Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of your seat thriller
Douglas Brodie's back in what's billed as his final outing. Mourners pay their final respects at his grave. Gordon Ferris has woven together a tantalising, fast paced and edgy tale which sees Brodie's world turned upside down and fall apart. Having reached a relatively settled and secure point in his life, with a good job on the local paper, a future with his lawyer...
Published 4 months ago by Bookie

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tiny bit under par.
I have avidly read Ferris's Brodie books and enjoyed them enormously up to now. I often find that, under the well drawn characters and the descriptions of the surroundings that put you right in the place and time alongside of these characters, the plots are a little thin. In this book I found the basic premise that lead to Brodie's "death" so implausible as to...
Published 4 months ago by Brambleamble


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of your seat thriller, 5 April 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
Douglas Brodie's back in what's billed as his final outing. Mourners pay their final respects at his grave. Gordon Ferris has woven together a tantalising, fast paced and edgy tale which sees Brodie's world turned upside down and fall apart. Having reached a relatively settled and secure point in his life, with a good job on the local paper, a future with his lawyer girlfriend, the tables are turned on our redoubtable hero. He finds himself arrested for a crime he didn't commit. Or did he? Arrested for murder with a watertight case against him, we go on a roller coaster ride as one by one the odds stack up against him. From his prison cell, we experience his anger, frustration and confusion as he realizes the only possible outcome. It's 1947 and the penalty for murder is death by hanging.

I was totally swept along by this story. Brodie is such a likeable protagonist. He's not perfect, but he's certainly a good man. I was transported to a post war Glasgow, bleak in parts and struggling to regenerate. Gordon Ferris creates a very strong and visual sense of location which adds to the sense of reality. I was back and forth across the Clyde with Brodie and sitting in the Court as pleas are made for his bail! And the dialogue! It's spot on with sufficient use of dialect to make the reader feel they're listening to real people speaking. There's dark humour too and for my money, Mr Ferris is in a class of his own. This book can be read as a stand alone, but over the four books in the series, he has developed as a character and it's been a rewarding journey with him. I preordered this in February and it's been worth the wait; devoured in two late night sittings. Brilliant, loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gordon transfers you to a dangerous post-war Glasgow, and provides a much-needed minder to keep you safe!, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
I lived in Glasgow at the time he describes, but as a relative child knew nothing of the terrors apparently lurking round most corners.
I hate violence yet find the activities of our hero totally justified, and the downfall of crooked cops and their like their just rewards.
Gordon paints in 3-dimensions, and creates a character who one would love to meet in the flesh (but avoid upsetting!)
A splendid read (like all the others)
Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful development of characters., 28 July 2014
By 
Henry Neil (Woodcreek, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
Gallowglass is the ultimate in this series. Brodie and the other fascinating characters in the earlier books all become whole, very real, and very believable, in this book. Mr. Ferris brings the series to a very satisfactory conclusion (if this is the conclusion and we don't follow him into the 'Polis' which I would very much like to see happen). I lived in the very ugly and very scary Gorbals district of Glasgow at the time after the second World War in which this series is set and I can see it and feel it - and taste the coal smoke in the air! I have read all of the Brodie books and a few of the McCrae books plus his latest and very different book 'The Money Tree'. I wait to see what he produces next because I WILL buy it and I WILL read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corruption / Blackmail, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
Gallowglass is exactly what you come to expect from Gordon Ferris. Story within story, plot within plot. It is easier to understand if you have read the earlier books in the series. I sincerely hope that this is not the end of Brodie. Gordon is so good in taking you back into a period of time that is not that long ago and yet it seems so alien! And yet most of the political issues are of today and still so very relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gallowclass!, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable read & a worthy follow up to the previous books in this series. Hope this isn't the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Geat read, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
I really like GF's style of writing. It's certainly the 'midnight oil' for me when I get into one of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
Douglas Brodie is back! I love all of Gordon Ferris's books and the Brodie series especially. The story is compelling with many twists and turns and the descriptions of post war Glasgow superb. Unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
I am now at the stage where I eagerly await each new boob by Gordon Ferris. This one did not disappoint - Hope Chief Inspector Brodie will live on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4) (Kindle Edition)
Great read again! Thought I had it figured out but not quite. Great ending and now can't was for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rich, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult to sum up without spoilers. But thoroughly entertaining in as rich a manner as the previous three in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gallowglass (Douglas Brodie 4)
2.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews