Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars 'EDGE OF YOUR SEAT ACTION'
The film is based on the highly successful 'video=game' series 'Need for Speed''
first introduced in 1994 by 'Electronic Arts'
Street Racer 'Toby Marshall' has inherited his fathers business, they build high-
speed cars, trouble is the business is in debt, when former partner 'Dino Brewster'
(Dominic Cooper) who 'Toby' (Aaron Paul) has historic issues...
Published 1 month ago by rbmusicman

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Speed, But Not Enough of Anything Else
A lot of people will be tempted to watch this film because of the involvement of Aaron Paul, who was one of the stars of the peerless Breaking Bad TV series. Paul is a blue collar worker named Tobey, who wants to take part in a high stakes illegal car race in San Francisco, organised by a villain named Monarch (Michael Keaton going through the motions in one of his usual...
Published 1 month ago by Bill Mason


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars 'EDGE OF YOUR SEAT ACTION', 21 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is based on the highly successful 'video=game' series 'Need for Speed''
first introduced in 1994 by 'Electronic Arts'
Street Racer 'Toby Marshall' has inherited his fathers business, they build high-
speed cars, trouble is the business is in debt, when former partner 'Dino Brewster'
(Dominic Cooper) who 'Toby' (Aaron Paul) has historic issues with, offers 'Toby'
a job to complete the construction of 'Dino's' 'Ford Mustang' for 25% of the sale
price, a return that could give the business a $500.000 minimum lift
Reluctantly 'Toby' and his friends accept the proposal...........when complete, 'Dino'
challenges 'Toby' to a race for the 25% fee......'Toby's' friend 'Little Pete' wants in
on the race, despite reservations 'Toby' agrees, sadly during the three car race
'Pete' is involved in a fatal crash.
'Toby' is held responsible by the law, despite the fact he wasn't responsible for his
friends death.
'Toby' out on bail hears of a Cross-Country-Race called the 'Del-eon' which sets
off in 'San Francisco'
'Toby' faces a long drive to meet the sign -in deadline he is joined by 'Julia' (Imogen
Poots) who he'd met earlier with 'Dino' during the 'Mustang' deal, she wont take no for
an answer even though the parolee tries to scare her with his high-speed driving skills.
'Dino' gets wind of 'Toby's' intention to join the race, he places a bounty on his rivals
head, whoever stops him - collects.
This a a high-octane adrenaline rush with plenty of car-chase action along with intense
high risk racing sequences..........'Bears in the Air' ......'Smokey giving chase'
The film has been underrated in some quarters, visual content '5' -dialog '4'
(Don't miss the outtake during the credits)
( If you enjoy this one you might also want to take a look at 'Non Stop' another 'chase'
movie worth a spin.
Special Feature -
* Ties That Bind.
* The Circus is in Town.
* Monarch and Maverick.
* Deleted Scenes.
* Feature Audio Commentary with director - 'Scott Waugh' and 'Aaron Paul'
* Capturing Speed-Making an Authentic 'Car-Movie'
* Need for Speed -Rivals Trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Action Fare, 20 July 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Need For Speed.
Directed by Scott Waugh.
Screenplay by George Gatins.
Story by George Gatins, John Gatins.
Based on Need for Speed
by Electronic Arts.
Starring.
Aaron Paul.
Dominic Cooper.
Scott Mescudi.
Imogen Poots.
Ramón Rodríguez.
Michael Keaton.
Running time 130 minutes.
Country United States.
Language English.
Budget $66 million.
Box office $203,277,636.

Trivia.
1)Executive producer Steven Spielberg was binge watching Breaking Bad & decided along with the director that Aaron Paul shouldn't play the villain, but the lead instead.
2)A majority of the car stunts in the film were done practically using car shells, with hardly any VFX used. The body shell for the Konigsegg, a $4.6 million supercar, cost roughly $300,000.
3)Taylor Kitsch, Liam Hemsworth, Brenton Thwaites & Luke Bracey were considered for the lead role but in the end, Aaron Paul was cast.
4)Aaron Paul is better known as Jesse Pinkman in the critically acclaimed 'Breaking Bad'.

Plot Synopsis.
Fresh from prison, a street racer who was framed by a wealthy business associate joins a cross country race with revenge in mind, His ex-partner, learning of the plan, places a massive bounty on his head as the race begins.

Timelord Thoughts.
I didn't expect much from this movie as I assumed it to be either a Fast & Furious rip off or another dire video game movie adaption so my expectations in seing this movie were low.

Yet now having seen the movie I really don't get why the critics have blasted this movie as hard as they have, The film is called Need For Speed & it does what it says on the tin, fast crazy chase scenes, gorgeous cars & hot women.

Former Stunt Editor Scott Waugh has delivered a quality action flick using in camera old school stunts & very little VFX giving the film a sense of realism, the scene in particular where the Police Car gets thrown into the Lamborghini was crazy & superbly directed.

Aaron Paul's acting is promising as this actor delivers a charismatic performance as Tobey Marshall & while comparisons are bound to be made to Paul's other role of Jesse Pinkman of Breaking Bad the actor brings emotion, gusto & conviction to the character of Marshall to distinguish betwen Pauls iconic character & while the screenplay has a few plot holes there very minor as the script by George & John Gatins is character driven, features great plot twists & is peppered with memorable dialogue.

Michael Keaton is another welcomed addition to this film as Monarch giving a strong performance in his all to brief appearance while Dominic Cooper is a pretty good as Dino who's quite a cold emotionless character in this film but could've maybe added a little more menace.

Overall, Need For Speed is a fun, entertaining switch your brain off popcorn movie thats features a great lead performance by Aaron Paul plus excellent in camera directed car chases by director Scott Waugh & while the plot contains a few loopholes here & there this movie is action packed from start to finish & stands on it's own merits & not just another Fast & Furious rip off, Need For Speed is a far better action movie than the critics claim & well worth a watch.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Fast & Furious, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Kevin Sorensen (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, US) - See all my reviews
If you like Fast & Furious, then you're going to love this movie. This is not a movie like Fast & Furious, but about racing in the streets in top notch super cars. The cars used are rarely seen in the streets of today, but if you have enough money, well then you can probably get them.
Amazing stunts and special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed 2....PLEASE!!!!!!, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Need for Speed (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film, it was gripping from start to finish and quite witty in parts...my kinda funny! I fell in love with Arron Paul's character, wish he would kiss me like that, very passionate... I believe a great film is one you don't forget easily and this is one of those film's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Wow what a great story line love the cars throughout and races great. Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant action and unexpected moments!, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
BRILLIANT, BRILLIANT FILM
Sat it at the Cinema.
DVD fab, twists and turns and the moments that make you jump!!
Its a definite must by, even as a female i loved this film, Get it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be considered seriously, 19 Aug 2014
By 
Fist class entertainment for petrol heads, don,t pay too much attention to the plot as clearly the script writers haven,t, really top 3D content and fantastic HI Definition makes this a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Speed, But Not Enough of Anything Else, 21 July 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lot of people will be tempted to watch this film because of the involvement of Aaron Paul, who was one of the stars of the peerless Breaking Bad TV series. Paul is a blue collar worker named Tobey, who wants to take part in a high stakes illegal car race in San Francisco, organised by a villain named Monarch (Michael Keaton going through the motions in one of his usual slimeball roles). Tobey wants to win the race against a dumb rich guy named Dino, who caused the car crash death of Tobey's best mate. So, a big part of the film is about revenge. On the road-trip to San Francisco, Tobey is chased by the usual assortment of Keystone Kops, i.e. highway patrol cops who are presumably well trained to use pursuit vehicles, but who become strangely inept at the wheel at the mere sight of Tobey's American muscle car. There is a plentiful supply of action here, and if you are a petrol-head, you will certainly enjoy watching cars like a Pagani Zonda, Bugatti Veyron and Koenigsegg Agera go head to head on the road. Much as I like Aaron Paul, I don't think that this role was quite right for him, somebody like Nicolas Cage would have been better suited. Paul is convincing as a small-time crook, but he doesn't have the muscular presence to convince as a hard-man, which I think this film needed. Based on his wonderful work in Breaking Bad, I'm hoping that there is more to Aaron Paul's abilities than he is able to show in Need for Speed. Midnight Express is long overdue a remake, and I'm sure Aaron Paul would be absolutely brilliant taking on John Hurt's role as a long-term prisoner with a drug addiction.If you want to view a good chase movie which is more fun than this one, try Smokey and the Bandit. If you fancy a chase movie which has more of a raw edge, try Death Race 2000 (the original version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - A must watch., 9 May 2014
This review is from: Need for Speed [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Now normally i detest any films to do with cars or racing. How wrong i was with this film? 100% wrong. Purely by chance did i happen to watch it at the cinema and you know what. It is undoubtedly the best film I've seen this year. It was that good i went to the cinemas again to watch (and that is something i have never done before). The cast was brilliant and i loved Aaron Paul in this role. It's witty, real, humorous and thrilling to watch. A must watch for everyone of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun movie, with Aaron Paul as leading man, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had a real good time watching this movie. Clearly it doesn't have the ambition to be a masterpiece of cinema but overall it's really great fun. The cars are amazing, the music is good, you get to see a lot of the US.
My one reason to watch this movie was Aaron Paul to be honest and - even though I would really like to see him in a movie where his acting skills are more valued - I did like him as a leading man in this movie. Imogen Poots brings the feminine, fun touch.
Also - as I followed the press tour with Aaron Paul - it is impressive to look at the stunts when you know there is no CGI in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed [DVD] [2014]
Need for Speed [DVD] [2014] by Scott Waugh (DVD - 2014)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews