Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was first published as "Linnets & Valerians"
Are you a fan of the magical sort of children's books that will stay in your mind for years? Did you read "The Little White Horse" AND LOVED IT? Here's another wonderful story ("Henrietta's House" is the third): The four Linnet children get dumped on a hated relative and decide to run away. They mysteriously end up on their own uncle's doorstep,...
Published on 8 Feb 2000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars aka Linnets and Valerians
Wouldn't have bought it if I realised it was a retitled book - annoying - boring cover too. Story's just as delightful though
Published 5 months ago by aricandec


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was first published as "Linnets & Valerians", 8 Feb 2000
By A Customer
Are you a fan of the magical sort of children's books that will stay in your mind for years? Did you read "The Little White Horse" AND LOVED IT? Here's another wonderful story ("Henrietta's House" is the third): The four Linnet children get dumped on a hated relative and decide to run away. They mysteriously end up on their own uncle's doorstep, who agrees to take them in on one condition: They have to promise to accept him as their tutor. The ensuing description of their new life, with the discovery of uncle Ambrose's peculiar bachelor household with all its odd characters (including Ezra and the magical bees in the garden) will charm just about any child. There are plenty of magical adventures and stories-within-a-story... A book to read and re-read many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greats, 11 Mar 2004
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Originally published as Linnets & Valerians this has been given a more child-friendly title which is actually less intriguing than the authors. No matter: this is a splendid tale about four children who run away from a dreary relation and find their formidable great-uncle, a passionate educator of the young, living on the edge of Dartmoor. His household is as eccentric as that in The Little White Horse, and features protective bees as well as Greek lessons, delicious meals and lashings of common-sense. However, another household nearby is not so fortunate, and the children uncover an evil witch, a family curse and a hermit living in a cave who turns out to be someone very unexpected. Good battles evil in a most thrilling adventure, and Goudge's joy in country life and children's imagination makes this one to add to the shleves of any child of 8-12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book, 8 Jan 2004
Years ago i read an old copy of the little white horse by Elizabeth Goudge and absolutely loved it, but it wasn't until recently that i discovered through Amazon that Elizabeth Goudge had wrote other books this was how i got to read the runaways. it is definately another classic from Elizabeth Goudge and although it is not as much a fairy tale like the little white horse is it still has magic and has amazing character names like Moses Glory Glory Hallejulah, It is basically about the four Linnet children who runaway from their grandmother's home and after finding a horse and cart they end up residing at their uncles house with Ezra, Andromache, Hector and the bees, Where they are educated by their uncle in the morning and have adventures in the afternoons. It has a beautiful ending and when you put the book down tears come to your eyes and you want to read it again. i would definately recommend this book as it is one you can read again and again and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless children's story - for adults, too, 17 April 2014
By 
Annie W "bookworm" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runaways (Kindle Edition)
I first read this book as a child, and have reread it many times over the years, both for love of the tale and for the comfort with a hint of danger/magic it provides. Why the publishers decided to change the author's title of "Linnets and Valerians" to its mundane and less accurate new name is unclear, and does the story no favours, even as it apparently insults both the reader's intelligence and ability to be interested in something beyond the obvious.

Fortunately, the story has not been altered, and, other than for several missing words (which merely indicates the proof-reader's carelessness), the tale of the Linnet children's adventures when escaping from the rigid standards of their unknown grandmother into the even higher but loving standards of their uncle, and all the magic, terror, and mystery which follow, and which will shape their adult lives (which are swiftly and credibly outlined at the very end of the book).

The children are, to varying degrees, likeable, and have distinct personalities, which are enhanced by the occasional straying into the thoughts of each. There's a great deal of wry humour in the book too, which may well pass over the heads of younger readers, but will provide a smile or two for any adult reading the book - and this is a story which begs to be read aloud by parent, especially at bedtime, when child is snuggled down comfortably in their own safe place, and won't be too perturbed by the scary bits.

I love the story, I love the characters, and most of all, I love the comforting presence of the bees. Read it and see for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... to expect - Elizabeth Goudge is one of my favourite writers of the period, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runaways (Kindle Edition)
Knew what to expect - Elizabeth Goudge is one of my favourite writers of the period, and I've not read The Runaways (previously Linnets and Valerians) before. Feel good factor of five stars, and a fascinating glimpse into the days of child rearing which were very very different. Not an iPad in sight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely story, 16 Jun 2014
By 
K. Cutmore (Colchester, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Runaways (Kindle Edition)
I found this book quite by accident through the Kindle recommendations, tried a sample and immediately bought the whole book. I have read several of Elizabeth Goudge's books, including "The Little White Horse" and this one is every bit as good. Gentle, magical and a lovely read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A present from Miss Hazel, April 1971, 2 April 1999
By A Customer
My teacher gave me this book when I was 11 years old - at that time it was called 'Linnets & Valerians'. It is a magical evocation of childhood. I've just been re-reading it (aged 39) and it tells me now why I am the way I am. Get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars aka Linnets and Valerians, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runaways (Paperback)
Wouldn't have bought it if I realised it was a retitled book - annoying - boring cover too. Story's just as delightful though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars used to be linnets and valerians, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runaways (Kindle Edition)
I read this book when I was very young .when I saw it listed just decided to read it again and see what I had liked
about it, still loved it now I am a lot older , it was written in a simple way and its about good over evil with a happy
ending .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Runaways (Kindle Edition)
Chose rating as this book is an enchanting picture of an Edwardian child hood. Suitable for adults and kids. Magic trhown in for free. Please read this for yourself and your children/granchildren!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Runaways
The Runaways by Elizabeth Goudge
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews