Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine album from Damon Albarn
He's good, that Damon Albarn, isn't he? I've known and liked his work for years, but I can't claim to be a real Albarn aficionado so others may have more informed insights into this album. For what it's worth, though, I think this is a very fine album. It has a rather laid-back, often jazzy feel to it, reminding me of some greats of the 70s and 80s. I was reminded of...
Published 2 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilled
Very chilled, nice background music.
Published 13 days ago by Jen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars., 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Robots (MP3 Download)
I would give, and have given, this album five stars, based on how much I enjoyed it, and am continuing to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, beautiful album, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Robots (Audio CD)
This is such a wonderfully crafted album - really hard to pigeon hole. Elements are raw but always soulful, the melodies can almost be off key but just make it more emotive and the harmonies are just fantastic - for me it's up there with his best work. But a special mention has to go to The Heavy Seas - saw them perform it at the 6 Music festival and it was one of the best gigs I've ever been to.
The album is touted as being autobiographical but I'm guessing that the songs resonate with lots of people (although that could just be my age!) - normal life under the microscope. Too many highlights to mention but for me Hollow Ponds brings back the smells and laziness of being a kid during the summer of 76 before having to lose that innocence to reality. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most talented British musicians working today., 30 April 2014
This review is from: Everyday Robots (Audio CD)
That's not empty hyperbole - I honestly believe Albarn to be one of the finest pop/rock/alternative/whatever musicians we've got. In fact, in his own way, he's up there with the best artists we've ever seen in this country.

This album, billed (slightly misleadingly, when you consider how many projects he's been behind wherein he was basically solely responsible) as his first solo endeavour, Everyday Robots is filled with beautiful ruminations on, well, life as he sees it.

I am not entirely sure what some of those who don't like this album have got against it. There are gorgeous melodies left, right and centre - were people expecting Parklife to make an appearance here? He's not, quite obviously, trying to produce a commercial pop sound here. That said, do you really not find tracks like Mr Tembo and Lonely Press Play pretty catchy? I know I do.

This is a mature album that perhaps demands considered attention to get the best out of it. A casual listen won't suffice with a record like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great vinyl edition, 31 May 2014
By 
Mr. Jorge Garcia (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everyday Robots [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is just a quick note for anybody considering the vinyl edition. It's very good. The pressing is excellent, being totally quiet and flat. The sound is crisp, open and with a beautiful tonality. The electronic instrumentals that underpin many of the songs sound fabulous and voices come through strong and believable. It also comes with a CD and mp3 download of the album which is very convenient, although if you have a turntable I doubt you will want to listen to the CD which suffers from the usual compression. A good example of how a modern vinyl edition should be made. Well done EMI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars you and me, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Everyday Robots (Audio CD)
The songs are sometimes depressing yet so catchy they get stuck in your head for days and the album itself is so easy to listen to from start to Finnish and relaxing , everyday robots the single and first track is my least favourite on here and even that is decent , not for everyone but i really enjoyed this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chilled, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Robots (Audio CD)
Very chilled, nice background music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully melancholly., 10 July 2014
By 
B. J. Farmer (Rugby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Robots (MP3 Download)
Beautifully melancholly........if you've missed out on Damon since Blur, well worth a purchase. It is reminiscent of the simpler, less bouncy Blur songs, but is simply beautiful. Check out the title track, 'Lonley Press Play', 'The Heavy Seas of Love' and the pure fun of 'Mr Tembo' (about an elephant apparantly).

This is one of the most uplifting albums I have bought in a while. Great in the car, but admittedly needed a couple of listens to get used to the melancholly nature of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It will be a silent day...., 10 July 2014
This review is from: Everyday Robots (Audio CD)
Well. Theres some very good reviews on here, and some bad ones.

I agree with both of them. But lets be honest, in the sea of mindless tribe like singing shows that clog up tv not to mention the ever increasing jolly merry go round of paper machete and plastic click ticket that you will see on a tv music channel or radio waves...you can't badger Damon Albarn for releasing another record, or any record for that matter.

His last one was "Dr Dee" which he did not consider a solo album

While it admirable Damon releases songs dedicated to England and operas about Chinese Monkeys, getting back to basics would be admirable quality with this fellow.

I never liked Gorrillaz, too annoying and jokey, not terrible but not really something a follower of Blurs music could get enthused about.

This album is far from bad, but by lord is it quiet, its a relaxing kind of album to listen or maybe if your out walking in the middle of nowhere at night with some headphones on.

Who knows, maybe this is the sign of some more Blur music soon but I doubt it would hurt for Damon Albarn to bring out his own electric guitar and turn the amps up a bit. Or at least try and write something more upbeat or new.

It seems he is content to write slow moving songs that Bear Grylls might listen to marooned on a tropical island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Robots (Audio CD)
Good job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Robots (Audio CD)
Yet another superb album from Albarns creative genius, and Brian Eno too.What more could you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everyday Robots
Everyday Robots by Damon Albarn (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews