Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overly short, slack jawed and thrown together in a hurry - A brilliant Kiss studio album
I think this is hugely underrated album. It sums up everything which made Kiss great: it's both arrogant and effortless. It contains a few of Kiss's best tracks, such as Rock and Roll all Night, C'Mon and Love Me, She and Rock Bottom. Ace Frehley's solos are virtuoso and effortless throughout, as if someone just started the tape and said 'hey Ace, just play something...
Published on 19 July 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Cover Shot, not so great album
One of their very best front covers, with the cheap, non-fitting suits, and a decent production job after the disastrous sounding Hotter Than Hell. However,, the songs are just not there for the most part. Kiss were in the midst of heavy US touring as their first 2 albums didn't sell, and they needed to grind away on the road, as this band has always been about the live...
Published 4 months ago by Rappers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overly short, slack jawed and thrown together in a hurry - A brilliant Kiss studio album, 19 July 2009
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
I think this is hugely underrated album. It sums up everything which made Kiss great: it's both arrogant and effortless. It contains a few of Kiss's best tracks, such as Rock and Roll all Night, C'Mon and Love Me, She and Rock Bottom. Ace Frehley's solos are virtuoso and effortless throughout, as if someone just started the tape and said 'hey Ace, just play something great here'.

Upbeat, gum chewing rock doesn't get better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DRESSED TO THRILL, 10 Dec 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
I love this album,unfairly treated as the poor relation to the ist 2 albums,apart from 'Anything for my Baby' this rocks from start to finish,listen to Room Service/Love her all i can/Rock Bottom/She/C'mon and love me and obviously 'R n R all nite',all fantastic,are we really saying these are lesser tracks than what went before,i dont think so.

There is a rock n roll groove more prevalent here than on the 1st 2 albums,tracks such as 'Room Service/Getaway' and 'Love Her all i Can' revel in this loose feel,while 'She' and 'C'mon and Love Me' hold up the heavy end,throw in an anthem 'Rock n Roll All Nite' and the delightfully constructed 'Rock Bottom',then whats not to love?.

There is more than a hint that this album was thrown together in a ramshackle fashion if so then it worked,probably the last 'true' KISS album,where they all worked together as a team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You wanted the best - this is the best!, 20 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dressed To Kill (Audio CD)
Fantastic, bristling with energy and attitude. Seething and bubbling with sexual mis-conduct, violence and malaise - Dressed To Kill is what Kiss are all about.
Unkind reviews in the past have stated that the first three albums were relatively poor. Nonsense. The first three albums were Kiss's finest hour and were capped off by the legendary ALIVE! If they had decided to split after that - I would still be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great Cover Shot, not so great album, 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: Dressed To Kill (Audio CD)
One of their very best front covers, with the cheap, non-fitting suits, and a decent production job after the disastrous sounding Hotter Than Hell. However,, the songs are just not there for the most part. Kiss were in the midst of heavy US touring as their first 2 albums didn't sell, and they needed to grind away on the road, as this band has always been about the live show. Called into the studio by the record company, they were ill-prepared. Paul Stanley offers the excellent C'mon and Love Me, with a smoking Ace Frehley solo. Gene Simmons writes a good verse for Rock and Roll All Nite, and Frehley contributes a pretty acoustic piece, to begin Rock Bottom, but the Stanley written 2nd half of the song doesn't quite fit what comes before it, and sounds suspiciously Spinal Tap-ish. Simmons raids his back catalogue for the admittedly decent She.. The rest is pretty much tosh - Room Service, Two Timer, Ladies In Waiting, Anything For My Baby, Getaway total filler and hardly ever played by the band even during the tour to promote the album, Best to avoid this one, as everything worth hearing on hear is on Alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Dressed To Kill [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I don't know what it is about this album, but I do like it. I like it a lot. The magic of KISS resonates with me, just the same now, as it did in the 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good to finally have a copy on vinyl!!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressed To Kill [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I've been searching for a copy of this album on vinyl for years, so I was happy when they announced the 2014 vinyl reissues. It is amazing the detail they have put into the reissues with original labels and inserts, although this album didnt have insert, it will be nice to get the original inserts in love gun, the solo album and so on, so I do suggest you get the reissues on vinyl . The sound quality on the album is splendid and to faults to have. Comes with an mp3 download as well so you can listen elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressed To Kill (Audio CD)
Bought as part of my quest to upgrade older imported versiona. This is remastered.

If you are a fan you will know this CD already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 15 Nov 2012
This review is from: Dressed To Kill (Audio CD)
This was the only KISS album I never owned, so it was about time I bought it.

It is an excellent album.

It is worth buying just for Two Timer, C'mon and Love Me and She.

I prefer it to the first album, but that may be because that one has been overplayed over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the early cds, 1 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dressed To Kill (Audio CD)
Another reviewer said this one was the worst of the early kiss releases! but he gave it a three star because it's still a good release to him. Which it is! In fact I like all of the early releases alot. I think this one is the best of the early ones though. It has that kiss sound now formulated and perfected. this has alot of great songs on it too, like rock bottom and two timer, ladies in waiting and others. AND of course 'rock and roll all nite' their huge hit single. It's hard rock early melodic metal done right. And it's not played as slow and sludgy as 'hotter than hell' was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' third album, 26 Jun 2011
By 
B. S. Marlay (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
`Dressed to Kill' is simpler in its songwriting and more straightforward in its execution than Kiss's first two albums, the glam rock debut `Kiss' and the heavier `Hotter Than Hell'. It is rock and roll through and through with no real pretentions to heavy metal. In its simplicity of approach and the use of repetition in its lyrics, it acts as a template for the approach the band would adopt on many later studio releases - in most cases, to the detriment of their musical credibility. `However, with `Dressed to Kill', the standard is high.

Turning from the slightly unlikely production team of Kenny Kerner and Richie Wise (having produced albums for Gladys Knight and Jose Feliciano), who oversaw the first two albums with their relative diversity of style, to Casablanca records head Neil Bogart, the emphasis on `Dressed to Kill' is on straightforward rock and roll fun. And all four members of the band continue to contribute beyond simply playing their instruments.

Stanley again proves himself the band's premier songwriting and singing talent with the album's showstopper, `C'mon and Love Me' echoing the melodic glam pop rock of the first album. He is also responsible for `Room Service', `Anything For My Baby', `Love Her All I Can', `Rock Bottom' (with Ace Frehley and classical guitar intro) and the rock classic `Rock and Roll All Nite' (with Gene Simmons - though it is a bit limp in comparison to the hit live version). Again denied a voice, Frehley also contributes `Getaway' which is sung by drummer Peter Criss. The dramatic and durgey `She' is a standout from Simmons. `Dressed to Kill' also features the alternating vocals of Simmons and Stanley on the one song - here on `Room Service' and `Rock and Roll All Nite' - which they would turn to over and over again with lesser effect as their commercial fortunes waned in their later career.

There is nothing intellectual about `Dressed to Kill', and it is certainly markedly less sophisticated that their first two efforts. What it is, is simply a great 70s rock and roll record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dressed To Kill [VINYL]
Dressed To Kill [VINYL] by Kiss (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews