Customer Reviews


425 Reviews
5 star:
 (248)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars need for speed - ea
if you played and loved the need for speed videogames, this is the movie for it. so many things to spot and recognise from the game. the movie went fast even for it's slightly over 2 hours running time and it was rather enjoyable.
well done. so many movies tie in are crap. this wasn't. on the contrary!
Published 15 days ago by alex

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Speed, But Not Enough of Anything Else
A lot of people will be tempted to watch this film because of the involvement of Aaron Paul, who was one of the stars of the peerless Breaking Bad TV series. Paul is a blue collar worker named Tobey, who wants to take part in a high stakes illegal car race in San Francisco, organised by a villain named Monarch (Michael Keaton going through the motions in one of his usual...
Published 9 months ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Speed, But Not Enough of Anything Else, 21 July 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Need for Speed [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
A lot of people will be tempted to watch this film because of the involvement of Aaron Paul, who was one of the stars of the peerless Breaking Bad TV series. Paul is a blue collar worker named Tobey, who wants to take part in a high stakes illegal car race in San Francisco, organised by a villain named Monarch (Michael Keaton going through the motions in one of his usual slimeball roles). Tobey wants to win the race against a dumb rich guy named Dino, who caused the car crash death of Tobey's best mate. So, a big part of the film is about revenge. On the road-trip to San Francisco, Tobey is chased by the usual assortment of Keystone Kops, i.e. highway patrol cops who are presumably well trained to use pursuit vehicles, but who become strangely inept at the wheel at the mere sight of Tobey's American muscle car. There is a plentiful supply of action here, and if you are a petrol-head, you will certainly enjoy watching cars like a Pagani Zonda, Bugatti Veyron and Koenigsegg Agera go head to head on the road. Much as I like Aaron Paul, I don't think that this role was quite right for him, somebody like Nicolas Cage would have been better suited. Paul is convincing as a small-time crook, but he doesn't have the muscular presence to convince as a hard-man, which I think this film needed. Based on his wonderful work in Breaking Bad, I'm hoping that there is more to Aaron Paul's abilities than he is able to show in Need for Speed. Midnight Express is long overdue a remake, and I'm sure Aaron Paul would be absolutely brilliant taking on John Hurt's role as a long-term prisoner with a drug addiction.If you want to view a good chase movie which is more fun than this one, try Smokey and the Bandit. If you fancy a chase movie which has more of a raw edge, try Death Race 2000 (the original version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars need for speed - ea, 19 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you played and loved the need for speed videogames, this is the movie for it. so many things to spot and recognise from the game. the movie went fast even for it's slightly over 2 hours running time and it was rather enjoyable.
well done. so many movies tie in are crap. this wasn't. on the contrary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fun and thrilling without the silly unbelievable over the top CGI of the last few Furious films but not as good a cast apart from Aaron Paul and Michael Keaton in a small but great roll, great sound and picture on the blue ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Need for a better script and director., 16 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Need for Speed (Blu-ray)
One of the worst films I've ever seen, totally pathetic sentiment spread throughout a poor storyline, plotholes throughout the whole thing. The story builds up to a race (for revenge no less) between criminals, some slightly less criminal than others where the competitors race to win the other racers cars, then proceed to smash each other off the road, then get arrested. complete rubbish, I will never get that two hours back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice cars but poor storyline and dreadfully unrealistic car racing. Big disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - A must watch., 9 May 2014
This review is from: Need for Speed [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Now normally i detest any films to do with cars or racing. How wrong i was with this film? 100% wrong. Purely by chance did i happen to watch it at the cinema and you know what. It is undoubtedly the best film I've seen this year. It was that good i went to the cinemas again to watch (and that is something i have never done before). The cast was brilliant and i loved Aaron Paul in this role. It's witty, real, humorous and thrilling to watch. A must watch for everyone of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film is terrible. Aaron Paul (great in Breaking Bad) snarls his ..., 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NEED FOR STORY!

This film is terrible.
Aaron Paul (great in Breaking Bad) snarls his way through cliches, over complicated back story, strange set pieces and actually only about 10 minutes of racing.

The cars are impressive, however the premise of 'winner takes losers rides' is a flawed when every other car is destroyed in the race.
That said, if you're looking for a movie where Michael Keaton sits down throughout looking at a computer monitor, this is the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can you give zero stars?, 6 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I did not watch the whole film because it was so bad, so it may have got better but I very much doubt it. I decided that doing anything else was better than watching the rest of it.

Every awful cliche in the fast car movie/action with a script to match. I really enjoy switching my brain off and ignoring all the obvious flaws in action films, but this was so predictable that I could have written it.

I REALLY like cars, but even that wasn't enough.

Atrocious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is seriously a very bad movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No surprises, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed (Blu-ray)
... well only one - that I bothered to watch more then 30 minutes of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed [DVD] [2014]
Need for Speed [DVD] [2014] by Scott Waugh (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews