Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all that "Transatlantic Sessions" fault, I tell you..., 9 Mar 2014
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY (Audio CD)
Darn you, Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas, for costing me yet more money! There was some delicious Gaelic singing from Julie and Karen Matheson on the latest, and so when I saw this, I just had to have it. And I'm glad - pleasantly sung, pleasantly played, and it somehow doesn't matter that I can't understand a blind word of what she's saying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One story you will want to listen to again and again, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Kenn Stewart (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY (Audio CD)
The fourth solo release by Julie Fowlis is a real treasure. She has never sounded better and the beautiful arrangements and production of Gach Sgeul makes this possibly her best album so far. The opening track A Ghaoil, Leig Dhachaigh Gum Mhathair Mi is a lovely introduction. The musicians added to her already steller band are among the best anywhere and the playing is flawless throughout. Do Chalum is the track that stands out for me but every track is such quality.
A geniune classic from a golden voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY (Audio CD)
Beautifully rich in tone and texture, this is a wonderful collection of songs, lovingly sung.
This is the first album I have of Julie's, I doubt it will be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gach Sgeul Should Be Heard, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Julie Fowlis' fourth studio album is surely her best yet. Gach Sgeul is a beautiful mixture of love songs and lullabies, fast and slow, tales of old and new, all of which are sung in Julie's native tongue. Danns' A Luideagan Odhar, Smeorach Chlann Domhnaill, Cadal Ciarach Mo Luran, Ribinnean Riomhach and Siud Thu 'Ille Ruiadh Ghallain are the best examples of this lovely musical tapestry. There is music to suit all moods on this album. Julie once again proves that music speaks to the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate - just buy it !, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A delightful album with great new material. She already has some amazing songs for encores when she plays live. I think that she now has another 11 songs that are set to become Julie Fowlis 'standards'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Album, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY (Audio CD)
If you like the other music produced by Julie Fowlis, I would highly recommend this, her latest album. As with her other music, the combination of the interesting Gaelic songs with a stunning voice makes it a pleasure to listen to, and yet the album is unique in that it is different from the work that she has produced so far. It is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical music, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sublime. Reminds me of Sissel a bit. Doesn't matter if you don't understand the language. When Enya sings in Irish or Sissel in Norwegian it just makes their voices sound all the more magical and that is what I found with this album. A big thank you to Nicola Benedetti for getting Julie to guest on her latest album otherwise I may never have discovered her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY (Audio CD)
I love this album. Definitely one of her best. Arrived in good condition. I listen to it all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY (Audio CD)
Julie is amazing.

Don't be put off by the fact she sings in Gaelic.
If you like traditional Scottish (or Irish) folk music then give this a try.

Even if you don't know Gaelic (I don't) she sounds amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like being there, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY (Audio CD)
After a hot, dry, calm and midge free tour around Barra, Uists, Lewis, Skye and the highlands last July, the sound of Julie's voice brought the beauty of the isles back. Great to see her in Salford with Duncan Chisholm too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY
GACH SGEUL - EVERY STORY by Julie Fowlis (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews