting and brilliantly honest account of combat, exhaustion, death, fear, comradeship and the effects of combat on soldiers, civilians and animals alike. What really impressed me was Estes' loyalty to his wife and baby, and that, that loyalty and hope got him through the depths of despair and the questioning of RIGHT and WRONG almost every soldier struggles through in combat. The last sentence in the book will bring back poignant personal memories to anyone, in any army, who finally made it home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Field of innocence, 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully wrote book about a living hell,the author is very likeable young boy really with a gift for words and at heart a gentle soul as hard as that may seem,he conveys the journey of young all American boy to a trained killer who constantly struggles with juggling who he is at home with who he is in vietnam,what really makes Jackson's book different from other vietnam books I have read is at heart this is a love story.How these young boys who were lucky enough to make it home could adjust to life in the USA is a miracle in its self.A must read ,sensitive and brutal in equal measures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another outstanding nam read, 15 Jun 2006
By 
dave stephen (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Paperback)
this book is awesome, and hard to put down. the account of boot camp is as real as it gets for the reader and the tour in nam makes you feel like you are in the fox hole next to him. you cant help but associate well with the people in his life and jacks book makes you wish you could keep reading to find out more!! have read it several times in 15 years and it never disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book: I liked the style of writing, which I thought was down to earth.
Someone compared it to the book 'Chickenhawk'; I found that I enjoyed this book even more.
The experiences; slow, fast or furious are well told and make good reading. From boredom to death and horror in the blink of an eye (for those who were still alive).
This isn't a 'spoiler', but I found the ending most poignant and sad, and I've read a good few... I would like to know more.

Books on this sad, destructive and futile war should be read by everyone. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
great read. this is a book about an ordinary everyday guy caught up in a war that a lot of americans did not agree with. these soldiers encountered a lot of horrific situations that they were lucky enough to come out alive. all through the book the one abiding thought from the writer was to get home to his family and like a lot of other soldiers the thought of their families is what kept them going . a great account of what can happen to an ordinary guy when caught up in a warzone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say fantastic kept me gripped it's raw earthy content of men ..., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
What can I say fantastic kept me gripped it's raw earthy content of men in a war zone cannot be faulted I was transported there it was so real I felt I could smell see hear what the soldiers were enduring a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Youth and the military green machine, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
This book is very interesting and looks at the VietNam experience through the eyes of a young soldier. It is very well written and puts another aspect of the war into view. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Field of Innocence, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
Epic, true, harrowing, honest and soul searching. A confusion of ideals and dreams.

Glad he made it through to tell this story.

Begs the question "What have we learned?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
Another well written book drawing you into the event's that unfolded throughout . What was it all for in the end. God bless you all ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good book, that is easy to read without too ..., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field of Innocence (Kindle Edition)
very good book , that is easy to read without too much dramatics. Hard to believe they were that young going over there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Field of Innocence
A Field of Innocence by Jack Estes
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews