Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing music history to life for a modern audience.
"Carter Girl," Carlene Carter's first new album in six years, is a tribute album to the legendary country Carter/Cash family, Carlene being the daughter of June Carter Cash and her first husband, honky-tonk singer Carl Smith. This makes June's third husband Johnny Cash her stepfather, while her grandmother was Maybelle Carter, from the renowned Carter Family, who played...
Published 3 months ago by D. C. Stolk

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruining the country
I love the Carter family and was so looking forward to hearing these new versions of their songs. But what a disapointment. Carlene's voice is harsh without subtelty, the production is insensitive and raucous. If you love country music - avoid it. It can only make you long for the originals.
Published 8 days ago by Sally


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing music history to life for a modern audience., 12 April 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
"Carter Girl," Carlene Carter's first new album in six years, is a tribute album to the legendary country Carter/Cash family, Carlene being the daughter of June Carter Cash and her first husband, honky-tonk singer Carl Smith. This makes June's third husband Johnny Cash her stepfather, while her grandmother was Maybelle Carter, from the renowned Carter Family, who played an instrumental part in the birth of country music. This album covers material from the music of three generations of the Carter family and was produced by Don Was.

On this 12 track album, Carlene revisits songs that are Carter Family classics and/or have other family ties. And it's not her doing just a blue-grass album with covers of these century-old classics. While staying true to the originals, she revamps them and makes them her own, bringing music history to life for a modern audience. The songs can be divided thematically into three sections (or generations, if you will):

Her grandmother's generation, the Carter Family, is covered in the following songs: the bluesy, stomping "Little Black Train," the hauntingly beautiful "Give Me The Roses," the more traditional "Gold Watch And Chain" and ballad "I'll Be All Smiles Tonight." There's also the fun "Blackjack David," a duet with country-legend Kris Kristofferson and the feisty "Blackie's Gunman," a duet with Elizabeth Cook, who is a honorary Carter girl and ended up singing on six of the tracks.

Her mother's generation is explored in the ensuing songs: the Carter Sisters track "Poor Old Heartsick Me," which was one of her Aunt Helen's ditties, and mother June Carter Cash's murder-suicide ballad "Tall Lover Man," a very catchy foot-tapper, while the organ-tinged pulling-on-your heartstrings "Troublesome Waters" is a stepfather Johnny Cash piece done as a duet with Willie Nelson.

Her own generation is included on this album by one original and one semi-original track: The evocative "Me And The Wildwood Rose" was first recorded in 1990 for Carlene's album "I Fell In Love," but appears here re-recorded in a more sedate acoustic version, and recalls the life of the Carter family at home when Maybelle was still alive. And there's another old Carter Family piece, but with added personal verses: "Lonesome Valley 2003," on which Vince Gill can be heard harmonizing, and in which she sings about the deaths of stepfather Johnny "The Man In Black" Cash and mother June Carter Cash.

All family connections come together in the boisterous album closer "I Ain't Gonna Work Tomorrow," another Carter Family classic, but amazingly, done with backing-vocals by Anita Carter, Helen Carter, June Carter Cash and Johnny Cash. For this, Carlene used the masters of recordings they made together around '86 and '87, so that's why there are the posthumous voices of John, her mom and Helen and Anita on this track, as is the guitar of the late "Cowboy" Jack Clement.

With the very personal "Carter Girl," Carlene Carter has proven how powerful a tribute album can be when done right. "Give me the roses while I live . . . Don't wait till death to speak kind words," Carlene sings on "Give Me The Roses." As a young child, she was charged to always carry on the legacy of the Carter Family music and keep it alive. Well, I know no kinder words or higher praise than to finish by saying that this Carter girl has done full justice to her family's history. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Carter Legacy, 7 April 2014
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
Every song on this evocative album bears the imprimatur of the first family of country music, The Carter Family. Eight of the twelve songs were written by Carlene's grandfather, Alvin Pleasant Carter, and after at least 75 years his words and music have not been diminished by the march of time.

You can sense a special resonance as Carlene spans the generations with her peerless interpretations of AP classics such as "Give Me The Roses", "I'll Be All Smiles Tonight" and "Gold Watch And Chain".

"Troublesome Water" leads off with the unmistakeable voice of Willie Nelson in a dramatic duet and she is joined by another elder statesman of country music, Kris Kristofferson, on a fine reading of the traditional "Black Jack David". There is a poignant performance of "Lonesome Valley" with Vince Gill harmonising, that has been adapted by Carlene to include lyrics relating to the deaths of her mother, June, and her stepfather, Johnny Cash.

These may be songs mostly dating from the earlier years of the last century but with producer Don Was at the helm, and featuring session superstars Greg Leisz and Jim Keltner, they have been invested with a sound that is both fresh and vital. Indeed, Carlene's take on her mother's "Tall Lover Man" is a triumph.

The album is a fine tribute to the legacy of the Carter Family and, for Carlene, an album that ranks with "Little Love Letters" her 1993 classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music., 23 May 2014
By 
M. D. Tucker "MDT Esq" (Chippenham, Wilts., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
I bought this CD on the strength of a magazine review and the guest appearances of artists I know and love.( Elizabeth Cook, Willie Nelson, Vince Gill, Kris Kristopherson and various Carter / Cash family members. I am pleased that I did, It's a terrific CD and Carlene is now on my list of favourites too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very traditional old timey songs given new life with modern ..., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
very traditional old timey songs given new life with modern production by a singer whose inheritance they were. A standout album in an age of dross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best female vocalists, 5 July 2014
By 
J. Elliott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
as always Carlene delivers great music with her fantastic voice, been a fan for 30 odd years and she doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
I loved the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASS, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
If you like country music, this is where you need to be.
Carlene delivers the goods once again with superb backing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carter Girl, 16 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
No doubt that Carlene is a Carter Girl, the first few notes will tell you. I don't think this is one of her better albums, with a little duplication, but it is fantastic to hear from her after so long, hence the 5. I had the pleasure of seeing her perform live a few years ago, and that was an experience. For anyone new to Carlene's music, may I recommend 'I fell in love', my favourite album of hers by some way. Great to have you back, Carlene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good country music, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
Carlene Carter to my mind sings and plays the best country music these days.
This cd is up the top with her previous music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ruining the country, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carter Girl (Audio CD)
I love the Carter family and was so looking forward to hearing these new versions of their songs. But what a disapointment. Carlene's voice is harsh without subtelty, the production is insensitive and raucous. If you love country music - avoid it. It can only make you long for the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carter Girl
Carter Girl by Carlene Carter (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews