Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Augustines - Passionate "Blue Collar" Rock
Augustines are one of those bands who produce honest to goodness blue collar rock of the highest order. They comprise guitarist Billy McCarthy, multi-instrumentalist Eric Sanderson and drummer Rob Allen and unsurprisingly hail from Brooklyn New York. Their music doesn't really need much analyzing. It is a big rock album full of songs that hint at artists like Springsteen...
Published 7 months ago by Red on Black

versus
5 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Derivative rubbish.
A cross between U2 and Mumford And Sons - a match made in hell.

'I'm thinkin' back on all the fun we had
I can remember how we thought we had it bad
Laughin' and cryin' together and sleepin' on the floor
We had nothing to lose but it seemed like so much more
And I hope that the good times come again
Hope that the good times come...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Augustines - Passionate "Blue Collar" Rock, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Augustines (Audio CD)
Augustines are one of those bands who produce honest to goodness blue collar rock of the highest order. They comprise guitarist Billy McCarthy, multi-instrumentalist Eric Sanderson and drummer Rob Allen and unsurprisingly hail from Brooklyn New York. Their music doesn't really need much analyzing. It is a big rock album full of songs that hint at artists like Springsteen and Bob Seger plus bands like the Hold Steady and Gaslight Anthem, but which is distinctive enough to stand defiantly in its own right. The songs are often meticulously constructed anthems infused with the conviction that rock music has a social and communal purpose beyond just entertainment. Thus while the album would not score highly on the scale of originality it makes up for this in terms of raw passion.

Check out the enormous chants and sheer potent force of the excellent "Cruel City" destined to storm festivals across Europe this summer. Granted "Weary Eyes" does have a Springsteenesque quality to it, but on the upside it is as good as anything on the below par "High Hopes". The albums longest track "Walkabout" is to the Augustines what "First Night" was to the Hold Steady. It is their big "hit it for six" ballad and an excellent standout track with a great vocal by McCarthy. Another song "This Ain't Me" as a slightly Pearl Jam quality to it but pays repeated listens, while to this reviewers ears the pounding rock of "Don't look Back" is the type of song that could take this band from the club to the stadium and well worth pressing the cursor on the download button.

The album has a couple of missteps not least two instrumentals comprising the very slight opener "Intro - I touch Imaginary Hands" and the more euphoric but far from essential "Highway 1 Interlude". Equally there is a certain predictability with a formula of songs start slow and escalating to thumping crescendo. Yet it is good to hear a full blooded rock album once more and the Augustines songs are well paced and understand the dynamics of catch and release. All in all there is much exhilaration to be found in this very solid set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously uplifting, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Augustines (Audio CD)
Moving away from their more Springsteenesque first album their second effort shows Augustines moving into potential stellar territory, with nods to early Killers and latter day Arcade Fire. What I like most about this record though are the songs. Sounds daft I appreciate, but there are some fine, tuneful, powerful and memorable proper songs with proper verses and choruses on here. If they get the chance and choose to appear at any festivals this year, this tracks on this album are just asking to be the singalong hits of the summer. My favourites? Cruel City and Don't You Look Back probably exemplify the album best but there isn't a duff track on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustines (MP3 Download)
Seriously! Even better than their last. You might not think it on the first listen but after a few you should be hooked. So talented with such power and emotion, a truly great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustines (Audio CD)
There's little more to be said other then the heading, huge, uplifting. Damn near perfect.

You're into any of Arcade Fire, The National, Frightened Rabbit, try Augustines, you'll love it & them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Already a candidate for the album of the year shortlist., 19 Aug 2014
By 
indieisnotagenre (Berlin, Deutschland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustines [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Augustines were born upon the ashes of Brooklyn rock band Pela. After the death of vocalist Billy McCarthy’s brother, he and Eric Sanderson (bass, keyboards) founded We Are Augustines and released Rise Ye Sunken Ships in 2011. Rise dealt mostly with the loss of McCarthy’s brother and his mother’s schizophrenia which evidently made the record an autobiographical one. The New York band recently dropped the ‘We Are’ from their name and went back to being just Augustines (a name they couldn’t use before for legal reasons) and relocated to Seattle.

When their debut Rise Ye Sunken Ships came out two years ago I had just moved to a different country, started a new job and found a new love. I would listen to their album for hours on end on those long train rides home and went to several of their live shows in different countries. It was my soundtrack of 2012. Evidently, expectations for a follow-up were sky high. After hearing the record and hearing some of the new songs live, my expectations were more than met.

When I first listened to Cruel City, the first single to be released from the new record, it didn’t really stick. The world music influence put me off at first but what made me fall in love with the song after all was the bridge that is an Augustines moment par excellence as McCarthy bursts out vigorously “Hey, I miss your arms / I still reach for you in the dark / Hey, I miss your skin / I still reach for you in the dark.” Cruel City speaks of the alienation one can experience in a big city but also of capitalism and gentrification (Come on now cruel city / With money eyes).

The opening notes of their recent single Nothing To Lose But Your Head immediately reminded me of Headlong Into The Abyss, my favourite from their first record. The song carries an instant sense of longing as McCarthy sings “My mind feels like an empty parking lot / For the unloved and lonesome ones / They sit at a table in my head” before exploding into the powerful chorus. It’s a song that speaks about what Augustines are all about as a band, pursuing the dream like you’ve got nothing to lose. Now You Are Free shows off once more Augustines’ excellent songwriting capabilities as McCarthy sings “What am I running from / Myself and everyone“. The song also exhibits McCarthy’s vocal range as he quickly moves between a high voice and his typical husky voice.

One of the strongest songs on the album, musically and lyrically, is Walkabout. It starts out a a solemn ballad with McCarthy singing in a high voice before it explodes into a a full blown rock anthem. It’s about not being stuck anymore and going out there to pursue ones dreams.

Augustines is a step up from Rise on many levels. With drummer Rob Allen now being a full band member (he toured the first record but wasn’t on it), the drums have become much more essential to the songwriting itself (Cruel City, Kid You’re On Your Own). Keyboards (played by Eric Sanderson) have also become an integral part (Now You Are Free, The Avenue) and the songs as a whole have become more varied through the use of progressive and transitional elements. Particularly Kid You’re On Your Own and Walkabout really build up in the course of their 4 to 5 minutes runtime.

The record is also really well structured as an album: it starts out slowly with the intro and then Cruel City and Nothing To Lose kick in. After that, they slow the pace down a little with the love song Weary Eyes just to speed it up again with Don’t You Look Back. Walkabout and Kid You’re On Your Own are true gems and they are thoroughly placed in the middle of the album before they slow things down once more with another ballad (This Ain’t Me) and the anthemic Now You Are Free. The record ends on a slower note with the piano driven The Avenue and Highway 1 Interlude. The final track, Hold Onto Anything, is another midtempo rock anthem in the likes of New Drink For The Old Drunk from their debut. It features McCarthy’s typical Yeahs, that are so fun to sing back at him during their gigs. Unfortunately, Ballad Of A Patient Man, which they always play live, is not on the album but you can get it as a b-side to Cruel City.

While Rise Ye Sunken Ships was a very personal album dealing mostly with the loss of Billy McCarthy’s brother, Augustines is a record that was written when the band was on the road for almost 2 years in a row. It deals with more general topics such as love and loss, loneliness, hope, and finding oneself. When asked, Billy McCarthy said that Rise was a record they really wrote for themselves while Augustines is a record they wrote for the fans (you can read more about that in our interview). With such a highly acclaimed debut as Augustines have released in 2011, it often happens that a sophomore release cannot live up to the expectations and falls flat. There’s the fine line one needs to walk between more of the same and musical development and Augustines managed to do just that. McCarthy stuck to the type of honest songwriting that made the first record so special and he and his bandmates crafted an album that is already a candidate for the album of the year shortlist.

indieisnotagenre.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustines (Audio CD)
Awesome album, even better than their first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant., 18 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustines (MP3 Download)
Full of energy, completely unique - proper grown up indie-rock music - if you want a flavour of this album listen to Nothing To Lose But Your Head. If you don't love it straight away, you will after a couple more listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Augustines CD, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustines (Audio CD)
A brilliant album. I first heard them on Team Rock radio station and thought 'Yes, they are good'. If you like Editors, Embrace, etc. you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Band, 28 May 2014
By 
M. Gold - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustines (Audio CD)
A strong rock album from a very good band. The music rifts between Springsteen and Bob Seegar; really good music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blistering stuff, 14 May 2014
This review is from: Augustines (MP3 Download)
This great album tells only part of the Augustines story. Catch them live as soon as you can before they (hopefully) go massive - they certainly deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Augustines
Augustines by Augustines
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews