Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALRIGHT!
This album is great. Gamma Ray are one of my favourite bands, and Kai Hansen is one of my favourite people in the music industry, so I was excited for this release. I was not disappointed. The album kicks off with the 9 minute "Avalon" which is a great introduction to the album. "Hellbent" is another fun song, filling the "Heavy Metal Universe"...
Published 4 months ago by Scott McPherson

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD Version
Firstly there are 3 versions of this album, the mp3 download area doesn't have the opening track Avalon (album only) then there's the CD version (with 11 tracks 10+1 Bonus!!!), then there's the CD+DVD version (with 3 extra CD tracks, but they are " Live recorded from the Studio Session - Avalon, Empire of the Dead, The Spirit) the DVD is Studio sessions, Promos,...
Published 4 months ago by Edguy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALRIGHT!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Undead (Audio CD)
This album is great. Gamma Ray are one of my favourite bands, and Kai Hansen is one of my favourite people in the music industry, so I was excited for this release. I was not disappointed. The album kicks off with the 9 minute "Avalon" which is a great introduction to the album. "Hellbent" is another fun song, filling the "Heavy Metal Universe" spot of the album; songs about the glory of metal which Gamma Ray are known for. "Pale Rider" kicks off with a heavy riff and is just a badass song in general. The title track sounds like Metallica and Judas Priest had carnal knowledge, and features Kai saying his trademark "ALRIGHT!"

I would recommend this album to any power metal fan, or any metal fan, as this is heavier than the standard European power metal that sometimes puts fans of more ballsy bands off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Solid Record!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Undead (Audio CD)
If there is one thing you can say about Gamma Ray it's that they have a knack for being reliable. They never release (or at least what I would consider) bad music.

This album is not going to set the world on fire but it is a good effort. The songs are quite catchy, have great solos and catchy riffs. There are a few stand out tracks "Hellbent" "Palerider" and "Empire of the Undead". They're old school heavy metal at it's finest, pure balls to the wall!

Any heavy metal fan would do good to pick this up.

(Hopefully they will release a special "Wig" edition so we can have the same charming head warmer that is currently being used by Kai Hansen. :P )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Of The Undead (Audio CD)
Another great album and probably their best for years. Not sure how any metal band could generate anything better than "Pale Rider" or "Avalon" as sing along anthems. The dual guitars just work so well.

I was a little worried that the change of drummer would make the band sound different, but it does not.

Truley an album that can stay on repeat play for ages and you feel no need to change it. :-)

In ten years time I can see this being one of my most played GR albums (unless of course they bring out something even better between times).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd of diversity!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Undead (Audio CD)
Great album, definitely the best of last 3-4.

I like some diversity in my Gamma Ray, and that's just it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Album, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Of The Undead (Audio CD)
We need more bands like this, real music with feeling. every track is fantastic. cant stop listening to the track Avalon. Brilliant album :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alright!, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Empire of the Undead (Audio CD)
This is their best album since No World Order. Super-catchy power metal that is simply head and shoulders above anything else recently produced in this genre. Truly hellbent for METAL, straight from the heart!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bow down mortals !!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Undead (Audio CD)
We love you Gamma we do, we love you Gamma we do, we love you Gamma we do OOOOOOOh Gamma Ray we love you !! They have delivered yet another awesome CD, yet to watch the dvd part but the new drummer is awesome and the songs fab ........ just wish Gamma Ray would perform more in the U.K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars German power rock quartet back with a bang!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Undead (Audio CD)
Gamma ray always deliver a no nonsense rock album.
After many years of being a fan, the guys never seem to let me down.
This is no different with Kai Hansen at the helm steering the steady ship.
There is a mix of hard rocking tracks like Hellbent,Pale Rider to softer tracks like Time for Deliverance.
I f you like bands like Iron Maiden,Helloween,Judas priest then check this guys out!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD Version, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Of The Undead (Audio CD)
Firstly there are 3 versions of this album, the mp3 download area doesn't have the opening track Avalon (album only) then there's the CD version (with 11 tracks 10+1 Bonus!!!), then there's the CD+DVD version (with 3 extra CD tracks, but they are " Live recorded from the Studio Session - Avalon, Empire of the Dead, The Spirit) the DVD is Studio sessions, Promos, Interviews, 3 Live tracks from Skeletons & Majestics Tour (1. Gamma Ray 2. Wings of Destiny 3.Send Me A Sign).

Well I bought the CD only version (and got the mp3 download thrown in, which does download the 1st track Avalon).
It's typical Gamma Ray album, so most of the tracks will blend in Live at a concert. But I can't get over thrilled about it just yet.
The outstanding tracks for me are Avalon and I Will Return, and then Seven, Born to Fly, but on first listen, there are too many mediocre tracks for me to get too enthusiastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the same again, 20 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Empire of the Undead (Audio CD)
Recycled material. To me GR already consumed their tail and are half way through the butt. I understand that this is (at least in part) the nature of the genre. But this time they went too far. Usually it is that some things remind some things, either done by other bands before or own earlier records. It was always the case with Gamma Ray, but to an acceptable extent. They simply managed to throw enough of the new and fresh to compensate this. This time they went to far. But it's of course just my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empire of the Undead
Empire of the Undead by Gamma Ray (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews