Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abba: Waterloo [+DVD].
This is it! Even if you're not the biggest Abba fan, this album is a must, if you can get your hands on it! This 30th anniversary editon includes not only the songs featured on the original album released in 1974, but also 5 additinal tracks including Ring Ring (US remix), Waterloo (Swedish version), Honey, Honey (Swedish version), Waterloo (German version) and...
Published on 23 Jan. 2006

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad early effort!
Well! Agnetha and Frida certainly know how to sing, don't they? I've compared the original Waterloo album (minus bonus tracks) to later albums like 'Arrival', 'The Album' and 'Voulez-Vous' and it's interesting to see that the girls' voices become more prominent on each album. Good thing really, as Benny and Bjorn are fine composers, but their singing ain't much to write...
Published on 21 Feb. 2002 by Andrew Thomson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abba: Waterloo [+DVD]., 23 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Waterloo: +DVD (Audio CD)
This is it! Even if you're not the biggest Abba fan, this album is a must, if you can get your hands on it! This 30th anniversary editon includes not only the songs featured on the original album released in 1974, but also 5 additinal tracks including Ring Ring (US remix), Waterloo (Swedish version), Honey, Honey (Swedish version), Waterloo (German version) and Waterloo (French version) + a mini DVD including 4 amazing television performances including the legendary Eurovision Song Contest performance on April 6, 1974. For added value this performance includes the introduction by british commentator, David Vine who mixes up the male half of the band and renames Benny as "Born"! All in all this is very enjoyable. Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad early effort!, 21 Feb. 2002
By 
Andrew Thomson (Ramsgate, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo (Audio CD)
Well! Agnetha and Frida certainly know how to sing, don't they? I've compared the original Waterloo album (minus bonus tracks) to later albums like 'Arrival', 'The Album' and 'Voulez-Vous' and it's interesting to see that the girls' voices become more prominent on each album. Good thing really, as Benny and Bjorn are fine composers, but their singing ain't much to write home about!
So what of this early outing? The tracks are very varied. One or two are reggae-like, 'Sitting in the Palmtree', some sentimental like 'Hasta Manana', 'Dance', 'Gonna sing you my lovesong' & 'Honey Honey', and one is a downright silly attempt at hard rock, 'King Kong Song'! Abba, please note, your music is loving and thoughtful~ I'm a rock music fan, but this song was just WAY OUT OF YOUR DEPTH and didn't suit your image! I expect you thought better after the event; After all, it sounded corny!
Still, I like the catchy beat of 'Waterloo'. 'My Mama Said' was just so great, I couldn't get enough listens when I bought the disc! 'What about Livingstone' is thoughtful, in it's content, and Benny's self-sung 'Suzy-Hang-Around' is quite good, too! However, Bjorn's self-sung 'Watch Out' pretty much confirms what I was saying earlier about 'King Kong Song', the group just ain't suited to hard rock, FULL-STOP/PERIOD!
It's great to hear the close vocal harmonies between Anna and Frida~ they blend so well, and the boys' songwriting is overall fabulous, despite one or two efforts that spoil it slightly!
You are amongst the greatest bands ever, ABBA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best Eurovision winner ever, 18 May 2004
By 
M. J. Collins "mjc121" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo / Watch Out (Audio CD)
After 30 years the first UK single that ABBA releced has been re-issued. It did of course take ABBA to victory in the Eurovision song contest in 1974. It is still regarded as the best ever winner. Our own Terry Wogan descibed ABBA as 'The best thing ever to come out of the eurovision' Let's face it, he was right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So, how could I ever refuse?, 28 Sept. 2005
By 
Mr. S. O'kane "snagii" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo: +DVD (Audio CD)
Although I'm not a big fan of this & their other early albums (but I certainly AM a fan of their singles of this era), I have to admit this is a rather nicely repackaged set that is worth dishing out the old hard cash for...yes, even casual fans of the Super Swedes will really like this one.
Housed in an neat little transparent DVD box with some pics from that winning weekend in its inner sleeve, the two discs that comprise this special edition are accompanied by a glossy authoritative 20 page booklet with an excellent essay mapping the timeline of this heady era for the band alongside many unseen photos from 1973-74.
Unlike other ABBA CD re-issues, the bonus tracks are on the money: all the available overseas versions of the singles released from it and a rare US mix of 'Ring Ring'. The album itself still isn't one of my favourites and probably never will be but it has does have its charms in 2005. Especially on tracks like 'Hasta Manana', 'Dance..','Honey, Honey' and of course that winning song!
But to be honest, it's the DVD that makes this set worth the price alone. On owning, you will just be so excited to now have a crystal clear copy of THAT ESC performance in your hand that you'll want to play it again and again (well, I did anyway). Add to that the original Swedish heat performance from earlier in the year plus two fun appearances on European TV from the same time and you have one neat little DVD EP that provides a superb visual aid to this historic time for ABBA.
This really is a 'value for money' set that does live up to its 'special edition' status....even when you consider that this album isn't their greatest! Altogether now..'MY MY!....'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second album features some great songs, 1 Mar. 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Waterloo (Audio CD)
I never bought this album in my vinyl days, content with the tracks that were included on their first Greatest hits album, though I did buy the CD. As with the Ring ring album, the selection of songs to be included on Greatest hits was spot on. The four selected (Waterloo, Hasta manana, Honey honey and Dance while the music still goes on) are easily the best tracks on this album. Not that there's anything wrong with the other songs here, just that the other four are exceptional.
The title track is by far the best known - this up-tempo song easily won the Eurovision song contest and quickly topped the British chart. It also topped the charts in many other countries and was also a top ten hit in America.
Hasta manana was considered as an alternative to Waterloo for Eurovision. It might have won, but it is unlikely that it would have been as big a hit as Waterloo turned out to be. Indeed, I'm not even sure if it was ever released as a single - but it is an enjoyable song.
Honey honey was a top thirty hit for Abba in America, but Sweet dreams (a duo featuring ex-Pickettywitch singer Polly Browne) covered the song and had a top ten hit with it in Britain. Apart from Dance while the music still goes on, perhaps the best of the rest are My mama said and Gonna sing you my love song.
As with so many of Abba's albums, this is generally upbeat. Despite several wonderful songs, it is not as strong as several of their later albums. This is one for Abba's committed fans like me - and there are plenty of those around the world to ensure steady sales for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part of an essential set, 24 July 2001
By 
Simon McEnery (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo (Audio CD)
Another of the new Abba reissues, this has less to recommend it on its own merits than others in the series, though it does include the first CD release of the US mix of Ring Ring. Apart from that, this is worth having as part of a complete collection - this series of reissues looks good, has excellent liner notes by Carl-Magnus Palm, whose definitive Abba biography will be published soon, and sounds - well, nearly as good as my old worn-out vinyl copies did some twenty-five years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abba: Waterloo [+DVD]., 23 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Waterloo: +DVD (Audio CD)
This is it! Even if you're not the biggest Abba fan, this album is a must, if you can get your hands on it! This 30th anniversary editon includes not only the songs featured on the original album released in 1974, but also 5 additinal tracks including Ring Ring (US remix), Waterloo (Swedish version), Honey, Honey (Swedish version), Waterloo (German version) and Waterloo (French version) + a mini DVD including 4 amazing television performances including the legendary Eurovision Song Contest performance on April 6, 1974. For added value this performance includes the introduction by british commentator, David Vine who mixes up the male half of the band and renames Benny as "Born"! All in all this is very enjoyable. Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo (Audio CD)
As a massive ABBA fan I have bought all their albums two, three or four times over - vinyl, CD, box sets, deluxe editions - so am feeling a bit let down by the 40th anniversary release of Waterloo. It has some brilliant songs (My Mama Said, Gonna Sing You My Lovesong, Hasta Mañana, and the title track in particular), some OK songs (Watch Out, Sitting in the Palm Tree and King Kong Song - yes I like it), but the DVD extra's let the package down. Do we really want 9 video's of Waterloo and 3 video's of Honey Honey? The Eurovision clips are worth seeing, but the rest should have been shelved. Going by this release and the Ring Ring deluxe release, the vaults of extra's seem to be drying up. Hopefully if Live and Gracias Por La Musica get deluxe releases, there will be something worth buying them for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to ABBA, 22 Jun. 2006
By 
Jay L. Rudko (Pembroke Pines, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo (Audio CD)
Unlike those of you in Europe, we here in the USA did not have the Eurovision Song Contest to give us our first exposure to ABBA. I first heard the song on Y100 (WHYI) in the summer of 1974, and it was probably the most requested song on the station. It blasted me away the first time I heard it, and I was hooked. This album also gives us the Swedish version, the studio version of how it was presented in Brighton in 1974. This remastered version brings out more of the detail in the sound. Awesome! The only thing that would make this, and the other reissued albums, better would to reissue them as hybrid SACD's with 5.1 surround sound. ABBA's music would be a natural for this type of treatment. Should this be done, I can only ask UMG to please do it right this time, not as was done with the Moody Blues reissues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still my favorite ABBA Album, 12 May 2014
By 
Mr. A. Crawford "Crawfty" (Belfast N.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo (Audio CD)
This album started my love affair with ABBA, every track is different as B&B try & find there unique style & sound. From Waterloo via Hasta Manana, Dance While The Music Still Goes On, Gonna Sing You My Love Song, Honey Honey & Watch Out, every one was a gem & still feels fresh. The DVD is a Master Stroke, a few of there Deluxe Version DVD's have been a disappointment, but not Waterloo, every video is a gem, especially the Preview Eurovision Waterloo one, it's 40 years since I first watched it & I remember it like it was yesterday. Overall, this is the best Deluxe Version. A MUST BUY ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waterloo
Waterloo by ABBA (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews