Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars353
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2015
When the boyfriend is forced to want sex against his will, with people he doesn't want, here's a news flash Breene, ITS RAPE! Rape is a very serious issue and should not be made light of, regardless of gender. I tried to bear with it, hoping id misunderstood; but the girlfriend tells herself that even though her boyfriend is straight, he seemed to enjoy himself so it was okay. WTF! (Oh and the constant sex, when it wasnt rape, becme ridiculous and nauesating. Im no prude and enjoy a good sex scene well written, but come on!) Also no plot. Writer and publisher need serious help!!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Well I'm not sure what the heck to say about this book... I wont be reading anymore that is for sure. When men are constantly getting erections, masterbating, having forced sexual encounters and others looking on watching that's some kind of pervish book. If you like reading about man rape and porn you will like this book. It doesn't even deserve one star... sorry its just my opinion and obviously others who have given this book more than one star like this kind of thing. Such a shame I would have like to have read more about Stefan and Sasha and her magic.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 July 2014
If you like stories where people's minds are messed with in such a way as to make them perform sexual acts which are against their nature, where male rape is apparently a light subject and where sexually explicit material is gratuitously splattered on every page, and if poor spelling scattered throughout isn't going to irritate you, then by all means get this book - it's free at the time of writing.

Sadly, for some reason I bought its two sequels at the same time ... and I wasn't drunk, just don't know what got into me!! ...but I'm certainly not going to read them, just delete them.

No story to speak of, offensive sexual material, poorly written. You have been warned.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Considering this book was free, I was surprised by how good it was. I love anything paranormal romance or urban fantasy without an annoying main character in it, and this book definitely fits that description to the T. At first I must admit that I thought it was a young adult fiction as the main character is in college, and here in England, college is for 16-18 years old, but as the theme of the book developed, there is no doubting that this book is certainly not a young adult fiction,

What did I like about this book? I liked the tone of it, it's the kind of book that seems to have amusement built into it, into the storyline, into the characters, and more importantly, it's a comfortable kind of humour, not the stilled type that some authors now days try to instil into their books. I like the main character, she's certainly feisty, and seems likable enough. I also like the secondary characters, they seem believable enough in a completely non-believable way. I also really like the plot, its fast but not so fast you get lost and the storyline is interesting to say the least. I LOVE the male main character, the alluring Stefan, he's cool, and he seems to have something that's missing from a lot of romance books nowadays, a conscious from the start. Authors seem to have embraced writing male chauvinistic, egoistical characters who have no morals and treat people like rubbish till they find absolution through the love of a deluded woman. This is not the case in this book, I like that fact that the guy from the onset has morals. And he's hot, like really hot, something about the shoulders.

What don't like about the book? Like I previously mentioned, i'm not sure of the main character's age, it's obscure, I don't see why it is, and to me, her age is kinda important in other to picture her. Everything else was very good.

Why three stars? It's more like 3.25 stars, it was a good book, but It's not quite one of the best.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Too weird for me. The main character's boyfriend's rape scene at the beginning of the book was treated so casually it gave me the creeps. I imagine and hope if the roles had been reversed it would not have been treated so indifferently... Didn't get halfway through...
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
The only redeeming quality this book has is that it ended! I found the entire premise very uncomfortable reading because, as far as I'm concerned, much of this story involved the rape of both men and women by both men and women. I'm not adverse to such a storyline if it is treated with a certain level of sensitivity. That, alas, was sorely lacking. The lead character`s attitude to her boyfriend being raped was astounding and honestly, I can't imagine anyone would truly be that uncaring.
There's a level of immaturity to the writing that actually had me questioning whether it was a) written for a YA market or b) written by a young adult. The sex scenes aren't sexy. At. All. Authors like JR Ward and Nalini Singh know how to write sex that sets fire to the pages, I wanted to burn this book for a whole other reason.
I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone, not even on the basis of you need to make up your own mind. It really was that bad!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Being a USA Today Bestselling Author I had to read book 1. Upon reading the synopsis, it sounded like something I’d like. Sasha is the main protagonist. A young girl who, for most of her life, has seen strange paranormal shadows at the edge of her peripheral vision. To her it’s normal, but she's realised & learnt how it looks to others. So, she keeps it all pretty quiet.
I found the whole idea really intriguing. Sasha, was a well rounded character & not as flaky as some female leads tend to be. Some of the writing was absolutely beautiful, as were similes and metaphors.
However, the novelty disappeared quickly & I got tired of listening to Sasha’s thoughts. The book is written from a first person perspective. It was okay initially, nevertheless, I did rapidly get tired of it and wanted the pace to pick up.
The story just dragged on far too long. It got to the stage, when I kept checking how much of the book I had left to read. The narrative got messy and confusing. It was slightly difficult to see what the author was trying to show. So, you end up continuing to read hoping it’ll eventually make sense, but by the time some sense appears, you have already given up.
What I disliked the most, was that it reads as a teenage ‘young adult’ fantasy/paranormal novel in a ‘Twilight style’ but then, adult graphic sex is thrown in like a brick through a window. It’s so inappropriate I was staggered. Was I reading the same book? The sex jarred against the overall tone and spirit of the book. It felt really forced as if the author was told to go back and but sex scenes in it to make it more adult. It doesn’t work and felt wrong and you didn’t have to do this. You remove the sex and the narrative is solid without it.
It’s okay creating an alternate world like Harry Potter’s alternate magic world that Muggles can’t see, but you need to establish the real world first. 'Into the Darkness' doesn’t do this and that really throws the reader.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 July 2014
All her life Sasha has seen thing in the darkness, but has tried to ignore them in favour of living a normal life. But when Sasha and her timid boyfriend, Jared, unwitting stumble into the territory of sex-obsesed vampiric style beings, it starts a chain of events that means life for Sasha will never been the same again. And her hopes for a normal life become nothing more than an unattainable dream.

The opening chapter of the story reveals a little girl (we assume Sasha) orphaned by a huge car wreck, the only survivor where dozens lost their lives. But it wasn't just down to fate, someone else had a hand in it. As the story progresses readers are tantilised with the idea that the muscular and tattooed Boss of the shadows, a man Sasha has dreamed about repeatedly, is who saved her and is in some, inexplicable way tied to he life.

As Sasha struggles to make sense of the magic within her it puts her life in danger again and again, and again and again, its the same man, the Boss, who comes to her rescue, giving more of himself to save her than any has ever known him do before.

As engaging as this book was, there were several times when I felt the sexual side of the paranormal creatures was for no other reason than to hook the readers in. And as things between Sash and the Boss take so long to heat up, you're at the end of the book by the time there's any real connection, meaning you have to byu book two in the hopes of reaching a satisfactory outcome.

This is not so much a series, as a serial ... the story is continued and you couldn't read book two without having read this one first. I probably will get the second in series as my interest is piqued, just not right now, as who knows if I'll have to also buy a third or fourth in order to reach an outcome.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
I love nothing more than a dark suspense book but Rape is not dark or suspenseful in any way shape or form. To have it happen repeadtly is just wrong and I question the morals of those who thought it to be acceptable.

There was no "explanation" about these horrific acts, swept away as if hey, the happened lets just move on shall we?

Now I see why it was free.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
What a disappointment after reading some of the good reviews. No story, no characterisation, rape scenes glossed over and no rhyme nor reason of why anything is happening. This was a waste of time. Thank goodness it was free on kindle. I won't be getting any more.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.