Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got solar? Need one of these!
24 hr delivery from the seller- good start. There are MANY good things to say about this product. It's very well presented and is a quality build. Although this is an expensive item I worked out that, if it pays back over three years (average period claimed) that also works out at about £9 per month in cost - less the payback (I'm not a mathematician!) so a good...
Published 7 months ago by Fr Nick

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not very effective
Recently had one installed and am disappointed with its performance. Although its well made and looks good, its not very effective at using all the spare energy.The unit only kicks in when there is at least 400watts spare being generated and then only uses anything above the 400watts most of the time, even though it has a minimum export threshold of 200watts. This means a...
Published 2 months ago by mo_inDrby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got solar? Need one of these!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
24 hr delivery from the seller- good start. There are MANY good things to say about this product. It's very well presented and is a quality build. Although this is an expensive item I worked out that, if it pays back over three years (average period claimed) that also works out at about £9 per month in cost - less the payback (I'm not a mathematician!) so a good investment.

Look this product up on the manufacturer's website and you'll find the instruction manual (excellent, always a bonus and demonstrates forward-thinking from a smart company) as well as a full description of the equipment and its benefits. It was at this point that it became clear exactly what it can do (not clear from the Amazon description) as it has both a boost and a programming feature for Economy 7 - SO IT'S AN IMMERSION CONTROLLER AS WELL! This was too good to ignore.

Fitting (by a competent authority) is a doddle. However, this is a large controller and I had to mount it vertically in the only space available (not ideal).

I wondered if the remote sender would be confused by the remote energy monitor I also have attached to the meter tails but it seems fine.

The display is a very readable and smart blue LCD text and is very comprehensive and well-lit for reading in a dark cupboard. It's only been fitted for 2 days but worked immediately and does everything claimed for it. Programming for Economy 7 is easy (if a little clumsy as every digit has to be entered for the times) and setting the time etc could not be easier.

Further bonus? This is not a product with a translated booklet. It's obviously written in English for the British consumer and has no grammar or syntax errors as might be the case with an EU or 'Chinglish' manual. That was a serious consideration when buying the equipment - it's obviously for the UK market not just everyone.

Even more? The display tells me exactly how much energy I've diverted to my new store of hot water rather than the grid. One could try having a battery store for PV but this company's solution is in everyone's home already. I wish I worked for them on commission! I think this is a great idea, well-thought-through, excellently presented, simple, effective and an obvious way for all PV owners to benefit from their investment.

I'm a natural sceptic, however, and was concerned that I might be using power from the grid at some point. Checking the display against the meter will ensure you both realise that the sender is facing the right way - and that any surplus power is being diverted to the tank. It was a very mixed day when fitted, with cloud and bright sunshine and the display alternatively told me it was using 10 watts (reads in Kwh, ie 0.01) at one point and 1.3Kwh shortly after. I have a 3.6Kwh rated PV system, the immersion is 3Kw max. Using Economy 7 will hopefully only be to supplement good generation during the day (when everyone's out) so this baby should decrease grid use even further.

Recommended? Not arf! Get one. I shall post again, let's just hope that it's a product that lasts. My concern is that it has a safety cut-out at high temperatures and an airing cupboard can be a very warm, closed - and punishing environment - we'll see.

Two weeks later and the appliance has saved me 50 Kwh so far. Still working perfectly, does not consume when not generating. Will even send the tiniest trickle to the immersion instead of back to the grid. As our weather is so variable this is one of the best things to buy if you have solar. It's working brilliantly for us when the house is unoccupied during the day - and the sun's at its best. I've reduced the economy 7 boost period to 3 hours (May) and there's still plenty of hot water. This really is a clever and simple device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just gets on and saves money for us, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
We have the system connected to two 3kw immersion heaters, on a 32A dedicated circuit. Our cylinder is 250L unvented. The variable surplus power is sent to the lower immersion, and the manual boost is available on the upper immersion. Even though this is the worst time of year for solar generation we have already heated our hot water with 40kWh since the start of the month. We expect to stop using gas for water heating all summer - as soon as the central heating goes off in May.

Simple to install and silent at its work. Can see the power of the immersion varying constantly by the second when there is an excess. We have no concerns that it could be causing electrical power to be imported if it were too slow to react to a new load being started up or the solar output dropping suddenly due to a cloud etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free Hot Water, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
Looked at a few, cheaper than others, looked professional, good reviews.

Self installed, simples, couple of metres of extra cable from DIY store and you're away.

Worried about wireless connection reaching airing cupboard from outside meter. 2 double external walls (a double garage), 2 internal walls and a floor change and it works fine. Yet to see how long the batteries last.

Only been installed for the last week. Seems to work, stops supplying when meter goes forward, when meter stops it starts supplying and the water gets hot. Dullish day enough hot water for washing up, sunny day enough for a bath. We're pleased so far but early days.

Delivery was prompt (couple of days), could arrange day of delivery on website. Came well packed and undamaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
Easy to install and very easy to set-up. Does exactly what is expected from it, getting free hot water from otherwise unused PV power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would definately recommend it., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
Delivery was very fast (ordered 3.00pm- arrived next morning)
The solar i-boost works very well (reacts quickly to changes in generation/consumption)
So far its been installed for 19 days and its 'diverted' 143 kwh into the hot water tank - although being mid July the sunshine totals have been fairly high recently.
I think these devices should be fitted automatically when you have p.v. panels installed.
Would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had this installed by the solar panel company and amazed by how this works, 17 Aug 2014
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
If you have solar panels and a hot water cylinder then this is a must buy! Had this installed by the solar panel company and amazed by how this works. Its connected to the immersion heater and soon as theres excess eletricity going back to the grid then this kicks in to heat the tank. On the display you can see how much watts are going to heat the tank.You can watch as the sun varys the display going right up to 3kw. Not had the boiler on atoll. Wont need the boiler on for 6 months of the year. Great device
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
It definitely does what it says on the box. All the electricity we generate is now used by us and not exported - we still get paid for it though. It'll pay for itself in a couple of years. It's very simple to install, any competent DIYer can do it although it should be installed by a qualified electrician. Pays to shop around though - I got mine for £245 inc postage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are expecting a useful reduction of gas in the winter months too, 4 Aug 2014
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
This gizmo has kept us supplied with really hot water and cut our use of gas to zero for that purpose. We are expecting a useful reduction of gas in the winter months too.
Simple to install for the average DIYer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
An outstanding product that delivers hot water from spare solar power that otherwise would be going to the grid! Great thing is, you get paid for the electricity it uses anyway! Fantastic product! Well worth the money, will pay for itself within a couple of years! So easy to fit, took 20 mins max using few tools and a good mate who's an electrician. I did most of the work myself and he just hooked it up. Everyone who has solar panels should have one, or something like it. I got this one as I don't have a spare power socket it my airing cupboard, with the water tank so couldn't use an Immersun (more expensive) or the Solamiser (£100 cheaper).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great use of Solar PV generated electricity, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar iBoost - Free Hot water from your PV / Solar Array - Immersion controller (Electronics)
Excellent product. Have only used PV power to heat large hot water cyclinder for Six weeks. Very easy to install. Worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews