Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! This album is fantastic.
I bought this album after watching the band perform the song Luna on Sunday Brunch. Not only do I love that song, but the whole album is brilliant with some very catchy songs that you'll keep in your head all day. It's definitely worth a listen.
Published 5 months ago by Stacey Webster

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Average
I've enjoyed a lot of BBC in the past but this album is twee, dull and the songs are barely formed into any kind of stricture - although it appears the group think they have come up with a collection of classic pop numbers. Very disappointing.
Published 5 months ago by KJ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! This album is fantastic., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album after watching the band perform the song Luna on Sunday Brunch. Not only do I love that song, but the whole album is brilliant with some very catchy songs that you'll keep in your head all day. It's definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many good songs it's hard to stop listening, 9 Feb 2014
By 
. Hjartnes (Bergen, NO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Had never heard a Bombay Bicycle Club album before this one, but I gotta say, this is some of the finest pop music I have heard. Stunning from start to finish with so many highlights it'd be difficult to not be blown away by the sheer magnitude of their magnificent sound.
9.5/10 - just sublimely moving music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stuff, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Giselle "Giselle" (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoying this, rhythmic, lyrical, melodious, one track follows seamlessly from another, nothing jars, I listen to it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it - It's a grower, 16 Feb 2014
Every song complex and complete. Any difficult first impressions, like 'Carry Me', get ironed out with play - It's a grower, and the best the band have achieved yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful !, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Karl Eynon (Tywyn North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rollercoaster of bop-along to indie music. I will be listening to this for some time to come. The best and fourth album....all superlatives apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same Same But Different, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
'So Long, See You Tomorrow' is the fourth studio album from Bombay Bicycle Club.

Despite being brandished in 2006 by NME as "the hottest band to come from North London for quite some time" BBC have managed to shake off the indie-hipster tag and continually come out with fresh sounding music; following a three year hiatus the band return with their distinct and unique vocal harmonies.

This is one of my favourite bands and, having looked forward to this release for some time now, I can say that I am not disappointed.

A lot is being made of the band's eclecticism, especially after the second album Flaws took a crudely acoustic sound. Yet despite the said departure I would claim that their sound has remained unambiguously consistent.

Once again the band revel in their sumptuously layered vocals - but there is a significant focus this time on percussion and beat work. 'Carry Me's' repetitive oscillation ebbs around house music whilst 'Home By Now' begins with a hip-hop funk; 'Whenever, Wherever' sounds like a drum and bass tune and 'Luna' suggests Bhangra dancefloor. Whilst the variation can be taken for a lack of firm identity I prefer to interpret it as a band willing to take on new sounds and experimentations.

And yet the band's zest and youthful energy, epitomised for example by the title track 'So Long, See You Tomorrow', remains in abundance. This will be a welcome addition for Bombay Bicycle Club's loyal following and a suitable introduction to newcomers of a band that has managed to maintain its image and passion despite an ever changing musical backdrop.

Listen to: 'Carry Me', 'Luna', 'So Long, See You Tomorrow'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make up your own mind!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album received lukewarm reviews, with the usual good, bad, doesn't quite work format...

One review by tabloid 'journo' stated that the song 'Carry Me' was an unsuccessful experiment....??

My point of view as a musician myself is that this band are the most instinctive, talented and unique bunch of people you will hear, they are an incredible live experience and this album is extraordinary.....fact. It is crafted to ebb and flow seamlessly and carries you (pardon the pun) through it, grinning from beginning to end. I'm not saying that you have to be a musician to get this at all but what they create is really, really stunning, from a talent point of view there are no bands in the UK today at this level...

It has to be 5 stars for this, Summer is on it's way and this music is made for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC, SO LONG, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, See You Tomorrow (MP3 Download)
I have never been fully won over by BBC but thisnew release will be in the running for best album of 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, See You Tomorrow (MP3 Download)
If you have liked anything that Bombay Bicycle Club have released before then you are sure to love this album. I simply cannot fault it, a great listen that has sparked up my love for the band again. With vocals from Lucy Rose appearing on a number of tracks it truly is a beautiful album.

5 stars Bombay, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somehow the BBC are getting better and better, 19 Jun 2014
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, See You Tomorrow (MP3 Download)
but how? Anyway, they're pulling it off.

This time it's a more poppie approach but don't run off, there's still plenty of classic BBC style here too. 44 mins of no duffers, festivalable excellence. Luna is my standout (as it is for many it seems) and I actually prefer the full fat album version over the more typical BBC version seen/heard on various online outlets.

Beat this album then BBC, go on I dare ya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So Long, See You Tomorrow
So Long, See You Tomorrow by Bombay Bicycle Club
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews