Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excitement from start to finish
Like other reviewers, I read the synopsis of Gray Justice and decided to give it a try. I was gripped from the very first page and delighted to see their were three more to follow. Now I sit here disappointed that I've just finished number 4, having read the lot in a little over a week! I was determined to save numbers 3 and 4 for my Christmas reading...alas, it was not...
Published 6 months ago by D. Thomson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars War story and a bit more
Thought at first it was going to be more boys having a game with big guns and got a bit bored but then it picked up. Good in the end but glad to finish. Had enough of Tom Gray now.
Published 3 months ago by Mrs. Claire K. Tunna


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excitement from start to finish, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
D. Thomson (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Like other reviewers, I read the synopsis of Gray Justice and decided to give it a try. I was gripped from the very first page and delighted to see their were three more to follow. Now I sit here disappointed that I've just finished number 4, having read the lot in a little over a week! I was determined to save numbers 3 and 4 for my Christmas reading...alas, it was not to be. These are stories you can't put aside until later! It is rare to come across a new author with a new series where you feel you just have to read the lot, one after the other, but this is one of those series.
A superb main character, loyal, sensitive but utterly ruthless when he needs to be. A group of friends with similar qualities. And a bunch of villains who, had they but realised the capabilities of the men they were dealing with, would have stayed well away.
A brilliant action story, seriously violent in places, with an explosive finish that leaves the reader really looking forward to number 5, in which hopefully the author will tie up the couple of bits of unfinished business that Gray leaves in this one.
For lovers of a superb action story, get this series downloaded to enjoy over the Christmas/New Year holiday. There aren't be many better books around I promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tom gray series, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I pick my books by how exciting the description of the story is and after reading the back of the first in the series i thought i would give it a try, i proceeded to download the rest of the trilogy and read all 3 books within a few days whilst on holiday lazing by the pool. When i got an email from Amazon saying the 4th book in the series was out i knew i had to have it! Wow!!! Nothing less than an amazing series of books and i highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys a good action story! My usual types of books are crime/police/thrillers and i must say these books did not disappoint at all!!! Hooked from the first chapter of book 1 all the way to the last page of the 4th book.
Im pretty gutted there are no more in the series and im feeling a little lost now as not sure i will find another book i will enjoy as much as these.
Give the books a read.....you wont regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tough Thriller is all Action, 8 July 2014
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Gray Retribution By Alan McDermott

This young author knows how to grasp the reader's attention--and then hold on to it.

This latest work in his oeuvre is typically one continual flow of action and incident, as the hero, Tom Gray, is drawn away from his home and his wife and young daughter to go to the aid of his employees, all tough ex-soldiers, on duty for his security firm in Africa.

What I have always liked about McDermott's central character, Tom Gray, is the fact that he goes against the fashionable image of the cynical and disillusioned "anti-hero." Gray is a man with strong beliefs and loyalties--to his men, to his wife and young daughter, to his friends.

Although he has decided to stay away from direct combat out of concern for his family, he feels that he has to go to the aid of his men when they find themselves trapped in the typically African chaos of a cynical uprising and brutal insurgency.

But before he makes this decision to go to Africa he has a chance contact with a gangster who runs a protection racket among business people - and out of deference to his wife's wishes that he stay out of trouble, he lets the incident ride.

The African guerrilla warfare is depicted, accurately, as vicious and brutal, with young boys dragooned into military action and then drugged into submission by ambitious and ruthless men who are out to swell their bank accounts rather than serving the interests of their own people.

The writing catches the casual brutality of the criminals exploiting political ambition and there are moments of extreme violence and murderous cruelty.

Tom Gray survives these perils in the heat and murk of the jungle and escapes with the help of a South African, who brings him to safety in Pretoria before he heads back to London.

But what Gray does not know is that while he has been away his family have gained the attention of the gangster he had agreed to let be, and an arsonist has been sent to destroy them.

What's more, there is a senior British security officer who is in the pay of the gangster.

Tom Gray is a man of action and he wants to find the arsonist and give him a haircut with a blowtorch, but his security colleagues persuade him to leave it to the police. McDermott manages a neat balancing act between Gray's immense grief and desire for revenge and his belief in following the conventional path of justice.

The action becomes more complex and diffuse, building up to a rousing and satisfying confrontation which combines regular police action and the freelance aggression which Gray and his men are masters of.

Once again, as with the author's previous work, I enjoyed his skill, his human sensibilities and his characters as I accompanied them on an entertaining adventure along the byways of warfare and gangsterdom and official corruption.

McDermott is a writer who is finding acclaim and a loyal readership.--Prospero.

Rating: Four Action-Packed Stars.

bestsellingcrimethrillers.com was provided with an advanced copy for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Miss H M (LEIGHTON BUZZARD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Yet again a brilliant book. The Tom Gray books have kept me wanting more after each chapter. I'm happy to say that not once have I been disappointed with the story. Each twist and turn not only makes you want to continue reading to the end of the book, but makes to start the very next none straight away.
As someone who struggles to read books and be kept interested in a story line, I have loved read every book in the series and not once been put off. I can't wait for the next book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. M. N. Tang (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book was actually the best in the Tom Gray series. It was a roller coaster of a read where I felt different emotions throughout the book from frustration at some of the characters to heart felt sadness at the tragic loss of an important someone.
The last three chapters had me hooked and I could not put this book down. Emotional, exciting, gripping and a thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 4 as good as 1,2 & 3 - good page turners, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all four books one after the other. Although four different stories there is a thread running though all of them. All have, obviously, been well researched and the style of writing gives you a real page turner. I thoroughly enjoyed all four books and would recommend them as good relaxing reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The final chapter in the Tom Gray saga, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
After the original trilogy I was delighted the author went one better in writing this equally stunning follow-on.

As a conclusion it builds and adds perfectly to the trilogy that went before it. McDermott`s thorough research, powerful style and wholly believable story lines confirm him as a fiction writer of the highest order.

If secret service, deniable ops and all things espionage are your thing then this is an absolute "must read".

I personally can't wait for the next offering be it with Tom Gray or any other new central character - magnificent and worthy of the 5 stars I have given this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXHILARATING ACTION SEQUENCES FROM HIGHLY SKILLED WRITER, 8 July 2014
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is the fourth book in the infamous series featuring Tom Gray; the former SAS soldier who lost his family in the first book, Gray Justice, and then kept the nation captivated when he attempted to change the manner in which justice was handed down to violent criminals.

Like its predecessors, Gray Retribution moves along with break-neck speed persuading the reader to continue flipping through the pages, and then hours later, you (meaning me) realized you missed your latest meal.

As an avid reader of action-oriented thrillers, I thoroughly enjoyed how Alan McDermott kept me engaged through the fast pace of the writing, with snippets of action occurring every few pages, leaving me desperate to read more. Equally appealing was the fact that three climatic events, occurring simultaneously in different parts of the country, intertwined to form an intriguing plot, with exhilarating action scenes from this highly skilled writer. The scenes kept the adrenaline surging, and with no lull in between.

With the fear of his security firm collapsing, his crew caught in the cross-hairs of a war by a militant group trying to take over a foreign country, and his wife’s Uncle threatened by a mafia-style family with a big wig on his payroll, the story kept me captivated. Needless to say, violent actions abroad and back at home, with innocent victims paying the price, Tom Gray had no choice but to step back into the action, even though the decision caused a major rift at home.

Using the SAS skills that kept him alive up to now, Tom Gray explodes off the page, and with vengeance.

Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book, 2 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed the latest instalment in Tom Gray's life and look forward to his next adventure. There is a bit in all of us who would like to be him I think what a dude!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Retribution (A Tom Gray Novel Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Wow I just love Tom Gray novels with every book they improve which I didn't think was possible! The storyline grabs you as soon as you start reading, it was a little sad for Tom but you know it'll work out eventually because he is so resourceful. I love reading anything about SAS characters does that make it biased,I don't know but I would highly recommend these books to anyone who likes action and let's be honest it has SAS involvement (kind of 😀!) you know it'll be good!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews