Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! like another reviewer
Loved it ! like another reviewer,I bought this without great expectations.I love the understated comedy of Roy Clarke and appreciate the subtle work of Fulton MacKay also loved Bernard Bresslaw in the Carry on's and what's not to like about Patricia Brake? Anyway, I was more than pleasantly surprised. Watched 'em all in one sitting. If you loved Last of the Summer Wine,...
Published 6 months ago by Bc V. Price

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but slow.This is no rediscovered classic.
Great cast and the script offers a few laughs.The characters are well developed and the absurd humour and situations still hold.However the six episodes could have been covered in a one off play or film length production.So worth a view but not at full price as it is one that will be going to a charity shop soon as it isn't worth repeat viewing or lending to a friend.
Published 14 months ago by suffolk and proud


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! like another reviewer, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it ! like another reviewer,I bought this without great expectations.I love the understated comedy of Roy Clarke and appreciate the subtle work of Fulton MacKay also loved Bernard Bresslaw in the Carry on's and what's not to like about Patricia Brake? Anyway, I was more than pleasantly surprised. Watched 'em all in one sitting. If you loved Last of the Summer Wine, or Keeping up Appearances, then you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb unknown gem, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
I'd never heard of this until I was recommended it. I must say I was quietly impressed.
I had no illusions about it, whether it'd be good or bad, so set my expectations quite low. That way it could speak for itself and it did. Whilst not destined to be a classic (30 years on it's obscure) it has a certain charm about it.
Made by Fulton MacKay around the same time he was doing Fraggle Rock (and in fact transmitted whilst Series 2 was showing), it is at turns predictable, humorous and occasionally quite clever, featuring a surprisingly physical performance from MacKay, especially in episode 4.
It's a shame there's only six episodes, but for a one-off oddity, it is certainly watchable and a nice way to spend a lazy afternoon in front if the telly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but slow.This is no rediscovered classic., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
Great cast and the script offers a few laughs.The characters are well developed and the absurd humour and situations still hold.However the six episodes could have been covered in a one off play or film length production.So worth a view but not at full price as it is one that will be going to a charity shop soon as it isn't worth repeat viewing or lending to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great but has a certain charm, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
I remember fondly watching this back in 1985 and searched for years to find it. Therefore I was delighted when it was announced it was to be released on DVD. However, watching it now, it is sad to see it is not particularly funny but it does have a certain charm and is quirky. One of Roy Clarke's oddest comedies and I am not surprised only six episodes were made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing and poorly done, not my cup of tea at all., 2 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD arrived on time and in good condition. We haven't watched all these episodes yet but if the first one is anything to go by, I don't think we will be watching much more. Confusing and poorly done I would say considering the cast they had to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
halfways decent comedy with some strange characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tried to Like it, 3 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
I normally enjoy anything written by Roy Clarke but sadly this is not up to his normal standards,which is a shame as the cast are a decent lot but it never really gets anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, 6 Jun. 2015
By 
David H. (Scotland - UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
Missed this when it appeared on TV. I am glad I purchased this, even though it is very much of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 31 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mann's Best Friends [DVD] (DVD)
Total Rubbish. If you get past the first episode your in trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mann's Best Friends [DVD]
Mann's Best Friends [DVD] by Derrick Goodwin (DVD - 2014)
£5.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews