Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cyndi at her unusual best....
I distinctly remember, at the tender age of 12, receiving as a gift the vinyl version of She's So Unusual in 1984. Cyndi Lauper was all the rage then; her garish, multicoloured costumes in her frequently aired videos made her one of the more popular female artists in 1984 (possible even more popular than Madonna in that year). Many years after last listening to that vinyl...
Published on 10 Aug 2001 by Dave Beards

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why mess with something good?
This Tribute to an excellent Album starts out great - exquisite package, with lots of ideas, love and care! The actual Album is great and deserves a special re-edition but why mess up actuall Songs that survived the past 30 years with remixes from 2013? SONY Music offer a similar hodgepdoge with Michael Jackson's BAD 25th anniversary - NOBODY Needs the bizarre remixes on...
Published 5 months ago by S. Lehmann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cyndi at her unusual best...., 10 Aug 2001
By 
Dave Beards (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's So Unusual (Audio CD)
I distinctly remember, at the tender age of 12, receiving as a gift the vinyl version of She's So Unusual in 1984. Cyndi Lauper was all the rage then; her garish, multicoloured costumes in her frequently aired videos made her one of the more popular female artists in 1984 (possible even more popular than Madonna in that year). Many years after last listening to that vinyl record, I became reaquainted with She's So Unusual on this CD. The music is as dynamic and fresh today as it was back in 1984. I'm sure most people are familiar with the gimicky Girls Just Want to Have Fun, but the rest of the tracks are just as wonderful in their own way. From the beautifully sad ballad Time After Time to the bouncy She Bop, this album is a wonderful showcase for Cyndi Lauper (who unfortunately has never been able to duplicate this first success), and for 80's pop in general. Also included are live versions of Money Changes Everything, She Bop and All Through The Night - excellent additions for the serious fan.
Buy it...and step back in time to a wonderful era in music....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lauper Legend, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever since Cyndi Lauper first burst onto the scene, from her record-breaking debut album in 1983, to her Grammy and Tony Award-winning Broadway play "Kinky boots", her continuous work as a LGBT rights activist, as well as her current stint as a special guest on Cher's "Dressed to kill" tour, she has kept singing and dancing, with her unruly energy and nutty outfits, remaining just as strong today as she did back then.

The 10 original songs are already familiar to those who have enjoyed them the first time around, but for new listeners who are familiar only with the hit singles, each of the songs are enjoyable in their own way. Here lies the enduring strength of this bright set of colorful numbers fusing pop, new wave, post-punk, reggae, and funk; accompanied by Lauper's unique appearance, and distinctive thin, girly voice, it helped popularize the image of punk and new wave for America and the rest of the world, influencing artists and listeners alike, and mark a whole new era for the pop landscape.

This ground-breaking album produced 4 Top 5 hits (a record for a woman at the time), earned Cyndi 2 Grammys, and went multi-platinum in many countries. To celebrate this iconic debut, this special deluxe 2-CD edition of "She's so unusual", includes new remixes, live tracks, early demos and studio outtakes, one B-side track, a brand new essay from the co-author of Cyndi's autobiography, and previously unseen photos; and, to top it all off, the show-stealer is a re-usable sticker set, with vinyl cut outs of Cyndi's outfits and accessories that can be arranged on a 3D fold-out backdrop of the bedroom featured in her "Girls just wanna have fun" video!

It doesn't matter that the new remixes sound out of touch with the original set, or that songs of that period like "Goonies" and "What a thrill" are not included. This is still an exquisite package, perhaps the most lovingly made re-issue in a long time, carefully assembled down to the last detail. It remains a benchmark of the early '80s, and it is a perfect accompaniment for every Eighties-enthusiast, fun-loving, fashion-fannatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A most unusual girl explodes on the MTV scene (and has fun), 22 Dec 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Cyndi Lauper's popularity rested on the zany, frenetic hit "Girls Just Want To Have Fun," her dirty little secret meaning song "She Bop," and her debut hit "All Through the Night," all of which made it to the Billboard Top 5 But her reputation as a musical artist rests more on "Time After Time," her one #1 hit off of the album. Of course, Lauper did not write "Girls," that would be Robert Hazard, but she did co-write "Time" with Rob Hyman of the Hooters, but her willingness to cover that diverse a ground musically meant she could not be dismissed as a person of garish appearance (she was sort of the female Boy George, if you can wrap your mind around such an idea). "She's So Unusual" is an appropriate title for this above average debut album, which sold 5 million copies and made Lauper one of the biggest stars of the early MTV period with her thin, girlish voice and rag-tag appearance. In fact, it is really one of the defining albums of the early 1980s, with its colorful new wave fusion of a whole bunch of musical styles. Unfortunately, Lauper was not able to come anywhere near as close with her subsequent albums, which saw a shift to more mainstream pop ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CYNDI'S GREAT DEBUT!, 12 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: She's So Unusual (Audio CD)
Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CYNDI'S GREAT DEBUT!, 12 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CYNDI'S GREAT DEBUT!, 12 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CYNDI'S GREAT DEBUT!, 12 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CYNDI'S GREAT DEBUT!, 12 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CYNDI'S GREAT DEBUT!, 12 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: She's So Unusual (Audio CD)
Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cyndi lauper - she's so unusual,in the best possible way, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Cj Alcroft (west pennines,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
first bought this album cd - circa 1989.some sort of a cd re-issues I seemed to remember.
Now it has receive the deluxe re-vamp all these years later,I love it even more this time around.
Cyndi lauper is on fire;her rebellious girls just wanna have fun,is a her reposte to an over protective,condescending father.
all the other tracks including money changes everything and time after time are outstanding.
a truly wonderful debut album and with full essay, 'lobby cards' and bonus discs of out-takes,an excellent re-issue.
NB :The only downside I can find,is the omission of any lyrics..But you can't have everything I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews