Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More stomp than holler
Excellent offering from Todd Snider-led 'supergroup', covering the work of a variety of American songsmiths, all thematically linked by their depiction of the difficulties of life on the margins.

Outstanding are "Blackland Farmer", "I Don't Have A Gun" and a pleasingly "out there" version of Randy Newman's "Mr President Have Pity On The Working Man". Not far...
Published 10 months ago by Leonardo27

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Ain't Deaf.
It's just too loud. It calms down a bit towards the end, but by then your ears are ringing. It's a shame because there are some good songs on this C.D..
Published 10 months ago by StephenLeslie123


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More stomp than holler, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Leonardo27 (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
Excellent offering from Todd Snider-led 'supergroup', covering the work of a variety of American songsmiths, all thematically linked by their depiction of the difficulties of life on the margins.

Outstanding are "Blackland Farmer", "I Don't Have A Gun" and a pleasingly "out there" version of Randy Newman's "Mr President Have Pity On The Working Man". Not far behind are the emotive "Straight To Hell" "Down To The Well" and a lump-in-the-throat version of Gillian Welch's "Wrecking Ball".

Hayes Carll's thumping "Stomp and Holler" boasts the inspired couplet: "I'm like James Brown only white and taller / All I wanna do is stomp and holler". It's such a winning line that the band do it twice, presumably in case anyone missed it first time round.

Only two song choices blot the copybook: "Welfare Music" (chosen more for its title and subject matter than its inherent musical appeal?) and the equally unremarkable rocker "Another Train", but overall the album is a winner and it would be fascinating to see what this group could do with all-new original material. Hopefully we'll get that opportunity before too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Picking songs from the 80's right up to now the HA make sweet sounds full of righteous feeling for the blue collar ..., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
Tremendous blues rock stuff from (almost) supergroup. Picking songs from the 80's right up to now the HA make sweet sounds full of righteous feeling for the blue collar people who live lives on the limits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums of the past decade-already!, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Crispin Muir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this album is simply amazing and is the first album I have loved from start to finish in a while. It is a combination of: Jesse Ed Davis, Dr John, Taj Mahal, post Duanne and Berry Allman Brothers with some Delaney and Bonnie thrown in. I have hardly stopped playing it and am hoping that they produce more albums. what a supergroup as well and I think Neal Casal's guitar playing is wonderful and hopefully he will combine this with CRB. It is irritating that the LP is spread over 4 sides when two would have been fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listening to it I have to say I loved, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
I thought that this was going to be leaning toward reggae more than blues. Listening to it I have to say I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 5 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
Great album by very experienced musicians who have mostly worked with each other before. Not one duff track on the album.
Neal Casal's excellent guitar playing comes through on most tracks.
I would recommend this album to anyone who appreciates good musicians who obviously work so good together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Ain't Deaf., 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
It's just too loud. It calms down a bit towards the end, but by then your ears are ringing. It's a shame because there are some good songs on this C.D..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Working Americans
Hard Working Americans by Hard Working Americans
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews