Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Remarkable Novel
The narrator of this story is 13 year old Henry, a self-confessed 'loser' who lives with his long-divorced mother, Adele, now an emotionally fragile, depressive and who has become a virtual recluse in the house. She guards a secret that later explains this. A few days before Labor Day, Henry persuades her to go on one of her infrequent trips to the supermarket. Henry...
Published 11 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick read
I'd never heard of Joyce Maynard before so when a copy of Labor Day arrived from Helena at Harper Collins I really didn't know what to expect.

Labor Day is told from the point of view of 13 year old Henry, who lives with his mum Adele in Holton Mills, New Hampshire, and how his life changes when he and Adele come into contact with a mysterious stranger Frank in...
Published 11 months ago by Sharon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Remarkable Novel, 25 Jan 2014
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labor Day: A Novel (P.S.) (Kindle Edition)
The narrator of this story is 13 year old Henry, a self-confessed 'loser' who lives with his long-divorced mother, Adele, now an emotionally fragile, depressive and who has become a virtual recluse in the house. She guards a secret that later explains this. A few days before Labor Day, Henry persuades her to go on one of her infrequent trips to the supermarket. Henry browses through a magazine when a tall gaunt man, clearly bleeding, sees Henry as trustworthy and asks for his help, culminating in his mother, Henry and the man who introduces himself as Frank, driving back to their home for reasons known only to them. Once home, Frank Chambers freely admits he is an escaped prisoner, having jumped from a second floor window in the hospital wing following his appendix removal. The media state he is a murderer, dangerous and possibly armed. He asks to stay for a while as the police have an extensive search in operation. Adele and Henry agree with some consternation.

Frank, in a few days, changes the lives of Adele and Henry. It is difficult to distinguish the captor from the captive. Frank is honest, decent, practical and surprisingly likeable. Adele is transformed into a different person, full of life and energy, careful about her appearance, a beauty, picking up on her old passion for dancing, with Frank. Henry has never seen his mother so happy. Frank teaches Henry how to throw a baseball (he is useless at sport), how to make pastry and pies.

Isolated from the outside world, Frank's story emerges. Brought up by his grandmother on a farm, he returned from a 2 year stint in Vietnam to be coerced into a marriage that was doomed to fail and then wrongly accused of murdering his wife and child. He now seemed like a guest we had invited over, but all three of us knew how he came to be there. Frank seemed relaxed, calm and overjoyed, part of a family, now having fallen in love with Adele. They begin to explore the possibilities of a future together however improbable.

Henry had much responsibility thrown onto his young shoulders. Keeping Frank's location secret confused him. He had not known him for more than a few days, he was an escaped convict on a murder charge and despite his mother's happiness, his priority was to take care of her. He also had to cope with his own emerging sexuality. He also had involvement with his father and step-family with Saturday 'family feasts' in restaurants. How Henry loathed them. Henry becomes unsettled and makes choices, some good, some bad (the malicious Eleanor).

Joyce Maynard writes beautifully and fluently with an easy-flowing characteristic style. The characters are well-drawn and the atmospheric exuberance concealing the underlying tension of harbouring a convict comes across convincingly. Accepting the improbability of the latter, this is an enjoyable and entertaining book. Remarkable and unusual in it's content. It is poignant, moving, with love, sex, grief, heartbreak and devastating treachery. An excellent, unforgettable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I'd never heard of Joyce Maynard before so when a copy of Labor Day arrived from Helena at Harper Collins I really didn't know what to expect.

Labor Day is told from the point of view of 13 year old Henry, who lives with his mum Adele in Holton Mills, New Hampshire, and how his life changes when he and Adele come into contact with a mysterious stranger Frank in a local grocery store. It's clear that Frank is in need of medical attention but what is his story and how will their encounter with him change their lives?

This was an interesting tale of how a young naive boy has to adapt to the change in circumstances in his life, one minute he is having to be the adult of the household and shoulder more responsibility than a child his age should then the next he's having to cope with letting someone else take on this role. He's also dealing with conflicted emotions, craving the attention of a male role model but also having to cope with the jealousy that creeps in when it's clear that something is going on between Frank and Adele, as well as dealing with his own first experience of infatuation with a girl.

Set over the Labor Day weekend one thing's for sure their lives will never be the same again...

It's easy to see why this book appealed to film directors so will be interesting to see how well it adapts when the movie is released at the end of the month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story, 8 Dec 2014
Henry is a thirteen year old boy who's living with his unusual mother. Adele used to be a dancer and she loved life until something tragic happened to her. Henry's father has a new family now and Henry hasn't got the feeling that he's a part of it. He belongs with his mother. She doesn't leave the house very much, sometimes it takes weeks before she even goes out to buy groceries. She tells Henry stories about the past and about life and he patiently listens to everything she has to say. He knows his life isn't standard and that he isn't a great sportsman and thus not very popular, but he doesn't mind. The only thing he wants is for something to happen and his wish does come through when he meets Frank. Frank needs help and Henry and his mother are the people who are giving it to him. Frank teaches Henry a lot of useful things in the few days they are spending together. He changes Adele completely and she finally comes out of her shell again. In the few days before Labor Day Frank makes both the lives of Henry and his mother a lot better. Henry has a lot of very important lessons to learn that summer and some of his actions have grave consequences.

The atmosphere in the house where Henry lives with his mother is tense. Henry has to be the responsible one as his mother clearly isn't able to be there for him in the way she should be. He knows that and because he loves her he accepts her the way she is. His relationship with his father is a difficult one and they aren't very close even though they see each other regularly. Frank understands Henry and Adele which is wonderful. Even though he's got a troubled background Henry and Adele don't judge him and let him tell his own story. I liked that a lot. Labor Day is such a beautiful story with special people in it. They're all broken in some kind of way, which makes them even more interesting. Love plays an important role for every main character, which is such an important message. I also liked seeing into the mind of Henry, it gives the story something extra. I loved this book and am so happy I had the chance to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars book or film which will be best?, 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: Labor Day: A Novel (P.S.) (Kindle Edition)
probably like many others i bought this book after seeing the trailer for the film due out next week. in my experience some great books have sadly not transfered to the big screen as well (the time travellers wife for one). i thought this book was ok, not fantastic but i have high hopes for the film which may do it justice. not bad- just ok and quite short length for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labor Day: A Novel (P.S.) (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't sure to begin with but I did enjoy this book in the end. The film should be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing story, 17 Nov 2013
Labor Day by Joyce Maynard is an amazing story. I have never read a novel by Joyce Maynard before. As I love reading so much I love to explore new authors. Here I give full praise to Joyce Maynard for the novel Labor Day. I highly recommend Labor Day to all readers and book clubs it is a story that will touch your heart.
Thirteen-year-old Henry is the young unforgettable adolescent narrator of Labor Day. Henry and his mother Adele rarely leave their house in the Holton Hills New Hampshire . Little do they both know that their lives are going to change forever. One Thursday while shopping in Pricemark a bleeding man named Frank Chambers asks Henry for help asking if he can come home with him and his mother and stay with them.
Frank tells Henry and Adele the reason his leg is bleeding is because he fell out of a two storey hospital after he had his appendix out. With the temperature getting hotter leading up to labor day weekend the police on TV said a man named Frank who was serving a prison sentence has escaped from prison and is a very dangerous man.
Joyce Maynard Labor Day has been made into a film starring the lovely Kate Winslet. The novel Labor Day is one New York Times bestselling books. About Joyce Maynard she has been a reporter for the New York Times, a magazine journalist, a radio commentator, and a syndicated columnist as well as the author of seven previous novels, including To Die For, and The Good Daughter. Joyce Maynard lives in Mill Valley, California. Review by ireadnovels.wordpress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 10 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labor Day (P.S.) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book in one sitting...I just couldn't put it down.

Joyce Maynard has written a sublime novel...it paints a picture of a deep, yet flawed love between a mother and a son.

I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 19 Aug 2014
By 
Alison Petrie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How lovely - a book that is every way as good as the film.

I saw the movie a couple of weeks ago and loved it, absolutely spellbound, so immediately ordered the book. Like the film, the book held my interest from start to finish, I hoovered it up. Some people may find it too slow but, as a story of wrong turns in life, second chances and redemption, "Labor Day" is second to none.

Beautifully written characters who spring to life from the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Labor Day, 2 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Labor Day: A Novel (P.S.) (Kindle Edition)
I got this book after seeing the trailer for the film. Once I got into the book it was ok. It is a quick read once you have gotten into it. It is a very different story as it is told through the eyes of a 13 year old boy. Good read once I got into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Labor of Love..., 22 May 2014
By 
Valerie L. Pate (East Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is going to stay with me for a long time. It’s one of those novels that seems to take you on a very long journey, even though most of the story is set within a small suburban house in New Hampshire. It’s such a quick read, one would wonder at its significance, and yet it poses many questions for the reader to contemplate. What would you do?, it seems to ask us. What would you believe?

I was unfamiliar with Joyce Maynard before seeing this book in a shop one day and knowing that I simply must read it. This was before the edition with the movie tie-in was published, and the cover simply showed a bowl of peaches with the hands of a mother and a child reaching from separate sides of the bowl. I could guess from this illustration that the story was about a parent/child relationship; most likely revealing a coming-of-age revelation. It was just the sort of thing that appealed to me.

Adele and Henry’s relationship is indeed a large focal point for the book. Henry, the story’s narrator, is thirteen; definitely a coming-of-age story. The element that sets this book apart and makes for a very interesting story is Frank; an escaped convict who unexpectedly comes to stay.

I was pleased that my edition of the novel included a Q & A session with the author. It was a great opportunity to reflect further on what I had just read. Part of me was shocked that it was so quickly over. The other part of me was surprised that I wasn’t at all annoyed by the neat bows Maynard tied at the end. Somehow, for this story, it just seemed right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Labor Day: A Novel (P.S.)
Labor Day: A Novel (P.S.) by Joyce Maynard
£3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews