Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this band
Having been a follower of their music for a number of years and feeling as though they were not receiving the critical acclaim the band are deserving of, the performance on Letterman, and this new album has seen to that.

Think 80s synth music, with one of the most raw voices, full of emotion out there presently, and great writing, and you will hopefully find...
Published 12 months ago by Mr Michael S Stott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Something different!
Published 3 months ago by Chris Todd


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this band, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (MP3 Download)
Having been a follower of their music for a number of years and feeling as though they were not receiving the critical acclaim the band are deserving of, the performance on Letterman, and this new album has seen to that.

Think 80s synth music, with one of the most raw voices, full of emotion out there presently, and great writing, and you will hopefully find yourself a little intrigued. Then give them a listen and find a catalogue of catchy brilliant music that can become the soundtrack to many moments of your life.

Luckily, I have now seen the band live on the back of the 'Singles' tour and left the show feeling shell-shocked at how brilliant they were, how perfect their sound carried to a live performance and of course Samuel T. Herring's ability to enrapture an audience and have them in his theatrical grip.

Watch the ever captivating Letterman performance of 'Seasons' to get an idea.

Great album, well worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album Of The Year, 16 Dec. 2014
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Four albums in and they call the fourth album Singles. Is this a compilation, a greatest hits? No. Its a new album whereby they appear on Letterman and Later, win friends on both sides of the Atlantic and yet again appear on best of lists. Why? Because its a very good set of songs here. Synthpop delivered with luscious hooks, some growling lyrics and light as a feather production.
Seasons (Waiting on You), Fall From Grace and Spirit are high water marks but there is beauty in each track here. The trick of the delivery is in the bass delivered alongside keyboards. It just builds a momentum and supports the vocal. It sounds very modern yet has a strong sound of the 80's. Listen to the almost 8 bit intro of Spirit and you could transplant this back two decades.

Deservedly this is an album of the year contender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
R. D. Jackman "RickJ" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Shades of Talking Heads, Talk Talk, early Depeche Mode, New Order, Yazoo and Avalon-era Roxy Music - but they have a sound all of their own and it sounds like now if that's not a complete contradiction? There is something lyrical and really affecting about his voice and delivery. This is a really special album I think. I don't love every track but I really really love almost every track. This album is a complete joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and great sounding tracks overall, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
Martyn Smith "music junkie" (Rochester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles (MP3 Download)
Well, having seen them on Later with Jools, and listening to them online, I have to say this CD will have to become part of my collection. A passionate and somewhat different delivery from the front man (nice moves!), and great sounding tracks overall, it's a no brainer, to coin a phrase. They seem to be one of those bands that come along from time to time and offer something a little different, that just elevates them from the pack. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the tracks are just achingly beautiful. Once in a while an artist/group (not many ..., 5 Jan. 2015
By 
Ben Cowell "BEN COWELL aka BC" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Haven't stopped playing the album, the tracks are just achingly beautiful. Once in a while an artist/group (not many in the past forty years) come along and the tracks strike at you heart. Blissful they are not, more like love lost, they tug at you! Brilliant, maybe my album of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Indie has just upped its game!, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I am relatively new to Future Islands having been introduced to them through a friend a few months back. Signed to 4AD these guys are now one of the new spearheading acts of a highly respected record label (Twin Shadow, Deerhunter, Pixies, Scott Walker etc...). What strikes me from watching their live performances is the charisma and downright strangeness of their lead singer, albeit this strangeness is good! For the first time in a long time we seem to have an individual who has a unique style of delivery and dance moves. I can't help but find this very cool. As for the music there is a pop sensibility to the writing, catchy choruses and synth laden hooks to get your teeth into. With a title such as 'singles' I think they are pointing to the fact that every song on the album is suitable for radio play. Comparisons will be made with many 80s acts but I believe that is lazy journalism. Can we face that synths are used as much in the 2010's as was back then! I would compare them to their contemporary label mates in terms of sound. The clinical synths and driving bass work perfectly with Samuel T Herring's soulful voice. The tracks don't outstay there welcome, all being around the 3-4 minute mark making this a very concise effort that cuts off all unnecessary fat. Great effort guys and keep up the work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of No Where Came...Brilliant, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Catch these lads on the Lettermen show on You Tube. They blew the roof off the show. Now on with the CD. It's good, very good. Lashings of mid-period Bowie synth sounds with a heart rending soul voice on top. Nothing quite like it which makes it new and refreshing. You will want to listen to it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely excellent - a must buy!, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (MP3 Download)
To describe Future Islands in a nutshell I'd probably say they're an authentic band with great credentials and great heart.

Samuel T Herring, the tour-de-force lead singer, personifies Future Islands. His lyrics are poetic - often quite lovely - and his original, heartfelt expression is properly refreshing (sometimes even stunningly brave) in a world where music is so cut and paste and full of marketing fakery and paper-thin shallow individuals. Listening to Future Islands might even help restore your faith in popular music as an art form, I kid you not. You can tell they are in it for the music and not for those greasy, talentless money-grabbing marketing men and their vapid, cliched hangers-on. There's meaning in Future Islands' music.

The sound itself - you can listen for yourself, but it has a nice 80s synth flavour from a keyboard, bass and drums set-up. Herring's voice is fantastically nuanced and dynamic - strong and sensitive. The album is melodic and memorable and you won't tire of listening to it.

Their previous album is worth listening to: it's more raucous, more of a work in progress. But I'm very much looking forward to their next album; I just hope I won't have to wait too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 13 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Wonderful album. I love how the husky voice melts with the electronic music; the lyrics are very personal and they make this record special. One of those records you'll find as a "cult album" in few years One of the best CD I lestened in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... just had to buy the album and I wasn't disappointed., 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Saw these on Jools Holland and just had to buy the album and I wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles
Singles by Future Islands (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews